Changes vs Carlton

Why not !

Because it's round 2.

Welsh is a senior player so he will be given heaps more chances.

We all know Ryder's potential and importance to the team so I can see him staying in the side even if he plays 22 average games.

Because it's round 2.

Welsh is a senior player so he will be given heaps more chances.

We all know Ryder's potential and importance to the team so I can see him staying in the side even if he plays 22 average games.

Ryder hasnt played an average game yet ?

In Round 1 Ryder outrucked Ottens and Blake. They are probably in the top 4 of ruck combinations and Ryder got the points. What more did you want him to do?

He had a shocker yesterday against a man mountain and did not know what to do. Tactics? Coaching staff? Ruck coaches? What was there plan?

Tippets a forward first. How much ruck time has he had?

White? Who is he?

Kosi? Played CHB in his first year and is seen as more a KPP than ruck.

There are no real long term ruckman that have played forward consistently and kicked goals. Simon Madden is one but that is from yesteryear.

And if you are going to play one forward for any point in time, at least don't make it a lumbering big guy who will get murdered once it's gone.

Can you play Steven King, Dean Brogan, Hudson, etc, etc forward? That's who Laycock should be compared to and not your mobile types.
Tippett was drafted as a ruckman, believe it or not, and then was made into a forward. So there goes that theory

Jesse White, from Sydney, played as back-up ruck at the start of last year, then went forward and kicked a bag of 5 against someone (can't remember who) and has regularly kicked goals ever since.

Kozi played in ruck for a lot of his career, when not injured. Before Steven King and Michael Gardiner dominated last year, who do you think was in the ruck?

Big lumbering forwards. Let me think, does Kozi ring a bell? Setanta O'hAilpin? That doesn't count though. Just because Setanta kicked 3 on Merrett, one of the best FB's in the league, means that you're wrong. Also- Laycock is more of a mobile player, not your lumbering type, if you've seen him play

In: Neagle, Lovett-Murray, Reimers
Out: Mcveigh (injured), Prismall ( injured), Davey

Reimers to take Davey's role
Play Meyers in middle for Prismal
NLM to play HB but in the guts at the start of the game & each qrt to add steel.
Neagle is a must for this team if we want to score enough goals to win games. He was sorely missed in the Freo game & played well against some very good Cats showing he has what it takes.

Houli could also be considered for Meyers -

Given Williams is giving us so little, would any consider dropping him & playing Ryder Neagle & Gumby along with Reimers & Zaha & Gus in the fwd line.

IN : NLM, Lonergan, Reimers

OUT: Davey, Myers, Hocking.

Have no idea how Lonergan keeps getting overlooked, probably one of our best clearance players and considering we plain sucked in that department on the weekend he gets a game. NLM is a no-brainer, need his versatility. Would play him up forward. Whilst Reimers gets recall because he isnt afraid to have a dip and put his head over the ball and run the lines.

He doesn't have the fitness base apparently. If he were to come into the team he would have to play on a HFF like previous years but Zaka and Gus are much more valuable in that position.

In: Neagle, Reimers, NLM
Out: McVeigh (illness), Davey, Slattery (both omitted)

B: Fletcher, Pears, Hocking
HB: Dempsey, Hooker, NLM
C: Stanton, Watson, Winderlich
HF: Monfries, Gumbleton, Zaharakis
F: Williams, Neagle, Ryder
Foll: Hille, Prismall, Welsh
Int: Myers, Howlett, Dyson, Reimers

Geez i can't wait to slot Hurls into FF come round 4.

In; Laycock, Houli, NLM, Neagle

Out; McVeigh ( inj ), Ryder, Welsh, Davey

Hard decisions have to be made at selection.

Ryder has given us nothing in the last 2 weeks and Laycock could give us as much.
Gee I reckon that's a tough call yaco55. You're talking about a guy who just finished his best season with us. You're willing to outweigh two ordinary games against the countless good to very good ones, in favour of a guy who's only been back for a couple of months and hasn't seen senior footy in a year. I reckon that's a bit harsh.

Welsh played OK last weekend. but he is not the answer as a tagger, and I cant find him another role in the team.
What do you think of the idea of playing Welsh as a small defender?

Hocking to be the midfield tagger.

