Changes vs Carlton

Its just not going to happen.

Carlton have probably been the most entertaining, high scoring side over the last 6 weeks.

They are just going for it.

They have decent tall forwards and a good midfield with the best player in the league.

Defence can leak and thats where we can expose them.

I'm actually backing Weitering and Jones on Kennedy and Darling respectively. Both our players have been in excellent form, and are good matchups for those two key forwards.

It's your smalls I'm worried about (Ryan and Rioli). I'm not sure Newman or Simpson can really go with either. Plowman certainly cant, and our sixth defender has been SPS since Teague took over and he's playing more as a half back. That's where you're likely to hurt us I reckon.

We probably have a slight edge in the midfield, but that gets taken away largely if you can tag Cripps. Its been done a few times to good effect against us this year. Whomever your best mid is, expect Ed Curnow to wear them like a glove. Maybe Gaff because he's quite damaging, but Yeo looks likely as well (although the latter is likely going head to head with Cripps).

Down back for you guys is where you have the clear advantage. If we bomb anything into our F50, in I'd back your talls lead by Gov to intercept it every single time. Literally, every single time. Curnow is out injured, our McGovern has had too much KFC and is doing remedial PT with our fitness team, and that only leaves Casboult (who started the year shit, but has gotten a lot better as the years gone on) and McKay (who did the opposite, started well but is now dropping off sharply) as our tall forwards.

Our other forwards are likely Silvagni (and he's slippery but undersized, so Barrass likely goes to him), Gibbons (who's been good but is tiny), Matt Kennedy (presuming he gets up from a rolled ankle last week) and either Deluca or (likely) little Zac Fisher if he's fit.

About the only way we'll score is repeat entries, and manic pressure which is something we've been good at the past month and a half.

TL;DR - I think your defence will limit our scoring too heavily, and I cant find an answer for your small forwards on our list, giving you blokes an edge in both ends of the ground. If you can also curb Cripps in the middle, you'll likely win by a comfortable margin. We only win if Cripps gets off the chain, and we can find some way to limit the impact of your smalls, and we apply enough pressure in our F50 to be getting repeat entries.

As long as the same Eagles side I saw destroy North last weekend turns up, we have our work cut out I feel.

I really like Teague bringing in more attacking gameplan. The big risk for Carlton this week is if we bring our top form, it could very well be a blowout. Bolton has parked the bus against us the last few years, going really defensive to minimise the damage. It will be interesting to see how much we can score without those tactics.

Its a good time to bring in Brander to see what he can bring, if Kennedy goes down he has to be ready to go in this finals series.
We got Oscar..why would you introduce someone with almost no AFL experience in time for the finals?

* So Hutch, Yeo or Nelson on Cripps? If Hutch doesn't make it , Yeo's the man?
Hurn back in should shore us up! Be curious to see how Nelson would go on Cripps?

I'm actually backing Weitering and Jones on Kennedy and Darling respectively. Both our players have been in excellent form, and are good matchups for those two key forwards.

It's your smalls I'm worried about (Ryan and Rioli). I'm not sure Newman or Simpson can really go with either. Plowman certainly cant, and our sixth defender has been SPS since Teague took over and he's playing more as a half back. That's where you're likely to hurt us I reckon.

We probably have a slight edge in the midfield, but that gets taken away largely if you can tag Cripps. Its been done a few times to good effect against us this year. Whomever your best mid is, expect Ed Curnow to wear them like a glove. Maybe Gaff because he's quite damaging, but Yeo looks likely as well (although the latter is likely going head to head with Cripps).

Down back for you guys is where you have the clear advantage. If we bomb anything into our F50, in I'd back your talls lead by Gov to intercept it every single time. Literally, every single time. Curnow is out injured, our McGovern has had too much KFC and is doing remedial PT with our fitness team, and that only leaves Casboult (who started the year s**t, but has gotten a lot better as the years gone on) and McKay (who did the opposite, started well but is now dropping off sharply) as our tall forwards.

Our other forwards are likely Silvagni (and he's slippery but undersized, so Barrass likely goes to him), Gibbons (who's been good but is tiny), Matt Kennedy (presuming he gets up from a rolled ankle last week) and either Deluca or (likely) little Zac Fisher if he's fit.

About the only way we'll score is repeat entries, and manic pressure which is something we've been good at the past month and a half.

TL;DR - I think your defence will limit our scoring too heavily, and I cant find an answer for your small forwards on our list, giving you blokes an edge in both ends of the ground. If you can also curb Cripps in the middle, you'll likely win by a comfortable margin. We only win if Cripps gets off the chain, and we can find some way to limit the impact of your smalls, and we apply enough pressure in our F50 to be getting repeat entries.

As long as the same Eagles side I saw destroy North last weekend turns up, we have our work cut out I feel.

No mention of Sam Walsh a driving force getting little attention..If Yeo goes head to head with Cripps I hope Simmo plays Nelson or someone on this kid ..

The idea that Hutch is too small to tag Cripps is a bit amusing. Cripps is taller than any other midfielder for one, so that's an advantage that he won't lose in any case. And he's shown that he can be shut right the **** down by your standard-sized midfield tagger (this season de Boer destroyed him, Clark stopped him getting anything). Hutch is the best tagger in the game and would be pretty confident of doing the same.

