Changes vs Adelaide - R22 2013

• Thread starter Thread starter RandB

I'm in the minority that would rather keep Sellar over Davis. At least Sellar has shown something at AFL level. That may be harsh on Davis as he's only played two games, but at the end of the day he's been around for 3 years and only just cracked it for token late season games - and even those have been as a KPF, a position to which he is not even remotely suited.

I know he has been behind 3 very good tall defenders in that time, but it's fair to say there have been chances for him with Frawley injured a fair bit and McDonald and Garland also missing games at times. There have also been plenty of games where another tall has played - but not Davis. If he can't get games in his preferred position ahead of the likes of Gillies and Pedersen, is he ever going to be any good?

I just don't see a future for him, and would rather keep a known quantity in Sellar as KPD cover but also KPF at a large stretch.

The only reason I see for keeping Davis would be if they think Frawley might crack the shits and walk out at the end of next year.

Also, I'm sorry but this...

he's shown he can compete up forward.

... is just a terrible reason to keep someone on a list. The bloke can't get a game playing his best position, and the best he offers in a secondary position is being 'competitive' (which I'm not even sure is the case here)... Maybe I've been spooked but that smacks of Mark Neeld.

We can't get rid of all our back up key defenders

I think it's safe to say Gillies is gone. I would keep Sellar on the senior list, delist Davis but take him back in the Rookie draft (no one else will pick him up)

Frawley, Garland, McDonald are best 22, Sellar and Pederson as backup and Davis on the rookie list. Hogan can also go back as well.

G'day Folks, I put this to you all. Take two key forwards and one key back from all sides and see how they go or one key forward and two key backs. We will be okay, dogs have 6 decent mids we have 1 at the moment with a pup on the way.

We seriously lack big bodies where it counts right now but have a nucleus of players to build a very good team around.
Hawthorn without Buddy and Rioli and Gibson are still deadly.

Also, I'm sorry but this...

... is just a terrible reason to keep someone on a list. The bloke can't get a game playing his best position, and the best he offers in a secondary position is being 'competitive' (which I'm not even sure is the case here)... Maybe I've been spooked but that smacks of Mark Neeld.

Completely missed the point.

He was actually playing good, consistent footy as a defender for Casey (has for a long time), they (and we) had some injuries to key forwards so he was swung forward.

Then gets thrown in the AFL team as a forward, for whatever reasons.

Personally, I reckon being able to compete physically as a forward is a solid effort considering the build up he's had - don't get me wrong, he's been shit up forward and for whatever reason he keeps trying to spoil the ball up there o_O - I definitely don't consider him a forward, even as his second position.

I'm just saying, the guy isn't even a half decent VFL forward - so he deserves some credit for having a crack at AFL level in a position he's got no idea about.

I think we've been watching different games here TPM..

I meant compete as in he's physically strong enough to match it with AFL key position players, and can bring the ball to ground.

Does he look remotely like having an impact as a forward? No way.

It's like chucking Usman Khawaja the new ball and then being surprised when he doesn't take five - what were you lot expecting from the lad?

Hey Watts we've tried you up forward lately and you started showing a bit so back to defence for you, hey Davis you're skill set says you're a defender only and have played there in the VFL for the best part of 4 years so onto an AFL forward line you shall go. That's just f*** crazy no matter how you want to dress it up.

We want a priority pick

How about last year? Need someone to cover Mitch Clark, maybe we could send Jack Watts down there? Nah........we'll just put our 2nd and 3rd best tall defenders in the forward line!

I hate Mark Neeld.

B: Dunn Frawley Terlich
HB: M Jones McDonald Garland
C: McKenzie Trengove Tapscott
HF: Viney Watts Sylvia
F: Kent Dawes Pedersen
FOLL: Spencer Grimes N Jones
I/C: Howe Davey Toumpas Rodan
EMG: Gawn Jetta Bail

IN: Rodan Frawley Dawes Pedersen Toumpas
OUT: Byrnes (foot) Strauss (shoulder) Blease (ankle) Fitzpatrick (concussion) Davis

Out go 2 talls.. lets bring 3 in!

We are going to continue to get run off the park until we lose this obsession with talls/players who cant last in the midfield (granted we have a week list of mids but that's not the point here).

Still no Magner... Watch him get 60 touches and kick 6 this week in the VFL

This week he'll be playing an actual VFL standard club though... so that's unlikely.

I'm hoping some of our scouts may get to the Casey game. Box Hill have a few decent players that could be worth a crack with a late pick/rookie.

I believe Magner is one of our scouts, hence the VFL tour.

B: Dunn Frawley Terlich
HB: M Jones McDonald Garland
C: McKenzie Trengove Tapscott
HF: Viney Watts Sylvia
F: Kent Dawes Pedersen
FOLL: Spencer Grimes N Jones
I/C: Howe Davey Toumpas Rodan
EMG: Gawn Jetta Bail

IN: Rodan Frawley Dawes Pedersen Toumpas
OUT: Byrnes (foot) Strauss (shoulder) Blease (ankle) Fitzpatrick (concussion) Davis

Out go 2 talls.. lets bring 3 in!

We are going to continue to get run off the park until we lose this obsession with talls/players who cant last in the midfield (granted we have a week list of mids but that's not the point here).

I was in disbelief when I read this , we are the only side in the afl who loses in the middle so decides to bring in more tall players

It's crazy - particularly when you consider the players we are selecting that aren't talls, but can't run through the middle as a genuine midfielder;

Dunn
Terlich
Garland
Tapscott
Kent
Howe
Davey
Rodan

It's crazy - particularly when you consider the players we are selecting that aren't talls, but can't run through the middle as a genuine midfielder;

Dunn
Terlich
Garland
Tapscott
Kent
Howe
Davey
Rodan

In particular Howe, kent , Nicholson, Davey, tapscott, mckenzie etc who probably haven't cracked 20 disposals once this season , maybe Howe