Changes vs. Blues

• Thread starter Thread starter Canary

Except Macdonald is already in the side D16...(didn't do a great deal on the weekend to be fair to you).

Davey out now as well with a knee so I revise my original prediction to:

In: Bennell, Blease
Out: Davey, Tapscott

In:Strauss, Bennell

With Bartram playing predominantly as a midfielder we need to bring in a small defender. Especially against the carlton smalls that why strauss plays. He was playing very good casey footy earlier before getting injured at training and deserves his spot. Blease is also not ready for afl footy doesnt know how to defend and losses his man to easy. Bennell comes in to the midfield to add run.

Except Macdonald is already in the side D16...(didn't do a great deal on the weekend to be fair to you).

Since when?

If we say we've given a player a rest because of an injury (one they'd play with on good form) to save the disgrace of being dropped, I'll lose my shit. Not that we'll ever know, but this irritates me to no end.

It's bullshit, it just makes the club look like a joke, everyone else in the footy world will think it's a cop out. Just drop him & if he is genuinely injured then don't play him at Casey

Chris Connelly says Davey may be out with knee soreness. Article on AFL website.

Davey was getting treatment on a knee during the game. Who cares what the rest of the footy world thinks. If he's dropped he'll know and that's the most important thing.

OUT: Tapscott (Hamstring), Davey (Knee), Bate (Legs)
IN: Strauss, Blease, Bennell

FB: Bartram Warnock Frawley
HB: Blease Rivers Macdonald
C: Jones Moloney Evans
HF: Bennell Watts Jetta
FF: Maric Jurrah Petterd
Foll: Martin McKenzie Sylvia
Int: Gysberts, Green, Newton
Sub: Strauss

Scully be the secret weapon to be unleashed on Friday Night. Connelly is just trying to veer the Blues in the other direction, so they never see it coming! ;) LOL!

LOL Was that a "They know we're coming" pun?

Please explain.

Allowing a player to get away with being a soft **** is a great idea is it?
It not as if this is the first time he has been soft, he just took it to a whole new level on the weekend.

If I was Moloney I'd be pissed off at the double standards of this club.
Moloney celebrates a win for too long and gets immediately sacked from the leadership group while Davey breaks every rule in the book on the field against the Saints and gets a pat on the back, told better luck next time and possibly keeps his spot on the team. That is plain wrong!

We are a club more worried about our media image than our field image and if that's not going in the wrong direction I don't know what is.

I think Davey will end up like Yze playing his last 2 seasons in the VFL because we were too soft on him for far too long.

Yeah but you're not Moloney so can it.

This might be a massive assumption to make, and I'll happily stand corrected, but don't try and tell me a footballer's harshest critic is anyone but themselves. Aaron is playing like balls and he'll be the first to admit it. And you're kidding yourself if you think he's being rewarded for his mediocre performances with selection week in, week out.

I don't believe in this pseudo-macho scapegoat, making examples of players crap. It reeks of desperation and disunity, particularly from a club that hasn't known the meaning of solidarity in my lifetime. There's something wrong with this football club and Aaron Davey in isolation is not responsible.

If the most significant person of this football club is heading our football department I wholeheartedly doubt he'd let the wheels come off the wagon. I only ask for patience for all the players because we're not there yet. We got some wins last year, big deal. Don't expect anything.

If the club itself is patient, and in all probability, hurt more than us, then why the hell should we be up in arms? There's something to be said in having faith and trusting your club as opposed to encouraging it to swing the axe just because the Herald Sun and Footy Classified are sinking the boot in. Stand together and put the axe away

Doh! In that case I actually agree with you BC - bring in Bennell for Tappy and if Davey misses, Blease gets his shot!

Seconded. I hope they go with these changes. If anything they need to bring in even more leg speed because we were top heavy against the Saints and the Blues have got some jets. Would like to see MacDonald tag Gibbs and maybe Bennell play on Yarran. The Yarran match-up worries me, he could carve us up.

This might be a massive assumption to make, and I'll happily stand corrected, but don't try and tell me a footballer's harshest critic is anyone but themselves. Aaron is playing like balls and he'll be the first to admit it. And you're kidding yourself if you think he's being rewarded for his mediocre performances with selection week in, week out.

I don't believe in this pseudo-macho scapegoat, making examples of players crap. It reeks of desperation and disunity, particularly from a club that hasn't known the meaning of solidarity in my lifetime. There's something wrong with this football club and Aaron Davey in isolation is not responsible.