But there's good precedent to take the team approach too, which is how the doggies nullified him. Macrae just worked off him all game. I'd back Yeo in to do the same no worries.

Yeah he's a great player, but stopping him hasn't proven to be a rare feat either.

Can't wait to go to this game for the curtain raiser then the main event hopefully it's a good game and we don't get belted. We wont win but this is where we see how much we have actually turned around 👌.

The idea that Hutch is too small to tag Cripps is a bit amusing. Cripps is taller than any other midfielder for one, so that's an advantage that he won't lose in any case. And he's shown that he can be shut right the fu** down by your standard-sized midfield tagger (this season de Boer destroyed him, Clark stopped him getting anything). Hutch is the best tagger in the game and would be pretty confident of doing the same.

But there's good precedent to take the team approach too, which is how the doggies nullified him. Macrae just worked off him all game. I'd back Yeo in to do the same no worries.

Yeah he's a great player, but stopping him hasn't proven to be a rare feat either.
Good point. Cripps is a bit like Pridda, awesome in close but slow as a snail. If we can beat him at the contest by using numbers, then he will have no chance to chase our quicker mids (yep, shuey). I'm confident we'll have a plan for him.

Cripps has looked a lot quicker and more agile this year.

our McGovern has had too much KFC and is doing remedial PT with our fitness team

See, that's where you're going wrong. You aren't supposed to feed your McGovern the KFC - you just use the chicken grease to rub on their injuries to make em forget they're in pain. Then with the scent of those 11 herbs and spices in their nostrils, they'll start hallucinating that the footy is a big red 10 piece feed bucket and they'll snatch it out of the air every time. Just keep a few extra footies around at training - they have a tendency to get punctured by wayward teeth.

The idea that Hutch is too small to tag Cripps is a bit amusing. Cripps is taller than any other midfielder for one, so that's an advantage that he won't lose in any case. And he's shown that he can be shut right the fu** down by your standard-sized midfield tagger (this season de Boer destroyed him, Clark stopped him getting anything). Hutch is the best tagger in the game and would be pretty confident of doing the same.

De boer has about 8cm on Hutch

See, that's where you're going wrong. You aren't supposed to feed your McGovern the KFC - you just use the chicken grease to rub on their injuries to make em forget they're in pain. Then with the scent of those 11 herbs and spices in their nostrils, they'll start hallucinating that the footy is a big red 10 piece feed bucket and they'll snatch it out of the air every time. Just keep a few extra footies around at training - they have a tendency to get punctured by wayward teeth.

Just need to change sponsorship to:

It is our annual game against Carlton that we often reflect on the Judd trade.

Last weekend JK booted his 600th goal. He has become our greatest ever goal scorer, a dual Coleman Medalist and a premiership player.

I am now in the camp that says JK for Judd was probably a fair trade. Anything else was just profit. We got Masten and Notte and while Tony did not work out, Masten has had a good career and is a proud member of the select group of footballers that own a premiership medallion. (No need to go Masten beating - he was the the best of those available in the range at pick 3).

Thanks Chris - you brought about a load of pain and hurt but in the fullness of time and as the saying goes, no pain no gain.

Why do you think we brought HJs back as our sponsor? Gotta keep the guy motivated with a free Whopper anytime Yeo manages to kick a goal from outside of the 50 at Optus.
So thats why he always calls for it outside fiddy

We got Oscar..why would you introduce someone with almost no AFL experience in time for the finals?

* So Hutch, Yeo or Nelson on Cripps? If Hutch doesn't make it , Yeo's the man?
Hurn back in should shore us up! Be curious to see how Nelson would go on Cripps?
This is my only reason for Brander, he is going to take a while. His size and speed are a Rare combination so we need to develop him by giving him games with intensity so he can get his body ready to take over from kennedy when he is done, Oscar is going to be our swingman.

No need to go Masten beating

Genuine question - has he ever been tried as a tagger? If so how did it go?

The biggest knock on Masten seems to be his decision making and disposal. He gets enough of it, and runs hard enough.

I always seem to see him in a lose role across the half back or half forward, which I reckon serves to highlight his weaknesses (I wouldnt really want him to be a key player in setting up offensive plays; I often see him kicking sideways or slowing things up). Guess I've just always felt he would be best played with a direct opponent in a tagging role, something he should exell at.

Probably a bit late for it now, but has it ever been done, and did it work?

The biggest knock on Masten seems to be his decision making and disposal. He gets enough of it, and runs hard enough.

I always seem to see him in a lose role across the half back or half forward, which I reckon serves to highlight his weaknesses (I wouldnt really want him to be a key player in setting up offensive plays; I often see him kicking sideways or slowing things up). Guess I've just always felt he would be best played with a direct opponent in a tagging role, something he should exell at.

His disposal is quite good. Mostly just weak in the contest and gets caught HTB too much.

Not strong enough or big enough to be a tagger. Not the best tackler and is poor overhead

Simpson has found a role for him that works for the most part capitalising on his greatest strength which is his endurance

It’s a role that gets discussed regularly here and fair to say he’s not a fan favourite.

Has had a solid last few weeks though

He did well on Brad Hill in the most recent derby so I think there is merit in the idea of him tagging the opposition outside runners.