Changes V Swans

• Thread starter Thread starter walhawk

Due to these guys playing uncontested footy and being conditioned to do so....and taking into consideration we are playing the sharp swans...why dont we limit our turnovers and holding the ball and zero tackle counts.So i suggest this

OUT- Guerra
Clarke
Young
Ellis

i tend to agree with hawk forever about guerra.

yes - he picks up his 25 to 30 touches per game and his kicking game is usually quite ok, BUT if you watch whose man it is in free space just outside or inside 50 either assisting in setting up the goals, or kicking them himself, it's guerra's.

i like him, but i'm not sold on him in one on one contested footy to keep his man quiet, and he doesn't ever seem to turn defensive when his man is getting some of the ball.

Yeah nah.

Guerra is ultra important to the way we bring the ball out of defence, and he doesn't shirk the hard stuff.

As soon as he was over his hamstring, he was brought straight back into the side by Clarkson, who really rates what Guerra does.

Ellis is a young player but has courage and skills.

Tim Clarke will probably make way if senior and better midfielders are right to return, but I doubt that Young will be omitted.

Assuming that what the club has told us is accurate then I would expect the following changes to be made:

Ins: Simon Taylor, Brad Sewell, Stuart Dew, Chance Bateman
Outs: Brent Renouf (sus), Tim Clarke (omit), Jarryd Morton (omit), Tom Murphy (omit)
Agreed with those ins and outs. Morton has done well, but is still a project player and not really suited for a match against the Swans. The opposition have paid him no attention, which has meant he's got a lot of the ball. He is not really a 'ball winner' yet, which is what you need against the Swans. Morton should play more this year when injuries crop up again and will hopefully cement a spot next year. Still needs a lot of work on his strength, which will come with another one or two preseasons.

Bateman in for Clarke - I like Clarke, he has a good attitude, does his job, runs hard - but Bateman does all those things, but does them better, and with far better disposal. Clarke a great depth player, but not in our best 22.

Taylor for Renouf - Obviously.

Those are the obvious changes. The rest depends on who is fit. Crawf won't be playing by the look of things, which is a shame. If Sewell is fit, he obviously comes in. If not - perhaps Dew, or perhaps Clarke keeps his spot.

I can't see Morton being dropped. He's borderline for the best 22, but we don't have our best 22 available, and I'd hate to see him get dropped playing the way he is. I understand that McGlynn is not fit to play, which is a shame - we could really use his run and toughness. Is Cameron Stokes fit? Because if Lewis, Sewell, and Dew are all not fit, then there could definitely be room for him.

In: Bateman, Taylor,

Out: Crawford, Morton

Just a crunch game against Sydney, and I think Clarke is the better option against their side with his accountability and run the other way. I thought we missed him last we played them.

Morton has been good, but not overly damaging for a senior player. He isn't a senior player, he is a young player who has being performing very well for his age, but in this crunch match that could go close to firming up a spot in the top 2 or 3, I think we need to play experience over youth, as Sydney will target our weak links.

Why is the Geelong game more important?

agreed:thumbsu:
geelong game isn't as important wins against swans and saints should be the confidence booster for us to take on geelong, hence why this match against the swans is a cruical match to help secure 2nd spot and also boos out confidence

In: Bateman, Taylor,

Out: Crawford, Morton

Just a crunch game against Sydney, and I think Clarke is the better option against their side with his accountability and run the other way. I thought we missed him last we played them.

Morton has been good, but not overly damaging for a senior player. He isn't a senior player, he is a young player who has being performing very well for his age, but in this crunch match that could go close to firming up a spot in the top 2 or 3, I think we need to play experience over youth, as Sydney will target our weak links.

Don't forget Renouf is suspended.

Our next 4 games are all loseable, so we'll need to be switched on. It's a good thing we are 4 games inside the top 4 as the next month will be a real struggle.

out: clarke
in: anyone else on our list

the only thing people have to say about clarke is his run, they forget about his lack of football ability and lack of strength to stay in a contest. So here's an idea, because his run is so good how about he becomes our runner that way it's a win win for those who want him in and those who don't - we will be the most hydrated team in the league, but we don't have to see him turnover the ball every week

Original ...

:rolleyes:

I'm really getting sick of seeing people typing out these totally negative posts. Why do you feel the need to type out a paragraph bagging out Clarke? He's a good team man, he does his job, he runs hard. He's tagged McLeod out of a game twice this year.

He's not the greatest player by any means, but what does it add to the discussion to bag him out like that without even suggesting who is going to come in for him? I'm not saying you can' be critical of Hawthorn players, but maybe try to keep the criticism constructive.

I'm really getting sick of seeing people typing out these totally negative posts. Why do you feel the need to type out a paragraph bagging out Clarke? He's a good team man, he does his job, he runs hard. He's tagged McLeod out of a game twice this year.

He's not the greatest player by any means, but what does it add to the discussion to bag him out like that without even suggesting who is going to come in for him? I'm not saying you can' be critical of Hawthorn players, but maybe try to keep the criticism constructive.