If the most significant person of this football club is heading our football department I wholeheartedly doubt he'd let the wheels come off the wagon. I only ask for patience for all the players because we're not there yet. We got some wins last year, big deal. Don't expect anything.

If the club itself is patient, and in all probability, hurt more than us, then why the hell should we be up in arms? There's something to be said in having faith and trusting your club as opposed to encouraging it to swing the axe just because the Herald Sun and Footy Classified are sinking the boot in. Stand together and put the axe away

Pretty sensible post.

This is a good post. But, dropping Davey would not be making an 'example' just for the sake of it. He's out of form. No harm in sending him to Casey to try and get his hands on the pill and find some sort of form. He's important to this team, but only when in form and giving 100% for the team. He hasn't been doing that. He's played maybe 2 half decent games out of 8? Not good enough from a senior player and a leader of this club.

I'm all for sending him to Casey for a week or two, not to send a message to the playing group, but because it's important for Aaron to get some confidence and to give someone who deserves a spot in the team a chance. Davey is a liability when tagged right now. We may as well sub him as soon as a tagger goes to him at the start of a match. He's not mentally tough enough to fight the tag. Christ, Luke Hodge finds it hard to beat a tag, but he still finds a way to have an impact on a match. Davey gives up too easy and does stupid things at the detrement of the side.

Ultimately Davey is better than what he's putting up right now. Shit, he's a better footballer than Clint Jones!!! He needs to beleive that and not give up like he did against Jones on the weekend! Was sad watching a good player like him just give up. It would be a shame if our highest paid player saw out his days in the forward pocket. We need him up the ground setting up play. His footskills are among the elite in the comp. So go back to Casey and find some form and come back to the seniors when you're ready to give everything for this club Aaron! Until then, we are better off giving a kid his chance...

Interesting to note that Bailey stated 'we need 2 or 3 good kickers' coming out of defence...

With Tapscott out I assume that Strauss will come in, and if Davey is out it's safe to assume one of Nicholson or Blease will make their way into the team

Interesting to note that Bailey stated 'we need 2 or 3 good kickers' coming out of defence...

With Tapscott out I assume that Strauss will come in, and if Davey is out it's safe to assume one of Nicholson or Blease will make their way into the team

well on that basis it definitely wont be nicholson given he butchers it abit.. blease is a big chance though i rekon

This is a good post. But, dropping Davey would not be making an 'example' just for the sake of it. He's out of form. No harm in sending him to Casey to try and get his hands on the pill and find some sort of form. He's important to this team, but only when in form and giving 100% for the team. He hasn't been doing that. He's played maybe 2 half decent games out of 8? Not good enough from a senior player and a leader of this club.

I'm all for sending him to Casey for a week or two, not to send a message to the playing group, but because it's important for Aaron to get some confidence and to give someone who deserves a spot in the team a chance. Davey is a liability when tagged right now. We may as well sub him as soon as a tagger goes to him at the start of a match. He's not mentally tough enough to fight the tag. Christ, Luke Hodge finds it hard to beat a tag, but he still finds a way to have an impact on a match. Davey gives up too easy and does stupid things at the detrement of the side.

Ultimately Davey is better than what he's putting up right now. Shit, he's a better footballer than Clint Jones!!! He needs to beleive that and not give up like he did against Jones on the weekend! Was sad watching a good player like him just give up. It would be a shame if our highest paid player saw out his days in the forward pocket. We need him up the ground setting up play. His footskills are among the elite in the comp. So go back to Casey and find some form and come back to the seniors when you're ready to give everything for this club Aaron! Until then, we are better off giving a kid his chance...

I completely understand what you're saying. But I'm just so sick of hearing supports adopt a 'heads will roll' attitude that doesn't seem beneficial at all.

What worries me, in all sincerity, is how much importance supporters of this club place in how the wider football community views us. I'd suggest there is something seriously wrong with the mentality of supporters who would hope to gain the admiration and popularity of the opposition and media alike. Essentially what I'm trying to say is, as a club we shouldn't care less what everyone else thinks about our club and should only look to appease ourselves. We shouldn't call for Bailey's head and start swinging the axe at the selection table because the AFL board on BigFooty is taking the piss out of us, or if the Sun or Jon Ralph reckons the club is on its last legs. We're better than that. And I think this mentality has thrown Davey into the spotlight and thus people are looking for a scapegoat, an omission that 'proves' to the football world that we're legitimate. Spare me. I'm not necessarily suggesting you believe that CD, I mean that's obvious in your post, but I think a lot of people believe we need to prove something to those who are irrelevant in the bigger scheme of things.

