Changes v West Coast

Well given we started the season playing three tall forwards, three tall backs and one ruckman (would have been two had Ryder not been suspended, given Ken's stated desire to play both Lobbe and Ryder) and by round 9 we have stripped back to two tall forwards, one tall back and one pseudo ruckman, I'm not even sure structure is a consideration at Allan Scott Power HQ.

No system, no structure. Look at the top teams, they always replace players like for like and expect them to play their role. That way players always know exactly what is needed of them, and they can make roles their own. None of this ****ing Impey down back doing whatever the ****, then Impey up forward doing whatever the **** with Trengove down back, then ruck doing whatever the ****.

Butcher in SANFL doing whatever the ****.

Dixon rucking then forward then whatever the ****.

If O'shea role is "not hitting broadsides of a barn, running all over the place like a gazelle covering lots of ground just doing whatever the ****." then he's top 10 at the club.

Everyone literally just does whatever the **** they feel is right at the time, rather than doing what they SHOULD know is their defined role. We are playing 100% instinctive football, which only works when you have a team full of instinctively smart players.

We should have reigned them in a long time ago and become extremely specific about all their roles. Players should be expected to rock up to work and know exactly what they need to do to get the result we need. Instead we've got them all being told "I believe in you to make the right decision, go out there and play Port Adelaide footy" we need more than that, Ken.

We need a system and a structure where players are drafted to play roles not because they were the quickest/biggest bolter of the draft. We've completely drafted based on the best results at the combine rather than what we actually need. Too often are we trying to make players into shit they aren't.

Ken is the "Go out and give em hell lads" coach, but we need a "You need to be in this position, move in this formation, do these things, don't commit here, do commit here, always look to do this, try to avoid this" type coach.

Too bad the above coach would also fail because we've got a list full of derpmerchants with the footballing IQ of a cactus.

O'Shea keeping his spot is Hinkley's version of promoting Simon Phillips on the back of a 4 disposal game.
Probably would have been better if O'Shea only had a 4 disposal game last week. :oops:

We will win or lose by 3 to 4 goals
We hope so. But back to back losses to Carlton (with injuries) gives me f*** all confidence. Plus 2 beltings already at AO against teams on par or even below WCE. Everything needs to go right for us to win or even get close to WCE. I just am struggling to look past our spinless effort Sunday and the p*** weak response from club this week:
1. Boak hidden from media - WTF! If he has problems, take time off and recover. Don't weight the whole team down.
2. Hinkley - "well if we had a choice between gray in or not. I think we would always prefer gray in versus out". Sounds like a man under intense pressure. Why not say he is a leader of our club and one of our elite players - and will be tough match up for WCE. He is like players, lacking complete confidence.

This team is regressing fast and like every supporter I wish/hope/beg we turn it around. But our wins have been a distraction to so many deficiencies of our list and coaching group. I predicted last week we would belt Carlton like we belted Brisbane. This week I ain't sharing that confidence. Let me be proven wrong.

We will either win this game by 1-15 goals or lose by 1-15 goals.

A draw is also possible.

Bookmark it.

I actually don't think that is instinctively doing what we like. Instead our coaches are throwing them all around the place. Impey go down back now today you will be a forward. Next week you will be in the midfield. No wonder our players are putting up bi-polar performances they don't know where the f*** they are going to play and what role will be asked of them each week. Let alone the bizarre selections game which could see you dumped if you are finally playing into some form but you are safe if you were breathtakingly awful.

Totally agree with the theme in this thread.

Ken gives less consideration to structure than just about any coach I've seen. He picks sides based on effort, talent and form. This goes way back to his early days when he replaced Tregnove with a 5 week injury with someone 6-1 because they were racking up the possies in the magoos. From memory Port lost all 5 games.

You can't win a game of football with 21 ruckman, just like you cant win a game of football with 21 forward pockets. You need balance, cohesion and physical attributes suited to the role.

Am I talking sense or should I be nervous that the b0ydm31st3r is liking my posts?

