Changes Vs Brisbane

Nah good to have you around criticize, no worries at all mate.

Agree with alot of your points in regard to the midfield. You forgot Redden though who is in ripper form. Would be good for Jacko to have gone with him and got under his skin a bit being a young kid. Overall our mids are our strength and I think we can win h2h.

I'd be bringing Batch in for Jackson. Edwards wasn't as poor as he was against the Pies so perhaps he can stick around for another week. Nason is just so far off the mark strength wise - but Morton was apparantly rubbish in the 2's. Would be good to have a couple of young mids pushing hard but it doesn't seem that way just yet.

If we choose to bring Post in for Vick I don't see much wrong with that either.

Wouldn't expect much change apart from that though.

time angus went bac to coburg to work on is game and to let him know he hasnt got the monopoly on first ruck brown has been in career best form also post has to come in for miller even though miller has done his job . this is a development year for rfc

Nah good to have you around criticize, no worries at all mate.

Agree with alot of your points in regard to the midfield. You forgot Redden though who is in ripper form. Would be good for Jacko to have gone with him and got under his skin a bit being a young kid. Overall our mids are our strength and I think we can win h2h.

I'd be bringing Batch in for Jackson. Edwards wasn't as poor as he was against the Pies so perhaps he can stick around for another week. Nason is just so far off the mark strength wise - but Morton was apparantly rubbish in the 2's. Would be good to have a couple of young mids pushing hard but it doesn't seem that way just yet.

If we choose to bring Post in for Vick I don't see much wrong with that either.

Wouldn't expect much change apart from that though.

Webberley's had a good couple of games so far at Coburg, the one of few players down at Coburg who gets his own footy. Should bring him in for Nason as a sub to see how he goes.

Post for Vickery wouldn't be a bad idea but this week's game is a kind of a must win but oh well we already have Miller to help out Riewoldt out in a contested situation, wouldn't mind trying Post out since he's in some good form but he wasn't in the top players in Sunday's game. Maybe it's time for Astbury (who was in the top 5 or 6 players) to come out of the backline now??? He had a good debut game with 3 goals.
If Post were to come in I don't want him to be a showoff and try to take a speccy everytime the bloody ball comes at it. And I don't want him to drop more than 2 marks, as people have said he is a good mark. Will also need him to help out Gus in the ruck.

Tuck to start. Crazy in the 4th quarter. If he wasn't the sub he would've had 40+ possessions.

THINGS WE MUST WIN IN THIS WEEKS GAME:
• CONTESTED BALL (Priority)
• CLEARANCES (Good last week but we need to keep our composure and not just bomb it long into the forward 50 if we are to improve. When we were playing the Hawks they were'nt just bombing it and when WE bombed it long they could easily clear it out of their defense)

What's with everyone saying that Connors should come in? Was dropped for obvious reasons and by all accounts from the reports of the Coburg game, he didn't do enough to warrant a recall and was pretty lazy most of the game.

He wasn't dropped, he got injured. And he played one quarter at Coburg before coming off with an injury again.

Something that I've really liked about this coaching regime is that the selection panel does not play the yo-yo too often, if at all. When a player comes in, they are given a decent chance, be it three or four games. Regardless of what mine or other people's opinions are of individual players, I much prefer this to be the case, than several changes each week, with players not knowing if they're coming or going... especially in a development phase as we are.

Jackson is a forced out, so I'd like to see Batchelor come back in for him if he's over his injury. Otherwise, I'd probably give Morton another go, depending on form at Coburg.

We're gonna need to be on the ball this week, FAR from a foregone conclusion. Brisbane scared Melbourne early down here, before losing a close one, and then pushed the Saints last week, albeit up there.

Out: Jackson
In: Batchelor/Morton

Unfortunately, Nason doesn't look to have improved one iota on his basic failings as an AFL standard player doing his role - up and under floater kicks which hang forever and have zero penetration (can't afford that when he'll primarily be kicking to contests forward of centre), not strong enough through the core to hold tackles or ride them (can't afford that when he's a link-up flanker), doesn't run to the right places to get enough ball and support his teammates (can't afford that when he doesn't have a lot of scoreboard/play making impact or influence the contests he does get to).

