Changes v Richmond

• Thread starter Thread starter fryingpan

Henderson.

He has a big future at our football club, however at the end of the second quarter when he missed his set shot, the image of him smiling and laughing as if it was funny we were losing was absolutely disgusting and typified our horrific day. He needs an attitude check and a run in the SANFL will benefit him and the club.

Agreed. It's not that fun on the field should be forbidden but being down by 4 goals, only having kicked 2 as a team, finals hopes on the line, smiling & laughing about missing another set shot is not on .. it probably was a "wtf do I have to do to get a goal?" smile, but nonetheless it still didn't look good.

The only people in my area that saw the funny side of another missed shot were the mob supporters who were giving us plenty about it maybe Hendo neede to hear their flack to fully understand how bad it is to lose to that bunch.
There is lots of skinny kids playing AFL but all have something extra to give unfortunately Armstrong doesnt have any that I can see but a good kick if out in open and already had 3 years in SANFL and coaches keep giving him opportunities and cant seem to grab even 1 game that demands he stay in team.

I think that while the club is still mathamaicly a finals chance we won't see a huge number of changes
In: McLeod, Goodwin, Davis
Out: Johncock (susp), Armstrong, Stevens

McLeod and Goodwin are walk up starters if fit Stevens should be dropped as much as he dose provided good flexability he has been burning the ball far to much recently and if we need to throw someone forward we could throw bock down there as Davis has shown he can hold down CHB no worries

Henderson.

He has a big future at our football club, however at the end of the second quarter when he missed his set shot, the image of him smiling and laughing as if it was funny we were losing was absolutely disgusting and typified our horrific day. He needs an attitude check and a run in the SANFL will benefit him and the club.

Yeah, that's why we lost. Facial expressions. Next we're going to get Leonardo di Caprio to audit their dreams.

I dont get the whole point of changing 4-6 players like some people are saying. This side beat Geelong a week earlier and poor kicking lost us the showdown. Port did not beat us, we lost it. Let Port talk it up, bag our youngsters, and whatever else they want to say. Rash decisions because a youngster had a bad game is just silly. Young players are always patchy when coming into the AFL.

Goodwin in for Johncock.
Davis in for Stevens.

I would leave the rest.

Oh, and the comments on Henderson. I dont think his laughing was anything to do with attitude. If it was, then what about Reilly punching the ground after missing? He wasnt laughing as if it didnt matter, he was probably laughing at how horrible that show was. Id be more concerned if he was raging, which then can be taken out on opposition and give away free kicks.

On another note, I have heard Jaenschs club suspension had absolutely nothing to do with Vince and Johncock. It didnt even involve Jaensch directly.

I think that while the club is still mathamaicly a finals chance we won't see a huge number of changes
In: McLeod, Goodwin, Davis
Out: Johncock (susp), Armstrong, Stevens

McLeod and Goodwin are walk up starters if fit Stevens should be dropped as much as he dose provided good flexability he has been burning the ball far to much recently and if we need to throw someone forward we could throw bock down there as Davis has shown he can hold down CHB no worries

Club has said Mcleod will be out for at least another 2 weeks.

When did they announce this? Last I heard it was only expected he'd miss a week must have missed this in that case if fit knights to come in if not wouldn't be surprised to see cook come in

I think you're taking that out of context mate; it looked more like a '**** me, what do I have to do to get a result today?!' wry smile than anything else.

True it was just not a good look.

Yeah, that's why we lost. Facial expressions. Next we're going to get Leonardo di Caprio to audit their dreams.

I never said that was why we lost. Your attempted humour has been noted :rolleyes:

Not sure why people are saying Stevens will get dropped there is absolutely no chance of that happening, he is craigs love child

• No way we make 5 changes.
  • Smack & Sellar haven't done enough to justify selection, Stevens is still ahead of them (though another performance like last night's and it's good-bye).
  • Knights needs at least 2-3 more SANFL games before I'd pass him as match fit for an AFL game. Would not be unhappy if he doesn't get selected again this year, under instructions to focus on being ready for R1 2011.
  • Martin won't be selected after having a year off and playing just 2 games in the magoos and 1 for Sturt's seniors. I sincerely doubt we'll see him in Crows colours this year.

Good on yeah Vader I agree you know your footy mate.

Henderson's smile/laugh is a non-event. Craig's already made positive comments to the effect that Henderson is the type who doesn't drop his head when things aren't going his way, and keeps on trying to make it work. It was an expression that said to me "I don't believe it... next time!!" He won't get dropped for that by any stretch of the imagination.

I also agree that claiming Armstrong's career to be already over is a mile premature. Armstrong has shown some positive signs and some negative signs, but he's not gone yet. Perhaps this week, but not for good.

My prediction:

In: Davis, Petrenko, Goodwin
Out: Armstrong, one of Stevens/Bock, Johncock

Assuming Goodwin is fit. If Goodwin is not fit, Schmidt takes his place.

If Armstrong and McLeod are to be "replaced" I cannot understand why Chris Schmidt wouldn't be considered, Strong body, reasonable pace, good skills and certainly wasn't disgraced when he played earlier in the year.... 20 disposals the last time he played vs St Kilda. I'm sure I've read on here he's been pretty good in the SANFL since????

I think you're taking that out of context mate; it looked more like a '**** me, what do I have to do to get a result today?!' wry smile than anything else.
I actually reckon there was a bit of "can you imagine a player as good as me kicking the ball like that?" and also a hint of "can you believe a team like ours is losing to these guys?"

It seemed very odd and I didn't like it at all.

Was really pleased with how he finished the game though.

Rumor has it his old man belted some bloke for getting stuck into Jaensch
Surely not. How could a player get suspended for something a family member did?

Does Jeremy Johncock need to miss this week for Sturt?

If that's true (and I don't think it possibly could be) then our leadership group is completely out of control, drunk on power and needs to be disbanded.

Not sure why people are saying Stevens will get dropped there is absolutely no chance of that happening, he is craigs love child
More to the point, we should be dropping Bock, not Stevens (though I wouldn't object to dropping both). Bock was worse and has been consistently poor all season (due to a lack of fitness). At least Stevens has played 3 good games this year - that's 3 more than Bock.

My prediction:

Isn't Petrenko out for the season? Ankle or something.
I think Bocks turnovers were worse than Stevens on Sunday, but both will stay in the side.
As NC does, minimal changes - Johncock out, Goodwin in (or Schmidt if Goody unfit)

On another note, I have heard Jaenschs club suspension had absolutely nothing to do with Vince and Johncock. It didnt even involve Jaensch directly.
Partially true.. Jaensch's suspension had absolutely nothing to do with Johncock - who was in Adelaide at the time, missing his rehabilitation appointment.

The rest of your story is rubbish. The club would never suspend a player for something their father did and the club wouldn't cover something like that up. The club has stated why Jaensch & Vince got suspended. Some people don't agree with those reasons (I do), but the reasons were fairly clearly stated.

My prediction:

Petrenko out for season with broken foot, which is why Armstrong cannot be dropped, esp now that Johncock is suspended for one match.

IN: Goodwin
OUT: Johncock

i'd like to see Davis back in, but i don't think they should drop Bock. they brought Bock in and obviously he was going to be a bit underdone, but they are going to get more match practice in him (via AFL). they're not just going to drop him after 1 match. that's pretty much admitting, yes, it was a mistake to drop Davis for Bock. really, Bock should've had another week in the SANFL, but too late for that now.