Of course effort and commitment doesn't require talent. Even the most terrible footballers can at least try and yes Davey has been at fault in this department. But he is valuable to this team, and at a time like this we don't need him to sharpen his trade at the VFL, we need him to step up where it counts. Giving somebody a run in the 2's isn't the solution to every footballing problem. Davey in all probability knows he's playing horribly at the highest level and he knows the scrutiny is well and truly on him. I believe if that's the case, there's no harsher punishment than putting the obligation on him to perform as a leader and to take the heat because nothing will hurt him more than knowing his team is playing horribly and he could be doing more to help the situation. I believe more damage will be caused if he gets sent to the 2's, for his own confidence and the rest of the teams

Sorry to intrude boys, but I'm always interested in how clubs perceive their relative strength is going into the next game.

Anyone care to list me those injured and therefore missing from the 22 in rough order of importance.

PS : As for the Davey dilemma, IMO, he single handedly tried to give the game away for you last time we played. With that said I'm not sure whether he needs a spell in the VFL to get his head screwed back on or whether he'll come out red-hot in an effort to make up for his efforts last week and last time he played against Carlton.

Sorry to intrude boys, but I'm always interested in how clubs perceive their relative strength is going into the next game.

Anyone care to list me those injured and therefore missing from the 22 in rough order of importance.

PS : As for the Davey dilemma, IMO, he single handedly tried to give the game away for you last time we played. With that said I'm not sure whether he needs a spell in the VFL to get his head screwed back on or whether he'll come out red-hot in an effort to make up for his efforts last week and last time he played against Carlton.

M.Jamar
C.Garland
J.Grimes
T.Scully
J.Trengove (susp)
R.Bail
L.Tapscott

Im sure other people have a different order though

And yeah i think Davey should play, after the critism he has copped this week he could come out and play a blinder.

^ Thanks mate...

If your lot are interested, I'd have;

Kreuzer (R - Hampson out)
Bower (HBF - Thornton out)
Warnock (INT)
Henderson (CHF - O'hAilpin out)
Curnow (RR - McLean out)
Houlihan (INT - Ellard out)
Lucas (SUB - Armfield out)

Austin and White also injured.
Then others out of form (even by VFL standards :p) in Watson, Davies, Hampson and Joseph.

Henderson may come in depending on his fitness following his oppo.

I wouldn't, Green beat him last time. He should do the role on him again.
Green gave him the biggest touch up that he got all last year but he hasn't really played as an attacking half back at all this season, reckon he's due for a bit more midfield time this week with Judd probably still a bit sore.

Sorry, great few posts, but that bold bit isn't true. Only last week he had a chance to say it & didn't right here & key Points below. He at least said it's not the start he'd like to have had, but if he was being honest he should just flat out said yeah I'm down & I've been beaten most weeks & I need to step up. Following this statement he got mauled by Jones on Friday.

The Demons' inconsistency has also put the spotlight on team leaders such as Davey and captain Brad Green.

Opposition teams are clearly putting more work into Davey, one of the game's most skilful players.

"I guess you take these things as compliments - it's not a start I'd like to have had,'' he said.

"In saying that, I've still been able to play my bit for the team.

I agree with what you said about too much importance on external perception & I guess some of that was aimed at my post, which was written while I was angry at first hearing that Davey was out because of injury not form.

But at the same time, I wouldn't be totally surprise if this was the internal image to, which is the real concern I have & where my real frustration comes from. There's a chance Davey hasn't actually been told he's getting dropped, just that yeah he's a little down on form & that on the advice of the medical department he could use a rest. If he's straight back in the side without having a game at Casey this is where my money is at.

Players need hard truths sometimes & I think Davey needs a few now. If he's out for a week while he's injured & then straight back in without earning his spot back, like any player in his form should have to do, then it gives a message to the rest of the group that he's above them & what should be team rules. Bad form is bad form, no one should be above being dropped & all players should be treated the same in this perspective.

Perception is often a lot closer to reality than people think

Just read on Facebook via the heraldsun news feed that Dan Nicholson is gonna debut this weekend. I'd say it's a straight swap for Tapscott but we will find out more at 5pm

Yep Nicholson debut is the word from superfooty.com

I would assume that means Strauss will come in to give us another small defender matchup?

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/injured-davey-out-for-two/story-e6frf9io-1226063330169

Davey officially out INJURED for a couple of weeks. WOW we had such a good start to the season injury wise and its all gone downhill so quickly.

But that means Dan Nicho gets a go which I'm pretty excited about. The one thing I remember about the pre-season game against Brisbane was his blistering run from the midfield to the goals, he missed though. But damn that was exciting.