He's very much like Raines was to my eye, decent, honest kid, but just very clearly doesn't have the tools and very clearly won't ever develop them. Good VFL player - or trade to Vossy. ;)

McGuane was horrible all things considered. On his day he's a decent stopper who can go head to head with a player like Franklin and come out ahead, but 10-15 games every year he's really average or worse, which is becoming increasingly unacceptable for a player of his experience. I'd play Astbury or Gourdis ahead of him this week and give one of them a run on Mitch Clark.

Miller's done alright, hasn't been a liability, but rather see Post given a crack. I'd play Morton ahead of Edwards, similar return with Morton a more dangerous forward.

So far Brisbane have dragged everyone down to their level and made the game a scrapfest, if we aren't 100% switched on with our defensive stuff they're quite capable of beating us and will be pumped up to do so.

OUT: Jackson, Nason, Miller, McGuane, Edwards
IN: Webberley, Post, Gourdis/Astbury, Morton, Batchelor (if fit) - Dea/Contin perhaps if not.

I'm only into the 'don't change a winning formula' method of selection if we play well, I thought we were very ordinary on the weekend and another couple could easily be switched in or out.

Unfortunately, Nason doesn't look to have improved one iota on his basic failings as an AFL standard player doing his role - up and under floater kicks which hang forever and have zero penetration (can't afford that when he'll primarily be kicking to contests forward of centre), not strong enough through the core to hold tackles or ride them (can't afford that when he's a link-up flanker), doesn't run to the right places to get enough ball and support his teammates (can't afford that when he doesn't have a lot of scoreboard/play making impact or influence the contests he does get to).

IN: Webberley, Post, Gourdis/Astbury, Morton, Batchelor (if fit) - Dea/Contin perhaps if not.

I'm only into the 'don't change a winning formula' method of selection if we play well, I thought we were very ordinary on the weekend and another couple could easily be switched in or out.

I think I saw Nason fall to ground just by being nudged about 3 or 4 times.

On the note about Contin coming in, he is overrated and he's been rubbish.

I think I saw Nason fall to ground just by being nudged about 3 or 4 times.

Yeah df, he really needed to improve his core strength over the summer and I don't see much evidence of that having happened. You've got to be really good at something to get away with the body Nason currently has and seems like he'll always have.

On the note about Contin coming in, he is overrated and he's been rubbish.

Fair enough, I don't keep much of an eye on the VFL, I'd like to bring in someone who can win enough contests to hold their own.

Nason had surgery over the preseason and so wasn't able to build on his core strength. Unfair to criticize him for this. I'm not sure why he is playing if he is so underdone. I'd love to see the Goo in the team instead. Gives us that extra big body and he is quicker than Nason as well. Can be played down back or up forward. Obviously hasn't done the hard yards for Dimma...

----So far Brisbane have dragged everyone down to their level and made the game a scrapfest, ----.

that used to be our gameplan!

but weve got a new game plan now, which involves winning (well I hope so)
a bit hollow if we get up sans JBrown, but ought be a good test for where we are at to see if we can stick to plan under pressure and run out a whole match.

Also Jack will have to deal with that enormous Ranga (who I wouldnt mind on our list, if for nothing but to put him on JBrown when we do play him!)

interesting to see Rainsey picking up a bit of appreciation after their latest loss from looking at their board, guess he will be primed for a big one v old Tigers.

they won, they'll get a bit of confidence from this and hopefully a bit of momentum up. we should only make the forced change.

In: Batchelor
Out: Jackson

Tucky in the starting 21, nahas or nason to sub

He's very much like Raines was to my eye, decent, honest kid, but just very clearly doesn't have the tools and very clearly won't ever develop them. Good VFL player - or trade to Vossy. ;)

McGuane was horrible all things considered. On his day he's a decent stopper who can go head to head with a player like Franklin and come out ahead, but 10-15 games every year he's really average or worse, which is becoming increasingly unacceptable for a player of his experience. I'd play Astbury or Gourdis ahead of him this week and give one of them a run on Mitch Clark.

