Unofficial Preview Changes v the Dockers.

• Thread starter Thread starter M Malice

How Rayner got a game based off his last few weeks is astounding. Good to see he’s held to the same standard as Cutler.:rolleyes:

Out - Mathieson, Rayner (won’t happen given he’s Fagan’s pet)

Ins - Keays, Cutler (won’t happen for either b/c of Fagan’s bias)

Hey mate I thought you told us that we'd lose by 26 because of the selections?

While I also think that Rayner probably needs a spell on the two's, exactly what I'm Fagan's time here at the lions lend you to believe he has significant bias when selecting players. Honestly the tone of your constant criticism and the complete lack of basis is starting to get old and tiresome.

Across his time here he's shown himself to be a deep thinker and a calm and considered person who isn't prone to rash and uneducated thinking

So sure nothing wrong with the player opinions bit can we stop with the constant Fagan niggling unless you actually want to provide some basis for it other than just fagans wrong and I'm right
So Fagan has no involvement or influence in selecting each week’s team or who he wants in and out?

I have, but it's a bit miserable seeing you post the same thing every week telling us on a Thursday night that we've already lost.
First time all year I got a Lions tip wrong, so I’ve been right three other occasions when we did lose.

unchanged team for mine. I not think Hodge will go apart from being in the coaches box.
Rayner be on thin ice although plenty here wanted Charlie gone this week

I must have missed the Matho thing, what happened there?
I have only just watched the game after missing it live unfortunately, but the only one under pressure after that game is Rayner!
The rest will hold their positions as I reckon hodge won’t play again next week.

Agree that Keays deserves a spot over Rayner. Cam Rayner can return to the reserves for a couple weeks to dominate and then come back with confidence and hunger. Curious that Keays wasn't named in the emergencies though? Do the coaches rate his performances as much as we do? Even if Hodge doesn't return this week I'd still consider bringing someone in to replace Answerth. Has had a month in the seniors to get a feel for it, however, I feel like we could bring someone else in to replace him who could have more of an impact. I wouldn't mind someone with a bit of experience such as Bastinac again as another midfield option considering we're travelling over to Perth.

So for me-

In Keays Bastinac
Out Rayner Answerth

Oh and to contribute

Out: Rayner, Matho (suspended 30 weeks)
In: Keays, Bastinac

And maybe;

Out: Lester
In: Hodge

Harsh on the 🐸frog but keeps the structure sound and we don't want our backline to be too slow against Freo.

We go through this each week. If our opponent loses, they'll be fired up. If they win then they're in good form.
Meh they've lost their last 3 and scored totals of 34, 86 and 53 throughout that period. I think we can put a high enough score on the board to beat them.
sCxnvj1.gif

So Fagan has no involvement or influence in selecting each week’s team or who he wants in and out?

Huh? I think you either completely missed the or just decided to ignore it

We've beat 5 of the other 7 non-victorian teams already this season. This week we can make it 6 and then bring on GWS later on in the season.

Oh and to contribute

Out: Rayner, Matho (suspended 30 weeks)
In: Keays, Bastinac

And maybe;

Out: Lester
In: Hodge

Harsh on the 🐸frog but keeps the structure sound and we don't want our backline to be too slow against Freo.
Think Hodge would be rested for Fremantle even without a calf twinge, let alone with one.

Wouldn't mind Zorko running with Fyfe. Fyfe is a contested ball beast and does little on the outside. Zorko seems to now be focussed on pressure and tackling instead of actually attacking the footy. Zorko could make it very difficult for Fyfe.

Would prefer Berry. Berry won the contest last time we played

He did. For the quarter it lasted but we haven't been using him as a tagger. Robbo spent time on Bontempelli so I think he'll probably tag him. Just think that putting Zorko on Fyfe would be the best use of his defensive focus he's had this year.

I should state i believe rayner can and will make it. But hes a 2nd year player and hes having the blues. He just needs to knuckle down get some confidence back and come back and play his role. We need 2 goals a game from him and be more damaging in that forward 50.
If he did that for us yesterday it would have been the difference from the crows thinking they had a sniff to not.

I reckon Berry is our guy. Was solidly beating Fyfe last year before Fyfe did his hammy (some speculate he faked it to escape Berry) so would love to see round two. With that said, I'd have no problem Zorko having instructions to punish Fyfe with a hard tackle every time he gets the ball.

sportsmaniac89 how do you rate freos mids outside of Fyfe?

1 change for mine. Rayner needs time to find the footy again. Back to the twos for a few weeks to spend big midfield minutes.

Keays has earnt a spot.

I should state i believe rayner can and will make it. But hes a 2nd year player and hes having the blues. He just needs to knuckle down get some confidence back and come back and play his role. We need 2 goals a game from him and be more damaging in that forward 50.
If he did that for us yesterday it would have been the difference from the crows thinking they had a sniff to not.

Your expectation of 44 goals from a second year player is almost always going to be met with disappointment.

What we need from Rayner is 1 goal, a bunch of tackles and disposals with meaning. Yesterday he touched the ball just three times, but 2/3 set up very good shots at goals. He simply needs the ball in his hands more often. This will come with confidence and fitness. Whether we give him a game in the 2s and bring him back for the Hawks or just try to help get him out of his form slump is the question, but let's be honest there is nobody more qualified than Fagan to make the call (sorry Dylan12 ).

He did. For the quarter it lasted but we haven't been using him as a tagger. Robbo spent time on Bontempelli so I think he'll probably tag him. Just think that putting Zorko on Fyfe would be the best use of his defensive focus he's had this year.
Robbo isn't the option. Bontempelli killed us. Zorko is an option but l don't want him so defensively focused to tag that he doesn't utilise his offensive skills. Berry has such a good mix of defense and offense. Both could be an option really

Robbo didn't tag him in the second half when he got on top of us