Changes v Suns

I like the Cleary idea as he does provide good run but not as quick as JJ. Really feel we need to replace JJ with a speedy player as it feels like hes completely changed our ball movement since returning to half back.
I agree it would be ideal but just don’t think we have an option at the moment for a like for like unfortunately, I’d be playing Gallagher and VDM there at VFL level though

Hadn't really thought about VDM as I just assumed he wouldn't be match fit enough.

But, if he is, and is selected to cover JJ, I'm up for it. Aggressive and combative, fastest player at the club and the dual speed and run threat from JJ and Richards has been a big part of how we've been playing. Good to maintain that balance if we could.

If he does a hammy in hot Darwin he'd probably be the first player in history....couldn't rule it out though.....

As this thread is headed changes v Suns one that will not appear in the ins or outs is 20 degrees in maximum temperature 11 degrees last week 31 degrees. Probably equates to the dogs current form hot, hot, hot.

I wouldn't feel Treloar is especially likely to recur a hammy in Darwin given the temperature.

Hammies typically are more likely to go in cold conditions (Treloar in Canberra, JJ in Ballarat).

The big test in Darwin is the humidity, which would be a huge ask for any midfielder coming off a few weeks break.

For these reasons I'd like to see Treloar as the Sub. Would be a weapon coming in as the pace of the game slows.
Playing in Melbourne would be about the same risk. It was a few degrees colder in Melbourne on the night Treloar did his hammy at Manuka.

Good thing they came to Canberra for the warmer weather otherwise we might have lost a few more to soft tissue injury! ;)

Playing in Melbourne would be about the same risk. It was a few degrees colder in Melbourne on the night Treloar did his hammy at Manuka.

Good thing they came to Canberra for the warmer weather otherwise we might have lost a few more to soft tissue injury! ;)
To be fair, it would probably be a few degrees warmer at Marvel with the roof closed than it would be elsewhere in the open, eg the MCG.

With Footscray having the bye last week, it's a big ask to throw anyone into the Darwin humidity.

McNeil had been good as a sub and should be well suited. He deserves to come into the 22.

I'd have McNeil in for JJ and Treloar in as a sub.

Don't think we need a direct replacement for JJ. With a slight rejigging of roles, a back 6 of:

Gardner Jones Duryea
Richards O'Brien Dale

Is perfectly functional for mine.

Scott, Daniel and JOD can fill in for rotations.

Cleary for JJ.

JOD to retain his spot in the 22. MCSteal to remain sub.

Treloar to get another week in Melbourne to recover.

I would like to see Busslinger get a shot as an intercept defender but he needs to show a bit more at VFL level first.

Time to give Cleary a go, showed some signs last year, please don't put VDM anywhere near the 1's at this stage. Would also consider hitting pause on the JOD experiment and let him go back to VFL level for a bit.

In: Cleary, McNeil
Out JJ, JOD

Gardner kicked a goal in each of his first two games as a forward.
Even through your Ryan-hating glasses, Gardner outperformed JOD early on.
The post I responded to compared JOD's performance to Gardner's performance across his first 10-15 games.

I would rate Ryan Gardner's first 10-15 games as the absolute worst first 10-15 game stretch of any AFL\VFL player in the history of the game. I can't think of a single career that would even come close. Gambling integrity investigations could justifiably have been conducted into several of Ryan's early games such was his tendency to assist the opposition rather than the team he was supposedly playing for. Any other players with similar consistently poor performances so early in their careers almost certainly being dropped and delisted before they could achieve that number of games.

The key thing that seemed to save Ryan's career, being that a journalist personally questioned Bevo regarding Gardner's continued selection in spite of his poor form. A bit of a Black Swan event.

Hence my suggestion that drawing such a comparison was not a nice thing to say, as it could easily be considered a career kiss of death for young JOD

Last time we played in Darwin in 2013 Libba had 35, Macrae 23, Liam Jones kicked a goal and Nick Lower laid 8 tackles! Also Ken Hinkley was Port, amazing he is still there.

****, was that the Tom Williams shoulder game? And Koby Stevens playing FF on one leg?

What a disgusting game that was for multiple reasons 🤮

Bailey Smith and Adam Treloar are so much better when they are on the ball. Better for themselves and for the team. Not wingers or halfback or half forward flankers. Libba is also best on ball, but can be a good forward.

This season we will have played in Ballarat, Darwin, Tassie (hawks round 22) and Canberra. Is that some kind of record for amount of ‘boutique’ venues played at in a season? And we could have added one more with a different gather round draw.

I think a couple of years ago we played in every state/territory except NT I think. This year we would have done the same except Queensland.

I believe we were the first team to play in every state/territory.

In fact, if there's a list somewhere for the team to have played at the most grounds since 1925, I reckon we'd top it.

The life of a small market club that gets pushed to every corner of the country so Collingwood doesn’t have to leave the MCG…

As a flipside,

Marra, Jonsey and Arty on the field, that's a good show for the local Darwin community to see how our club embraces indigenous players. Might help spur on the young whipper snappers up there to take up footy, one can hope.

We could use VDM's speed off half back to replace JJ but he needs to improve:

Ball handling fumbles to often
Decision making
Kicking Efficiency

Maybe he just does everything with too much speed and needs to gain some of Bont's composure. Having said that his deliberate rushed point in a final against lions in 2021 was a match winner.

Decision making
Kicking Efficiency

Maybe he just does everything with too much speed and needs to gain some of Bont's composure. Having said that his deliberate rushed point in a final against lions in 2021 was a match winner.
I think it's well worth giving VDM a shot off half back at the higher level. His speed will be generating from a different place on the ground, the ball will come to him in a different way and he'll be starting with a different view of the ground and options ahead.

If it happens, it's earlier than I would have anticipated with his injuries and then JJ's injury. But if not this week then at some point. JJ is 7 years on from his last serious hamstring recovery. Would be nice to have a speedy replacement option with some exposure in the position and with some time to build familiarity with team mates if JJ weren't to recover as we all hope.

Decision making
Kicking Efficiency

According to VDM himself on Danny Boyd, he was going for goal…

I still think he’ll become best 22 for us fwiw

Changes v Suns

Write your reply...