Prediction Changes v Tigers

• Thread starter Thread starter avishka5

It's so long since we played Richmond at the MCG last year. We kicked ourselves out of that game and Richmond haven't turned back since.
Yeah it was such a frustrating game to watch.

8 goals 17 behinds!

We had 56 inside 50s, at the MCG, so it’s not like we didn’t have a red hot crack.

The rain killed us - would have been a brilliant opportunity to put some MCG demons to rest.

A couple of things I’ve noticed watching Richmond this season: they’re very good at lowering their eyes and generally efficient moving the ball inside-50. It won’t be like the Freo game where Gov was gifted intercept marks all day. Hardwick and Leppitsch have both had their detractors but are tactically astute and have the Tigers very well-drilled.

They’re also elite at hurting teams off turnovers. Guys like Hurn playing up the ground has been a major factor in our success this year but we’ll need to find the right balance. Castagna is an important player to shut down imo - sets up a lot of their play in transition. Maybe someone like Duggan would be a good matchup

I am going on the assumption Sheed, Jetta & Gov are a 100% fit for my team selections.

Out: Fmac, Schofield, Ainsworth, Nelson
In: Nic Nat, Gov, Sheed, Jetta

Ainsworth unlucky but i think Hutchings is needed for a tagging role and Sheed is a better player at the moment. He got a good taste for it and at least we know we have a mid we can bring back in if we get more injuries.

Nelson hasn't be bad but for me it was him or Cole and Cole has been the better player overall. Jetta will give us more pace down back and then allow Hurn to be that attacking defender again.

Team:

Hurn Barrass Shep
Jetta Gov Duggan

Masten Redden Gaff

Ah Chee Darling Waterman
Cripps JK Rioli

Ruck: Nic Nat Yeo Sheed

Bench: Lycett, Cole, Lecra, Hutchings

Don't understand the view that Petch is an automatic in? He has a shocking first game and a marginally better second, but everyone wants him in vs the premiers.
Ainsworth has an infinitely better debut and almost unanimously gets called to be dropped.
He’s far from an automatic in, but we have to pick the best team in terms of balance and we have got plenty of inside mids but not many quick forwards due to injuries. Petrucelle’s 2nd game was very good for pressure acts and his 2 goals were exactly what we needed.

FWIW I think Ah Chee will hold the Fwd/Mid spot over Petch while Sheed will come in for Ainsworth. Very competitive list we’ve got at the moment.

I already knew about that and was going to post it myself, fact remains he wasn't BOG in the majority of people's eyes. The vast majority of posters have assessed his game as spectators and viewed it as such. These are people hanging on every disposal and contest as they watch the game, not people who are at work, fixing problems, looking at structures off the ball and having internal discussions all whilst expected to see every contest in the game (they don't trust me).

The coaches votes are an indication of a good game for sure, but do you rescind any opinions you had on a game based on the coaches votes? I'm not so fickle. I doubt any of the other posters on here would change their votes because the coaches have given different votes.

Everything I posted stands, go watch the game again if you like. If you watch that game again and consider him to be the best player that's fine but I still don't.

Again, not arguing Sheed is poo or not best 22. He has more upside than Hutchings. I am arguing that an injured Sheed is better than an in form Hutchings, as well as questioning whether he's being rushed in for no reason and if he's truly read.

Hutchings by the way who I consider to be one of the strongest tacklers in our team and somebody who isn't just skirting around packs and jogging behind people. Sheed obviously is a much better user by foot and generally speaking is cleaner by hand (although he's been fumbly this year in space). He is a better clearance player.

But go don't diss Hutching's body of work, last week he was very good after dropping the tag in the second half, he has laid 19 tackles the past two weeks and done a great job.

Just FYI in the votes thread:
Shep - 252
NN - 232
Shuey - 150
Sheed - 108

Out of 61 people who gave votes:
Sheed awarded 5 votes - 4 times
Sheed awarded 0 votes - 21 times

The problem is this isn't "a fit Sheed".

It's Sheed coming back from injury at Optus Stadium, which is creating issues for players as it is. Please learn to comprehend my posts before commenting. I'm simply questioning the notion that Sheed is an automatic inclusion coming back from injury on a hard surface when we have covered him well.

However, this is all a moot point because I was arguing based on the possibility of Ah Chee or Hutchings being an out, forgetting that Ainsworth is going to get dropped if anybody.

By the way, I was just stating he hasn't been BOG and I stand by that.
Dude in my original comment I didn’t flat out say he was bog. I said top 3 if not bog so in that game he was one of our best. Dom was one of the mids that was doing well when the cats were dominant and he was also one of the mids that helped change the momentum our way.

Tbh I would take simmos word that most of the campaigners on here. Also Brad Scott giving him a high vote is pretty significant considering Ablette and Danger were immense on game day.

Also funny how you praise hutchings and critique Dom. Hutch along with Masten our the biggest momentum killers and our the worst decision makers in the side. Dons kicking at times can be a bit hit and miss but the kid with a bit of space will lace out a team mate. Hutch on the other hand won’t. I’m sorry but your in the minority for hutch over shred comments. Hutch purely stays as a tagger or plays for so.

I live in Melbourne- radio here is saying yeo is in trouble.here we go

Shiel played on so unless he's got delayed concussion as well it'd be a fine at most.

It should be nothing at all, but who knows these days?

Masten is in career best form. The reason we are doing so well at the moment is because our second stringers are playing good football.
I'm still not sold on Masten being best 22. Has he improved on last year and the year before, Yes. Does he still wince at the slightest contact, Yes. Does he know how to impact a contest, No. His defensive running/positioning is a weakness too. He's pure depth and isn't in our Best 22.

