Changes vs Brisbane

Erm? Why are you dropping Monfries? He had a good game friday night and i do think Welsh will be ready for Saturday afternoon

Love the kids heart and hardness but I think he may need a full run on the ball in the VFL to get some confidence back. Pre-season he looked like he could be anything for us this year - one of the most improved. Like the rest of the younger group, has got way ahead of himself.......

Sometimes I think Sheeds needs to give a real good old fashion spray!!! Positivity is important but sometimes I wonder why they're all wrapped up in cotton wool and sprinkled with 100's and 1000's!!!

Changes have to be made. Young players have to be tried out and gain some experience.When the team is losing games and getting beaten to the ball like we are atm,its time to drop anyone who displays dismal form. Some of our older MFs are looking slow and are tackling less. Some younger players are not desperate enough....we need grunt and pace.

Players like Monfries can only benefit from a spell in the 2nds. It won't destroy him,many have done the same thing. If its good enough for Simon Madden,dropped as captain and demoted,its good enough for young Angus.

But...i wouldn't drop him this week:)

Lloydy in of course,Sam.L as well.

Out goes Cole (Welsh if he's injured) and C.Johns.

Lloydy definitely back this week? He officially cost me in the dreamteam comp last week. :(
Dreamteam is rigged! im sitting 42nd overall and i have only won 2 out of 4 league matches. Ripped off!

Do you guys think that we should try to play Houli as a leading forward, or just let him get clearences from the middle?

We as a team get burnt when he goes into the ruck, not because he's a bad ruckman (he's actually pretty good) but because he's so good for us down back that when he leaves to go ruck we miss him so much.

He seems to get his hand to the ball in many ruck contests. I don't think that I could say that about Hille or Laycock.

i dont think johns should be dropped.
he needs to be played in the goal square and how is he going to get better if he keeps getting dropped. They just need to try different things with him and im confident he could be a grouse player.
:thumbsu: anyone agree he shouldnt be dropped?

He'll play.

IN - Lloyd, Lonergan
OUT - Johns, Monfries
Your on drugs longy monfries dropped what have u been watching.
The kid is one of our hardest players and has a crack not like some of the weak pricks we have in our side. And considering hes one of the smallest too makes it even more impressive.

Theres a handful of players i would give the arse b4 him.

Must b some heavy s h i t ur on bud, u got any lying around.

Your on drugs longy monfries dropped what have u been watching.
The kid is one of our hardest players and has a crack not like some of the weak pricks we have in our side. And considering hes one of the smallest too makes it even more impressive.

Theres a handful of players i would give the arse b4 him.

Must b some heavy s h i t ur on bud, u got any lying around.

I've been watching the Angus Monfries that keeps leading into a teammates space and refuses to pick up his opponent.

Why is it we defend kids just because they are kids?

He was much better on Friday night, but he doesn't automatically get a game just because he's young, especially when we have blokes at Bendigo demanding a game.

I had to listen to the live game on the radio,then watched the 'replay' at 8.30 on tv. Gotta say,we sounded like sh-t on the wireless. The way the commentators were calling it,you would have thought we were in Richmond's class.

I was horrified at the comments they made during the game regarding players like Watson,McPee,Mal and even Hird. But watching it later I was pleased to see that we didn't play that bad after all.

Surprisingly though,they named Cole as one of the best 6 for us..???

Shannon Grant's 3 goals were excellent and came at crucial times in the match. Goals only a true classy vet would kick.

We stuffed around and looked up the ground for leads that didn't happen.

Some shocking skills displayed at times..but..., we are not playing that bad. Just about everyone is putting in and going pretty much flat out. We just make stupid mistakes sometimes and missed some easy set shots. There's culprits galore who missed kicked,failed to bring someone down in a tackle or missed a mark...even Hird himself had some shockers(but he did have a good game imo)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
I just believe that Monfries needs a game or two in the 2nds to find his touch and confidence. A guy like him can go play at Bendigo and get 35 touches and dob a few goals and find that form that he should be playing at in the
seniors.

Lets see what Lonegan can do..again.
He's the last one left really that we havn't seen yet in 07'. It sounds like Hislop,Riemers,Gumby and a few others are still yet to show that rich form needed for senior selection.
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Heaps of people here have an obssesion with the big stick..Johns.

So they won't like hearing that this guy needs to be dropped....before he costs us a game.

Three marks wasn't it? He's got no idea if you ask me. I really am lost for words with this player. There's only limited spots he can play in and he does nothing in all of them.

I'm almost tempted to bring KB back in....:eek:

Look I will be dead honest, being in Sydney and playing footy on Saturdays mean that well how do I put it right..I just don't keep up with the VFL to much. But can someone tell me when Gumbleton is LIKELY to play for us this year becuase he is the one guy I have been waiting to see.

Monfries i'll disagree with you mate. I recon now is the time to bite the bullet and say to him..mate you are a midfielder..play in the midfield. He'll only be a solid/above solid forward flanker. He is a much better midfielder.

Look I will be dead honest, being in Sydney and playing footy on Saturdays mean that well how do I put it right..I just don't keep up with the VFL to much. But can someone tell me when Gumbleton is LIKELY to play for us this year becuase he is the one guy I have been waiting to see.

He's still both young and skinny for his position. He's injured at the moment but might play later in the season if we're out of the finals race or we get an injury to Lloyd or Lucas if he's form warrants it, Jay Neagle is an axciting prospect also.

I haven't seen Ryder get exposed in the ruck yet.

He may not of this year as he's only rucked against guys like Bryan, a burntout Fraser, Campbell and taylor, none of whom have ever set the world alight. Lat year when he was used as a ruck he was often dominated by the classier big men.

That was in his first season remember, he's bulked up a bit, so he'd be able to handle them alot better than he did last year.

Why do people keep on insisting that Lovett-Murray should come straight back into the team? Obviously you guys (the people who keep naming NLM) don't read the injury report or the Bendigo match reports. I don't like taking shots at players or at other people on this forum as there's too much of that going but it's frustrating the hell out of me.

NLM has only played 1 game this season and that was Round 1. He's had a groin injury and which I'm sure he's aggrevated at least once since he first injured it.

We all talk about form and which in-form player should come into the side. NLM isn't one of them, why do people think he is? What evidence is there? How is it that he's in the top 5 or 6 players at the club that don't need to gain match fitness and true form in order to play in the seniors?

Changes vs Brisbane