Neagle and Gumbleton will give us a more traditional forward structure.
Agreed.

NLM to play back with occasional stints in the midfield.
Agreed. I like NLM's toughness at the ball and the reports of his form. He's looking more and more like a utility player.

Houli to play midfield - Dyson and Winderlich to rotate more often in the midfield.
I'm starting to wonder whether he'll be selected at all, let alone in midfield. I remember there were issues with his willingness to run back to defend. Do we know to what extent this has been resolved? His willingness to defend would be my only concern if he's given a midfield role.

[/quote]

Out: Welsh, McVeigh, Myers
In: NLM, Lonergan, Laycock

Laycock as has been discussed gives us the FF option. Would love to see him play deep and have Williams lead out.

Lonergan wins contested footy and can give us a spark. Maybe he can't run out a full game, so manage his time on the bench and use him intelligently.

NLM is a very welcome inclusion. Reckon he'll give the team a big lift. Brings so many intangibles.

McVeigh unfortunately likely to miss. Welsh just not good enough IMO. Let Howlett, Dyson or Hocking tag in the middle instead. They'll give us more going the other way. I didn't think Myers was too bad on the weekend but I don't think he has a matchup if he plays back.

Would not drop Davey. I think a lot of the blues skills are suspect under pressure and he sure creates pressure.

Tough call's need to be made. But I doubt they will be.

Wouldn't be suprised if Neagle was left out again - can't see the coaching staff admitting they got it wrong last week.

IMO Lonergan will get selected ahead of Houli. I'd personally like to see both play.

Dyson and Welsh should be dropped but as they are in the leadership group they won't be.

So going on this I would guess

Outs; Mcveigh (Inj) Howlett (doesn;t deserve it but probably as easy choice.
In: Lovett Murray (Playing forward) Lonergan

Why not !

It is all about winning games and playing to the coaches instructions.

Better players than Ryder and Welsh have been dropped and bounced back.

Welsh was not bad against Geelong, cant drop the V.C based on one game.
I think Hille would be under more pressure than Ryder.

It could be wet/dewy on Saturday night...should influence our selections some???? Can either of Laycock/Neagle be effective in the wet...I don't know...

Thinking on the fly:
IN = NLM, Houli, Reimers
OUT = Myers, McVeigh (inj), Howlett

In Round 1 Ryder outrucked Ottens and Blake. They are probably in the top 4 of ruck combinations and Ryder got the points. What more did you want him to do?

He had a shocker yesterday against a man mountain and did not know what to do. Tactics? Coaching staff? Ruck coaches? What was there plan?

I want him to get the ball and work much harder around the game.

I will use stats seeing that you are so fond of them

Ryder has got more than 17 possesions in one game out of his seventy five games.

Enough said !

Out: McVeigh, Davey (omm), Williams (omm), Welsh (omm - won't happen though)

In: NLM, Houli, Reimers, Laycock

- Really hope they bring NLM straight back in, adds toughness and flexibility.
- Laycock to play FF, make Neagle dominate VFL and earn his spot back. Also think we need to see what Laycock can do at FF) - Tough between he and Neagle though.
- Reimers to play Davey's role - please happen.
- Houli - give this man a chance!

Welsh was not bad against Geelong, cant drop the V.C based on one game.
I think Hille would be under more pressure than Ryder.

Welsh was poor against Geelong and solid against Fremantle.

His role is to be a lock down tagger and unless he can do it effectively two in 3 games he has no future in the side.

Hille under more pressure than Ryder.

You must be joking unless you prefer Ryder the possession less wonder.

Out: McVeigh, Davey (omm), Williams (omm), Welsh (omm - won't happen though)

In: NLM, Houli, Reimers, Laycock

- Really hope they bring NLM straight back in, adds toughness and flexibility.
- Laycock to play FF, make Neagle dominate VFL and earn his spot back. Also think we need to see what Laycock can do at FF) - Tough between he and Neagle though.
- Reimers to play Davey's role - please happen.
- Houli - give this man a chance!