Please don't anyone tell me that contested work is not his role. I'm not talking about contested work, it's the when you've gotta go moments. He is laughable at it.

I come in peace.

really looking forward to this game.

I think you will win this week, you have a lot of momentum especially after the convincing win against GWS. You're already turning the new stadium into a fortress as well. Reckon your forward line is going to cause us troubles as there are a lot of dimensions to it, not as predictable as some of the other teams we have faced.

What was the injury McGovern has? He will be a massive inclusion for you if he comes back in. we tend to just dump the ball long inside 50, he will have an absolute field day if that pattern continues. Townsend would be his likley match up to try and restrict the intercept marking but I'm sure how well that will work for us.

But the biggest concern is Nic Nat running riot. I'm thinking we might even start a bit behind your midfielders and basically conceed the tap and 1st possession and then try cause the turn over from there.

Hopefully it will be a cracking contest with no injuries.

In: Naitanui, McGovern, Sheed, Jetta
Out: McInnes, Ainsworth, Hutchings, Schofield

All players unlucky, but that's the nature of the beast when your team is up and about.

Shame about Petrucelle's injury, he adds some needed zip to our fwd line. Not sure we can fit him in this week though.

I'm still not sold on Masten being best 22. Has he improved on last year and the year before, Yes. Does he still wince at the slightest contact, Yes. Does he know how to impact a contest, No. His defensive running/positioning is a weakness too. He's pure depth and isn't in our Best 22.

Please don't anyone tell me that contested work is not his role. I'm not talking about contested work, it's the when you've gotta go moments. He is laughable at it.

Yeah nah.

His contested stuff has improved. I recall him laying one big tackle in the center square v GWS, I commented at the time. According to the stats that was his only tackle for the match, but he's averaging two a game for the season and three a game over the past three weeks, when his offensive output has dropped off a bit.

His defensive running is a particular strength - more than once on the weekend he was the second man back to help out Schofield on a break.

With Gaff playing in the center square and Jetta shifting to halfback, we're not exactly flush with genuine wings at the moment. He's got one of those wings firmly locked in for the foreseeable future.

proved. I recall him laying one big tackle in the center square v GWS, I commented at the time. According to the stats that was his only tackle for the match, but he's averaging two a game for the season and three a game over the past three weeks, when his offensive output has dropped off a bit.
We'll have to disagree. He does get back but he doesn't know how to play in a 2 v 2 loose ball/defensive play.

Fully fit, we can't fit everyone in the team and I don't see how he plays ahead of Venables, Ah Chee, Cole, Rioli, Ryan (I know they're different positions)

We'll have to disagree. He does get back but he doesn't know how to play in a 2 v 2 loose ball/defensive play.

Fully fit, we can't fit everyone in the team and I don't see how he plays ahead of Venables, Ah Chee, Cole, Rioli, Ryan (I know they're different positions)

I think he plays ahead of some of them because the match committee will take the view that the fact people on the Internet don't like him doesn't change the fact he's more suited to his current role than other players that they like more.

I think Shep needs to do a job on Caddy

I think he plays ahead of some of them because the match committee will take the view that the fact people on the Internet don't like him doesn't change the fact he's more suited to his current role than other players that they like more.
I think it's more than some people on the internet. Good on him if he keeps his form up and keeps his spot, but he still has room for improvement in my eyes to keep his spot and his form against the Suns shouldn't guarantee him a game for the whole season.

Just because he's the only player that would call himself a winger amongst the fringe players, doesn't mean that he offers the best result for the team.

I come in peace.

really looking forward to this game.

I think you will win this week, you have a lot of momentum especially after the convincing win against GWS. You're already turning the new stadium into a fortress as well. Reckon your forward line is going to cause us troubles as there are a lot of dimensions to it, not as predictable as some of the other teams we have faced.

What was the injury McGovern has? He will be a massive inclusion for you if he comes back in. we tend to just dump the ball long inside 50, he will have an absolute field day if that pattern continues. Townsend would be his likley match up to try and restrict the intercept marking but I'm sure how well that will work for us.

But the biggest concern is Nic Nat running riot. I'm thinking we might even start a bit behind your midfielders and basically conceed the tap and 1st possession and then try cause the turn over from there.

Hopefully it will be a cracking contest with no injuries.
Loved the first and last sentence!!
pretty sure Gov, NN, Jetta, Sheed back in depending on tests..Shuey not.
also pretty sure NN will be pumped to run riot, after a weeks rest..
and if Gov doesn't get loose in the backline, Shep or Barrass or Hurn or Cole probably will?
being billed as game of the season in some corners...promises to be a cracker..tipped biggest WA crowd ever!
Weather...?

This has a very Boston v Cleveland feel to it... and well we saw what Marcus morris did to Lebron

Watching the Richmond game again. Yes they are a fantastic side, but they do rely a lot on turnovers. Haven't seen the stats so I could be wrong.

Obviously their pressure leads to a lot of turnovers, but there are quite a few poor entries in to 50 from North, which I think is where we are much better (this year). If we can keep our heads, and composure I can really see us pushing them.

Who really knows though, does anyone believe we could be top of the ladder after Rd 9!? :drunk::D

Masten is in career best form. The reason we are doing so well at the moment is because our second stringers are playing good football.

He may be in career best form but Hutch brings more to the table against the Tigers.
There's a lot of posts calling for Sheed in Hutch out. I'd drop Masten before dropping Hutch.