Prediction Changes V Swans

• Thread starter Thread starter avishka5

Exactly at the SCG given its a small ground you dont need to many big forwards, Ryan would be perfect

Kennedy deep with a resting ruck to give Kennedy some bench time is fine at the SCG. Lycett to spend more time on the ground forward and takes the forward taps.

Waterman plays his normal role working up the ground and pushes forward on the counter attack.

We don't want to play the game in close which is the Swans strength so we need to bring pace and spread by quick kicks.

And Simo can you please.....PLEASE.... learn from other teams and play a tight zone in front of Buddy. Give him no clear space to lead into. We basically clog up the ground from just outside the forward 50 to the goal square and then sling shot with fast counter attack.

A

Hey your correct I saw Florentine against the saints what a player then checked his stats had a ripper game. Also you can throw In Henney He is dead set star. For us jack redden is having a ripper year. Should be a ripping contest.
Yeah Redden has found his foot big time. Excellent player. Yes Heeney is the most damaging player we have so def one to watch.
But as previously mentioned Hanners is cooked. If his name wasn’t Dan Hannebery he’d be in the twos.

Kennedy deep with a resting ruck to give Kennedy some bench time is fine at the SCG. Lycett to spend more time on the ground forward and takes the forward taps.

Waterman plays his normal role working up the ground and pushes forward on the counter attack.

We don't want to play the game in close which is the Swans strength so we need to bring pace and spread by quick kicks.

And Simo can you please.....PLEASE.... learn from other teams and play a tight zone in front of Buddy. Give him no clear space to lead into. We basically clog up the ground from just outside the forward 50 to the goal square and then sling shot with fast counter attack.
Just on Buddy, I think he plays much further up the ground than last time we met. Horse finally acknowledging we need multiple goal avenues which has seen Bud move onto the wing a fair bit.

But as previously mentioned Hanners is cooked. If his name wasn’t Dan Hannebery he’d be in the twos.
Whats the story behind this dramatic fall do you think? Loved Hanners from a fantasy perceptive and the way he goes about it, however even last year he showed signs on not being anywhere near , now he just doesn't get the pill at all

Yeah Redden has found his foot big time. Excellent player. Yes Heeney is the most damaging player we have so def one to watch.
Whats the reason for Hanners dip in form? Injury? or injuries taken its toll over the years. Such a shame because he is a wonderful player

If we give Buddy the same freedom as round 1 we might as well hand in the 4 points now

Just the sort of player to 30 and 3 against us IMO.

Whats the story behind this dramatic fall do you think? Loved Hanners from a fantasy perceptive and the way he goes about it, however even last year he showed signs on not being anywhere near , now he just doesn't get the pill at all
It’s hard to say, just can’t get near it and then when he does he butchers it. He’s only 28 so can’t explain it.

The injury cards have fallen as they have so be it. I think we need to look longer term that just the next game. Ryan has to play to regain match fitness. If he is underdone its only one game but the longer term benefits are significant.

We need speed and smarts up forward.

One issue with selection is that anyone who plays for East Perth on Saturday would have a very short turnaround if they were picked to play Essendon the following Thursday. If anyone picks up a knock against Sydney the match committee might be tempted to hold a couple of players out of WAFL duty, but that'd result in them having no footy for two weeks.

The injury cards have fallen as they have so be it. I think we need to look longer term that just the next game. Ryan has to play to regain match fitness. If he is underdone its only one game but the longer term benefits are significant.

We need speed and smarts up forward.
Yep he has the speed, the smarts, the goal nous he needs to play

One issue with selection is that anyone who plays for East Perth on Saturday would have a very short turnaround if they were picked to play Essendon the following Thursday. If anyone picks up a knock against Sydney the match committee might be tempted to hold a couple of players out of WAFL duty, but that'd result in them having no footy for two weeks.
Good point, all the more reason to bring back Ryan.

Need to ramp up the pace for this one.

Yep he has the speed, the smarts, the goal nous he needs to play

That means nothing if you are not match fit or have any lingering doubts on how the ankle feels.

This is an elite comp, you go into a game underdone or not feeling confident with your body you get found out pretty quickly.

I would give Ryan at least one week in the WAFL.

Good point, all the more reason to bring back Ryan.

Need to ramp up the pace for this one.

One less tall for our best mid in Shuey makes us faster already.

Who comes out to let another change occur?

Been mentioned by many the SCG is shorter so one less tall forward isnt a problem, bringing in a gun fast clearance mid is smart against the Swans.

If we want to look for more pace Petro comes in.

One less tall for our best mid in Shuey makes us faster already.

Who comes out to let another change occur?

Been mentioned by many the SCG is shorter so one less tall forward isnt a problem, bringing in a gun fast clearance mid is smart against the Swans.

If we want to look for more pace Petro comes in.
I wouldn't mind seeing Petro in but if he plays he spends a lot of time forward. If Ryan is fit you'd be crazy to play Petch over him. I would rather have Ryan in for Darling and give Ah Chee/Hutchings a spell for Shuey. Not that fussed though, reckon Ah Chee might stand up if it turns into a heavily congested game.

Was very glad to see Sydney flog the Saints.Theres nothing worse than having a nice easy "geez we're good" game before a big match.lets hope some complacency has crept in!!

Complacency against the competition leaders? This is Sydney coached by John Longmire we are talking about here. Horse will have us primed for this one.

We have not put in a four quarter effort all season. Last week was better but still not what you would expect. I reckon we are due.

It’s hard to say, just can’t get near it and then when he does he butchers it. He’s only 28 so can’t explain it.
Still has time to turn it around and find a role, but in a way the game may have evolved past his old bash and crash style. Turnovers are so deadly, with high fitness levels of players and the ability to transition quickly no longer confined to a couple of top sides.

I see ah chee playing .....with yeo in the midfield

To combot Heaney and josh Kennedy

Shuey coming in gives me confidence

Shuey in for Darling
Ryan if fit should come in for Nelson if unfit then Petro comes in.
Achee to play Nelson's role as the 7th defender. Petro can also have stints in the back line. He has played half back before in the juniors.
Shuey and Ryan/Petro automatically makes us faster.
If Masten is fit then he should come in for Sheed.

Hurn Barass Shepherd
Duggan McGovern Jetta
Gaf Yeo Masten
Lecras Waterman Cripps
Ryan Kennedy Lycett

Followers: Nic Nat Shuey Redden
Interchange: Rioli Achee Hutchings Cole

Shuey in for Darling
Ryan if fit should come in for Nelson if unfit then Petro comes in.
Achee to play Nelson's role as the 7th defender. Petro can also have stints in the back line. He has played half back before in the juniors.
Shuey and Ryan/Petro automatically makes us faster.
If Masten is fit then he should come in for Sheed.

Hurn Barass Shepherd
Duggan McGovern Jetta
Gaf Yeo Masten
Lecras Waterman Cripps
Ryan Kennedy Lycett

Followers: Nic Nat Shuey Redden
Interchange: Rioli Achee Hutchings Cole
But with this line up, isn’t Cole the 7th defender?

Yes I guess it would be correct to say that. You could start with Cole and interchange him with Jetta and Achee. If Jetta gets his act together he can be damaging with his kicking from half back and his burst running from the backline to the middle.

We should consider hard and far hit out to ensure the ball is out of the congested zone to improve clearance. We did not do that in R1.
Also increase ferocity is the key to this match. We have 2 weeks break and should not have any sore boy while the Sawns have only 6 days!