Changes v Richmond

• Thread starter Thread starter fryingpan

Knights to return. We're idiots if it doesn't happen. :thumbsu:
Knights had a setback and wasn't fit to play on Sturday. What makes you think he will be fit enough to play AFL this week. Surely he needs to get through an SANFL game before he can be considered !!! Who were you referring to in the "We" quote above??

What was wrong - foot again?

Is wright a chance?

Although I think Armstrong is likely to be out this week, I can't believe some are ruling out his long-term prospects so prematurely. He has one of the best kicks at the club right now and this one area where the team has a serious weakness. It was the major reason for the loss on the weekend. Armstrong has shown he can win his own ball, he just needs time so as not to second-guess himself so frequently. However, he is out of his depth at the moment and a bit more time in the SANFL can do no harm.

he currently lacks strength and his tackling ability is quite poor as well. in yesterday's match, there was this play where Armstrong had the ball, and i'm not sure whether he was second-guessing himself, but it looked like he was trying to take the opposition player on, and swung his arm out in an attempt to break the oncoming tackle. obviously his skinny arms were no match, and he got pinned HTB. sure, in the long-term, he could become a very good player, but in the mean time and definitely for the remainder of this season, i think he needs to spend it in the SANFL, unless we have completely given up and just blood youngsters.

Amer, you know I'm a lover of Bocky, but there is no point playing him now.

He's unfit and has no form; if we were going to play finals, you'd play him right now to get him ready for the finals.

But he isn't, so drop him, let him get fit and ready for next year, and get SMcK or Young into the side.The time we put into them now is much more valuable than playing Bock - we know how good he is and what he's capable of.

Same goes for Stevens and Porps.

And I heard Knights was going to run in the Federal Election, so he could be out due to being Prime Minister shortly.

This. Lets get some games into Smack, Gunner and Young. We need to hit the ground running next year, not screwing around for the first half of the season introducing youngsters to cover Doughty, Stevens & co as they suffer 'age' injuries (or pull the pin)

Out: Maric/Griff
In: Sellar/McKernan

As much as the Maric/Griff combo has been okay, I think its time to give one of Sellar or McKernan a run, I just don't think playing each ruckman for 50% game time is really the go, especially if they cant' get on top of a bloke who's effectively flying solo. :o Neither offers much up forward either. Sellar has played well recently with Glenelg and McKernan's form has been much improved of late and can provide as KPPs.

Out: Armstrong
In: Goodwin (fingers crossed)

Armstrong just doesn't seem to be quite ready, would prefer to see us give Matty Wright a run or something.

Out: Stevens
In: Davis

I'm over Stevens, as much as he does some great things, he more often than not now mucks it up with some horrendous disposal/decision making. Errors, which as a backman, you just can't afford to make. Gives little up forward either, time for Davis to take over.

Out: Johncock (Susp)
In: McLeod

If McLeod is not fit then I suppose Schmidt's next in line.

Thus giving the side:

B: Davis - Rutten - McLeod
HB: Goodwin - Bock - Doughty
C: Mackay - Thommo - van Berlo
HF: Henderson - Walker - Douglas
F: Jaensch - Tippett - Sloane
1R: Griffin/Maric - Vince - Dangerfield
I: Sellar/McKernan, Symes, Reilly, Porplyzia
E: McKernan/Sellar, Wright, Schmidt

Id be happy to see Craig show a bit of confidence in Jaensch and keep him in this week.

We all want to see these young blokes develop, to do this we have to accept that they will go missing, and make mistakes. I would be more than happy to keep Jaensch in the side and give him some confidence by showing a bit of faith.

Agree, Jaensch gets an extra week or two to prove himself, he's different to Armstrong in that his body is ready for AFL footy, Armstrong is still a little light on.

For this very same reason, Bock & Porplyzia need to be dropped immediately and told that their pre-season starts NOW. Forget about 2010, just go and get their bodies into good condition so that they are ready to go from R1 next year.

Yeah? I thought Porplyzia did some really good work in and around the midfield, added a touch of class and gaves us some good clean take aways. His future is in the midfield now, not as a forward, might as well start to work on integrating him in there now. Was equal 5th highest possession winner for us on the weekend with a reasonable disposal efficiency. Won't hit top form till next year, but there's no better way for him to boost his fitness than run round in our midfield.