Pretty sure NLM will get a run, either Laycock or Neagle, & Reimers for Davey. Houli prob deserves a run and would give him a go before Myers. Cant drop Williams just yet - sure he hasnt performed that well but needs time to adjust to new game style and delivery to him has been pretty ordinay thus far. Think things might turn for him against the blues if they play a Laycock or Neagle deep forward next to him & give him space in which to lead

so out: McVeigh, Davey, Myers, H.Slat (unlikely)
IN: NLM, Reimers, Laycock or Neagle, Houli (if they drop H.Slat)

Pretty sure NLM will get a run, either Laycock or Neagle, & Reimers for Davey. Houli prob deserves a run and would give him a go before Myers.

so out: McVeigh, Davey, Myers, H.Slat (unlikely)
IN: NLM, Reimers, Laycock or Neagle, Houli (if they drop H.Slat)

I would be devastated is they don't play NLM in the midfield with stints up forward. Why waste his hardness, pace and agression defending.

For too long I have read posts saying that players need to build confidence to play good football, and therefore should not be dropped so their confidence can improve, this is what heaps of people are saying about Myers. I am sorry but I think its the other way around. Play good football and your confidence will increase. He must go back to the twos and play some good footy and learn to stab passes, he lollypops the ball too much, killing his intended target, he is not a punter in the NFL, where you get rewarded for hang time.

Out: McVeigh (injury), Prismall (omitted),

In: NLM, Neagle

PRISMALLLLLLLL!!!!!!!! u must be joking. i thought he had a good game, got a bit of the ball used it fairly well and kicked a goal what more do u want?? u also chose to drop him ahead of williams & welsh who have clearly underperformed the past 2 weeks. u clearly have something against prismall.

terrible performance no doubt. looking ahead i have the following comments to make:

our game plan is fast, attacking, skilfull football. the following players are neither fast or skilful (or make up for it in other areas):

McVeigh
Welsh
H.Slattery
Hocking

I don't think we can afford to keep carrying all of these blokes. Welsh is the most over-rated player on our list and particularly now that he is not allowed to hold onto his opponent when tagging. He has been useless for the first two matches - he is slow, turns the ball over consistently, gives away free kicks, gets caught out on the rebound and one of the big reasons for our poor performances.

I was willing to cut some guys some slack after R1 and give them a second chance - should they be afforded a 3rd chance??? Debatable. It was mostly the senior players that really let the club down on Sunday and several of them should be held accountable and dropped.

There is little doubt Mark Williams has to be dropped - he provides nothing up forward and looks like a bloke comfortable knowing he's on good coin for 3yrs...

Hocking i'm willing to give another week as he could be better placed in the midfield as the tagger in place of Welsh who has been useless. Despite his deficincies Heath is always trying to get to the contest - better than can be said about McVeigh and Welsh. Welsh only plays in the stoppages when play is stopped - when the ball is moving quickly its like he's stuck in quicksand as he doesn't move.

McVeigh i've had enough of - he talks the talk on the footy show but cannot walk the walk. He needs a massive rocket up him by making him play for Bendigo and earning his spot back. He did stuff all against the dockers after talking himself up on the footy show. The club should ban him from doing any media until he starts playing decent footy.

My changes for next week:

Out: M.Williams, M.McVeigh, Welsh, H.Slattery

In: Neagle, Reimers, Hardingham, Lovett-Murray

Team:

B: Fletcher, Pears, Dyson
HB: Lovett-Murray, Hooker, Hardingham
C: Dempsey, Watson, Stanton
HF: Zaharakis, Ryder, Gumbleton
F: Davey, Neagle, Monfries
Foll: Hille, Myers, Prismall
Int: Hocking, Winderlich, Reimers, Howlett

The changes to the side should make some improvement in the following ways:

Neagle a better target up forward then Williams.

Hardingham looks a quick half-back option akin to David King which would be an improvement on H.Slattery.

Lovett-Murray off half-back releases Dempsey onto the wing where he could fill the void left by Lovett's departure.

Myers replacing Welsh in midfield to assist with the clearances and get some direct long kicks to key forward (ryder, gumby, neagle etc).

Reimers, Hardingham, Nat-Rat all quick players better suited to our game plan.

for those thinking neagle and reimers were purely dropped that is incorrect - both had injuries out of last weeks game. it was obvious neagle twisted his ankle. when it came time for selection with mcveigh available and myers coming thru vfl unscathed they merely opted to leave out two fringe selections (neagle/reimers) due to being injured as well.