Hear, hear! Couldn't have said it better myself..

Mate, you're entitled to your opinion, but it gets increasingly old reading this sort of comment about this specific player week-after-week. If he kicked a goal and went and high fived every member of the crowd, or did post match interviews and mentioned how good he is, then fair enough. But the reality is, he's a player with limitations, but he is an elite runner, and he gives his all. He provides options. He doesn't talk himself up.

Having Crawford and Clarke in our squad, means we've got blokes like McGlynn, Bateman and Young who try to go toe-to-toe with them at training, and then BANG, we've got 5 elite runners in our squad. Watch Clarke closely, and if a ball spills free, he'll make every effort to dive on the spill, often having an opponent come over the top and clean him up.

So he's weak at contested marks or overhead marks? That happens. His improvement in that area may have stifled, but if you compare it to his kicking, which two/three years ago was likely to shank at right angles when he was kicking for goal, whilst now, within range, he's actually one of the more accurate kicks, shows that he's improved where he can.

Suggest he needs to be dropped, by all means, but don't just go on and on about his negatives. It's like a broken record.

they forget about his lack of football ability and lack of strength to stay in a contest.

How many games have you played? zero? just as expected, so Clarkes ability isn't in question here, what is in question is the garbage you type on this forum.....CRAPOLA :thumbsu:

Anyone who comes out with the ol' "How many games have you played?" line is a complete idiot. It would make for a very quiet board if we limited all discussion to only those over say 200 games of AFL?? Grow up.

This is a thread about ins and outs. It's fair enough for people to attempt justify their outs by saying those players are not as good as others. Otherwise we'd play 30 every week.

As for Clarke, yep, lovely bloke, tries very hard, runs well, good leader, in out best 22, nup.

Due to these guys playing uncontested footy and being conditioned to do so....and taking into consideration we are playing the sharp swans...why dont we limit our turnovers and holding the ball and zero tackle counts.So i suggest this

OUT- Guerra
Clarke
Young
Ellis

That's just dumb. :thumbsd:

Sorry, fella.

Anyone who comes out with the ol' "How many games have you played?" line is a complete idiot. It would make for a very quiet board if we limited all discussion to only those over say 200 games of AFL?? Grow up.

This is a thread about ins and outs. It's fair enough for people to attempt justify their outs by saying those players are not as good as others. Otherwise we'd play 30 every week.

As for Clarke, yep, lovely bloke, tries very hard, runs well, good leader, in out best 22, nup.

Are our best 22 available? No. So it is of little relevance. How about Clarke's ability to be in the starting team of the 1989 grand final?

There is no problem with someone saying Clarke out and Bateman in, for example, if he's had a poor game, or for the general reason that Bateman would be a better option, all things considered, but the broken record repitition of his failures is what gets most peoples backs up.

I could literally state a negative for every player on our list, including Hodgey and Mitch...but I don't, because we pay certain players respect, yet the same right is not afforded to everyone apparently. Again, Clarke doesn't big note himself, but is on the list for a reason, so he doesn't deserve to have his playing credentials rubbished every week in the interests of letting everyone have their opinion in our own forum. We get it. We got it in the preseason. We got it in the early season. So lets just let it go now.

So by calling me an idiot, makes you smart :rolleyes: get real, any tird (sic) can sit on this forum and bag the crap out of players (huge brains required for that).
It doesn't take much to have a go, putting your opinion across about ins and outs is fine, I draw the line at some peanut that lays a harsh judgment about a player who has worked tirelessly for the club, which is something half you minnows know nothing about..so piss off front runner :thumbsd:

I don't expect Sewell to play - I'm sure they'll give him a further week off to ensure that he doesn't aggravate anything post-surgery.

So, I'm going to revise my changes as follows:

Ins: Taylor, Bateman, Dew
Outs: Renouf (sus), Clarke (omit), Murphy (omit)

I expect that Murphy will be an emergency and depending on how Sydney cover Barry Hall's likely absence, he might come in as a late change for a sore midfielder (probably Crawf).

I don't expect Sewell to play - I'm sure they'll give him a further week off to ensure that he doesn't aggravate anything post-surgery.

I expect that Murphy will be an emergency and depending on how Sydney cover Barry Hall's likely absence, he might come in as a late change for a sore midfielder (probably Crawf).

I like the sounds of those INS. :thumbsu:

I'd add Crawf to the definite outs, unfortunately. Maybe Tuck to come in?

Hey i have an idea.Why dont we drop these players and bring back anyone of the players listed below.They all play circus footy ,they all play uncontested footy ,and all rely on others to get the footy for them.I would rather watch Hay get caught with the ball than young or ellis.........At least we knew we werent going to play in the finals and going to the MCG was light entertainment for the week.Go left ,go right ,go forward and then ..............backawards just before he got caught.I wait in anticipation on sunday when this will occur with my OUTs ...on the other hand i will have something to smile about.

OUT - Guerra ,Ellis,Clarke,Young
IN - Harford
S.Cox
Hunter
Johnston
Bowyer
Loats
Stone
Elstone
Graham
Barlow
Picione