No my friend, the damage is deep, damage is deep my friend and yours was a good post with substantiation

Actually this last 3 pages are some of the best content I have read explaining our malaise with facts and figures

I'd love to pull a page of the relevant posts this week together, its quite damning to the coach actually, on structure, player development and player selection

We now have facts and figures which demonstrate how Ken is playing this, and losing the tall's and his response etc

IF we beat WCE then I reckon we can say "okay, maybe carlton and the other games were abberations" and he has the magicians tactical nous

But if they beat us based on the glaringly obvious- undersized, no ruckmen, stewart inability to kick > 35m, Ebert turnover kicks and HB to player under pressure, Neade and Westhoff lack any confidence, Boak seriously out of form, Wingard playing a strange game, and Oshea just a very ordinary AFL player who used to have running endurance, no forward entry strategy

If they are 5 entries for 4 goals at the end of the 1st quarter we'll probably know how the game, the season, and the coach will fare

I can only see one outcome, a loss by 55-80 points. But if Ken pulls it off against worst travelling side in the AFL i'll stand and applaud and get back on the bus

But it won't happen. Our players know there is no pressure to underperform and there is no accountability extracted. Which means the "above the ears" bit doesn't work for them anymore

I've got my popcorn ready

No system, no structure. Look at the top teams, they always replace players like for like and expect them to play their role. That way players always know exactly what is needed of them, and they can make roles their own. None of this ******* Impey down back doing whatever the ****, then Impey up forward doing whatever the **** with Trengove down back, then ruck doing whatever the ****.

Butcher in SANFL doing whatever the ****.

Dixon rucking then forward then whatever the ****.

If O'shea role is "not hitting broadsides of a barn, running all over the place like a gazelle covering lots of ground just doing whatever the ****." then he's top 10 at the club.

Everyone literally just does whatever the **** they feel is right at the time, rather than doing what they SHOULD know is their defined role. We are playing 100% instinctive football, which only works when you have a team full of instinctively smart players.

We should have reigned them in a long time ago and become extremely specific about all their roles. Players should be expected to rock up to work and know exactly what they need to do to get the result we need. Instead we've got them all being told "I believe in you to make the right decision, go out there and play Port Adelaide footy" we need more than that, Ken.

We need a system and a structure where players are drafted to play roles not because they were the quickest/biggest bolter of the draft. We've completely drafted based on the best results at the combine rather than what we actually need. Too often are we trying to make players into shit they aren't.

Ken is the "Go out and give em hell lads" coach, but we need a "You need to be in this position, move in this formation, do these things, don't commit here, do commit here, always look to do this, try to avoid this" type coach.

Too bad the above coach would also fail because we've got a list full of derpmerchants with the footballing IQ of a cactus.

So basically you're opinion is that ken unless he changes his way , will not last as head coach

Its time for people to forget about Butcher. Are we playing short? f***ing oath we are, and that speaks volumes of poor planning & player development. Butcher is not AFL standard...end of story. Trying to make him something he's obviously not, is bordering on delusional.

So basically you're opinion is that ken unless he changes his way , will not last as head coach

Yes. No way he survives if this keeps up. We all saw the elephant in the room when he came on and started to get close to the players as time went by, we were hopeful it wouldn't develop into not being able to make hard calls but alas, it has. He is fastly approaching choco level without the premiership.

Unless there is a Geelong/Bomber Thompson scenario where he was given an ultimatum, change your system or get out, it is seriously difficult to understand how Ken can be retained.

The PAFC cannot afford to have their team continue regressing as is the present situation until the end of Ken's contract, 2018.

I'm not a Ken knocker as such but as previously posted, he is undoubtedly a superb assistant coach but doesn't quite make the grade as head honcho.

Hope to be proven wrong though as I reckon he's decent human being with great personal standards.

Realistically though if you forget the overachieving years of 2013 and 2014 and someone told you at the end of 2012 that we would be a mid table side in 15-16 I'd be surprised still. After 2012 I didn't think we would be even within 5 years of Finals, we lost nearly every possible stat in the game in those couple of years. We just shot out of the blocks early , got underneath a few guards and got some surprising early results, but looking at the realistic picture when Ken took the job we are probably back where we should be.

Unfortunately ken and a few others took too much out of 13 and more specifically 2014 and have made a cascade of poor decisions in recruitment amongst others since. He's also lost some quality thinkers in the box and here we are.

Yes. No way he survives if this keeps up. We all saw the elephant in the room when he came on and started to get close to the players as time went by, we were hopeful it wouldn't develop into not being able to make hard calls but alas, it has. He is fastly approaching choco level without the premiership.

hard to argue against you're case , too much "you boys in 2014 were amazing for me i'll stick by you , just trust you're selves and we will get out of this " . Our ability to execute team footy and hitting targets for barley a quarter a game just won't cut it because fans have taken there 'YES WE KEN' t-shirts off

Whatever we are getting wrong, we're getting it wrong at SANFL level too. The magpies are ******* awful.
currently we have 10 out from our list, its been worse than that the last few weeks. the maggies are always going to struggle with the current set up and that many out. having said that our game plan is fking abysmal at all levels.

Changes v West Coast