Henderson.

He has a big future at our football club, however at the end of the second quarter when he missed his set shot, the image of him smiling and laughing as if it was funny we were losing was absolutely disgusting and typified our horrific day. He needs an attitude check and a run in the SANFL will benefit him and the club.

Henderson.

He has a big future at our football club, however at the end of the second quarter when he missed his set shot, the image of him smiling and laughing as if it was funny we were losing was absolutely disgusting and typified our horrific day. He needs an attitude check and a run in the SANFL will benefit him and the club.

Meltdown coming

Henderson.

I think you're taking that out of context mate; it looked more like a '**** me, what do I have to do to get a result today?!' wry smile than anything else.

a bit tough on Hendo i reckon... i think he knew how important it was and would have loved nothing better than to put it through the big ones and silence the power hecklers...

an embarrassing moment... like shanking a drive off the first tee!
got to laugh at it... or you'd cry...

Haven't seen the smile. Finding it hard to motivate myself to watch any of the replay.

If it was a sign of bad attitude then I wouldn't mind seeing him sat on his ass. That is a big IF though.

What I would have preferred was someone to have a chat with him about it on the day.... visibly...

Are all you people kidding. Basically the same side won us that game against the cats and everyone just seemed to have a shocking day. This will happen when you have such a young side. We need to keep playing these kids because as we have seen, when they are playing well they can match it with anyone.
Jaensch is playing as a small forward- the most hit and miss position on the ground. Did some good things, could have had about 4 goal assists if his team mates had taken the chances he supplied.
Armstrong- hard a dirty day but he still was going in hard at the ball and the problem was his strength not allowing him to get his arms up in the tackle.
Henderson- His laugh more was in dis belief, kind of saying your ****ing kidding arent you... the camera went back to him a moment after that and he was swearing.

Crows supporters stop being such down hill skiers, ready to write anyone off that had a bad day and first to get on the bandwagon if they play well!

Amer, you know I'm a lover of Bocky, but there is no point playing him now.

He's unfit and has no form; if we were going to play finals, you'd play him right now to get him ready for the finals.

But he isn't, so drop him, let him get fit and ready for next year, and get SMcK or Young into the side.

The time we put into them now is much more valuable than playing Bock - we know how good he is and what he's capable of.

Same goes for Stevens and Porps.

And I heard Knights was going to run in the Federal Election, so he could be out due to being Prime Minister shortly.

Your mob or my true believers ?

Can't see Craig dropping Bock or Stevens for Davis as that would be an admission he stuffed up last week.

Would perceiver with Griffen as i do think he has made headway since being back in the side, Maric maybe if he needs a refresher for James.

Are all you people kidding. Basically the same side won us that game against the cats and everyone just seemed to have a shocking day. This will happen when you have such a young side. We need to keep playing these kids because as we have seen, when they are playing well they can match it with anyone.
Jaensch is playing as a small forward- the most hit and miss position on the ground. Did some good things, could have had about 4 goal assists if his team mates had taken the chances he supplied.
Armstrong- hard a dirty day but he still was going in hard at the ball and the problem was his strength not allowing him to get his arms up in the tackle.
Henderson- His laugh more was in dis belief, kind of saying your ****ing kidding arent you... the camera went back to him a moment after that and he was swearing.

Crows supporters stop being such down hill skiers, ready to write anyone off that had a bad day and first to get on the bandwagon if they play well!

Sorry mate i'm usually one of those that are very reluctant to go overboard in criticizing my team/coaches in how the game was played but that performance was disgraceful.

The only obvious change I can see is Goodwin in for Armstrong if fit.

Someone has to come in for Stiffy. Davis would be the next cab off the rank, but how would that affect the balance? Can Davis play in his role, or does Armstrong stay and Goody effectively replace Johncock?

I'm no expert on team balance, but it looks like a wet game at the 'G, and I would rather see Davis play than Armstrong.....

Sellar will no doubt be the E again, Hentschel, Knights and Burton surely are not match fit, no need to replace mids/forwards anyway.

Cook, Gunner, Martin and McKernan are available, but I really don't know where they stand in terms of selection but I'm not aware of any of them making enough claims to replace someone already in the side.