Changes vs Carlton

• Thread starter Thread starter haydo

Even after that win, Lyons needs to come in. Those performances warrant reward. Lyons for Wright IMO, nothing against Wright but someone needs to come in and we need to continue playing the kids so Crouch stays.

Love the fact the guys over on the Carlton board think they're going to flog us next week. And that we're a shit and vanilla team.

It wasn't long ago they had lost to Melbourne and were heading to the slaughter house.

Bickely said last week the only reason Lyons isn't getting a game was due to a few other in and under players who were up the chain.

But the style of player that Jarryd is, being an in-and-under clearance type player, it’s similar to Scott Thompson, Matt Crouch and Matt Wright.

IMO it's Lyons in, Crouch out, Wright sub.

Reasoning:
- Lyons stats should force him into the side (in and under style player will fall out)
- I don't think Wright did anything wrong, he just didn't star. In fact I think Sando was struggling to decide who to sub off because they were all playing so well.
- Can't play Crouch as the sub two weeks in a row.

Love the fact the guys over on the Carlton board think they're going to flog us next week. And that we're a shit and vanilla team.

It wasn't long ago they had lost to Melbourne and were heading to the slaughter house.

One poster went as far as saying any team with Charlie Cameron in it isn't a serious threat

I hope we don't treat this win as we treated the Kangaroos win last year; a sign that we're back baby and it will all be ok from here - unchanged all the way! We did lose to Melbourne at home, being 7 goals to 1 down at one stage. That was just one game ago. We are quite capable of losing to Carlton and Gold Coast.

A big part of the reason we won was because we got some good players back in (Walker, Douglas), made some hard calls on experienced players (Petrenko, Reilly) and were adventurous rather than cautious with youth (Cameron). We need to keep making these types of selection calls.

Ok.. i'm going with two changes.

In: Petrenko, Rielly
Out: Cameron, Tex

Rielly to play as the CHF, reckon he has the ability and we'd be set for another glorious 100 games. Petrenko is the future of the club, everything we desire in a player and deserves every chance possible!

Tex is too scary, has too much mongrel, needs to go back to the SANFL to work on that and Cameron has too much enthusiasm

Neil, you work for Essendon now. You shouldn't be posting on the Adelaide board anymore.

Err, them... Or us?

Thursday was brilliant, but let's not get carried away.

We have the talent, it's the structure and pysche that could kill us.

I hope we don't treat this win as we treated the Kangaroos win last year; a sign that we're back baby and it will all be ok from here - unchanged all the way! We did lose to Melbourne at home, being 7 goals to 1 down at one stage. That was just one game ago. We are quite capable of losing to Carlton and Gold Coast.
Exactly. They absolutely need to smash Carlton and Gold Coast in the next fortnight. There were two times last year we had wins like this. First against North, which they then responded with a loss at home to Freo where they should have won, being smashed at home by Sydney and then a 38 point loss to Richmond in Melbourne. Then when they beat Geelong, the next week they lost to Freo again, blew the next showdown, beat North and lost to the Bulldogs.

A big part of the reason we won was because we got some good players back in (Walker, Douglas), made some hard calls on experienced players (Petrenko, Reilly) and were adventurous rather than cautious with youth (Cameron). We need to keep making these types of selection calls.

Last year against North Melbourne we didn't actually play well. North Melbournes melt down masked how badly we were playing. Thursday night actually looked like we had turned a corner, we played like a completely different team all game

Last year's win against North was more them losing it rather than us winning it. We were average until the last 10 minutes when they put in their 2013 North choke. Thursday night was a much better performance for much of the match against a far superior opponent (North weren't finalists whereas Collingwood are fighting for top 4). Having said that, we need to back that up against Carlton and not turn up expecting a win like we did against Melbourne.

In
Lyons
Otten

Out
Hartigan
Wright

Lyons simply cant be ignored anymore, Wright isnt playing super poor but why not give a younger player a go given he is capable of equal or greater output. Hartigan will be back but Otten provides better flexibility and Rutten still needs to stay. Crouch maybe another week and it might be time to have a look at Rory Atkins.

Hopefully the risks we took with selection give the coaches belief to do it again.

Ok, how come none of the Reilly backers have him as an in this week?

A few reasons.

1. We had a great game against Collingwood in which we had 21 contributors (and you can't blame Crouch who had 10 mins of game time).

2. We had no injuries from above mentioned game.

3. His performance in the SANFL didn't demand selection. Will need a combination of very good form and someone getting hurt/very poor form to get back into the side.

Ok, how come none of the Reilly backers have him as an in this week?

If Hendo and Otten didnt sustain their injuries it would have been hard to have seen Reilly play at all this year even.

Otten is probably slower than Hartigan...
Not by mind in his decision making!

Having said that, I'm not convinced otten is ready yet.

A few reasons.

1. We had a great game against Collingwood in which we had 21 contributors (and you can't blame Crouch who had 10 mins of game time).

2. We had no injuries from above mentioned game.

3. His performance in the SANFL didn't demand selection. Will need a combination of very good form and someone getting hurt/very poor form to get back into the side.
You forgot some:
4. He is not very good at defending
5. We have better defenders
6. He is slow
7. His 1-2 brain fades from a senior player is unacceptable and costly

And further to your point about how he will get back in, he is a quarter of the way through a two year contract and he's having these issues. What a **** up.

Need to stay with Hartigan. He will be OK with games. Don't think Sando will change anything this week. Wright is in favour.

You forgot some:
6. He is slow

And further to your point about how he will get back in, he is a quarter of the way through a two year contract and he's having these issues. What a **** up.

Parrot.

You forgot some:
6. He is slow

It would be better to pay out this potato then to waste any more resources on him. He is not even worth a packet of chips.

To put the issue to bed, when Lyons played round 1 against Geelong he laid 4 tackles in the quarter of footy he played. He laid a team high 6 last week too which backed the 5 he laid the previous week.

Yeh, but you can't count afl performance to determine if someone is ticking the boxes at sanfl level in order to get an afl game. Sure his tackling at afl level was good, but it doesn't necessarily translate into enough sanfl tackles to not be an issue at afl level. It's pretty simple when you don't think about it.

The tackle stats at SANFL level are more an estimate anyway.

It's not his tackling that is keeping him out. We're obviously looking for some more outside run. Lyons and Martin were the two players in the best form, Martin provides what we're looking for more.

I'm happy to see Martin get the opportunity even if it's at Lyons' expense, however I hope we stick with Martin for a period of time now. Let him settle, see what he can do. Don't chop and change.

I think Wright has to stay, wasn't flashy but had good hands all night and was a solid performer.

Assuming they might be worried about Jnr's workload having started him as sub last week, I'd swap him with Lyons and move Wright, Martin or even Cameron to the vest (depending on how Jets has pulled up). Any other changes would be asking for trouble, no way in the world does Otten come in for Hartigan, although I MIGHT be tempted to give him a game ahead of Rutten.