Miller's done alright, hasn't been a liability, but rather see Post given a crack. I'd play Morton ahead of Edwards, similar return with Morton a more dangerous forward.

So far Brisbane have dragged everyone down to their level and made the game a scrapfest, if we aren't 100% switched on with our defensive stuff they're quite capable of beating us and will be pumped up to do so.

A bit harsh on Nason after 1 game back.

Bloody hell.

Reading the report from the club and fans about the Coburg game I doubt we'll be seeing Gourdis and Morton as neither really had much impact. Also Dea has a shin injury so is out for another 2 weeks and Contin needs to be upgraded to the senior list before he can play. Also not sure Astbury did enough to warrant a recall after 1 week either. So while some of our players were ordinary at AFL level I don't think those below were much better and deserving of a call up.

If we're going to give Post a crack I'd be bringing him in for Vickery rather than Miller, as you said Miller has done alright and is contributing, same can't be said for Vickery and I think that him being subbed off was Hardwick suggesting the same thing.

That only leaves someone to come in for Jackson and I'd go Batchelor if fit but with a foot injury I'm not sure he will be, so I give Webberley a shot seeing as he is about the only one left who has been showing some good form.

Out: Jackson, Vickery, Nason
In: Batchelor, Post, Morton

I agree with the above inclusions & i believe we really need to get games into post & bring him along.

Jayden post is an integral part of our future along with Griffiths and astbury, Idealy we want jayden to become our j.waite utility type player that can play chf,chb & pich hit in the ruck.

Fast track the kid asap.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/footy-barometer-round-6/story-e6frf9jf-1226041482103

RICHMOND

INJURED: Tom Hislop (available), Kelvin Moore (test), Ben Griffiths (1-2 weeks), Daniel Connors (test), Ben Jakobi (2-3 weeks), Jamie O'Reilly (2-3 weeks), Jake Batchelor (indefinite)

SUSPENDED: Luke McGuane, Alex Rance, Daniel Jackson

ON THE BLOCK: Tyrone Vickery, Angus Graham

ON THE CUSP: Jeromey Webberley, Andrew Browne

ANDO’S FORECAST: Coach Hardwick says it’s all about development so expect to see Browne get a crack soon.

Lets hope Tommy Hislop has improved vastly since the last time he played. Good to see Moore is going good, probably a week down at Coburg. Also Griffiths is going good. Batchelor??? Indefinite????

Why is Luke Mcguane and Rance there???

Nason had surgery over the preseason and so wasn't able to build on his core strength. Unfair to criticize him for this. I'm not sure why he is playing if he is so underdone.

Didn't realise he had surgery which affected his pre-season to that extent YBB. Tough situation for him, about to turn 22 so he couldn't afford to miss a pre-season at his age and topping the scales at 73kg.

A bit harsh on Nason after 1 game back.

He's not a teenager and he's into his 2nd season, IMO we've had a good look at what he can and can't do.

interesting to see Rainsey picking up a bit of appreciation after their latest loss from looking at their board, guess he will be primed for a big one v old Tigers.

Poor buggers, Raines is not their worst, could get a game at Port too.

Very sad to see a kid with that kind of pedigree still not be able to kick a football properly.

f*ck i'm smart :D

Not the only one ;)

Ludicrous if match committee makes any other change other than Jackson if suspended. The team is coming together, playing good footy, so why reward them with dropping players because NO ONE is in that bad of form.

If Jacko is out, Batchelor in.

In Batchelor
Out Jackson

The team won the game, dont need wholesale changes to a winning combo.
Dont understand the knocks on Nason and Titch either, IMO they were quite serviceable. In fact the inclusion of Nason coincided with Nahas getting the pill, since Nase was harrassing anything and everything in and around our F50.;)

Changes Vs Brisbane