Why not !
Because it's round 2.
Welsh is a senior player so he will be given heaps more chances.
We all know Ryder's potential and importance to the team so I can see him staying in the side even if he plays 22 average games.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Why not !
Because it's round 2.
Welsh is a senior player so he will be given heaps more chances.
We all know Ryder's potential and importance to the team so I can see him staying in the side even if he plays 22 average games.
Ryder hasnt played an average game yet ?
Tippett was drafted as a ruckman, believe it or not, and then was made into a forward. So there goes that theoryTippets a forward first. How much ruck time has he had?
White? Who is he?
Kosi? Played CHB in his first year and is seen as more a KPP than ruck.
There are no real long term ruckman that have played forward consistently and kicked goals. Simon Madden is one but that is from yesteryear.
And if you are going to play one forward for any point in time, at least don't make it a lumbering big guy who will get murdered once it's gone.
Can you play Steven King, Dean Brogan, Hudson, etc, etc forward? That's who Laycock should be compared to and not your mobile types.
Also- Laycock is more of a mobile player, not your lumbering type, if you've seen him play
IN : NLM, Lonergan, Reimers
OUT: Davey, Myers, Hocking.
Have no idea how Lonergan keeps getting overlooked, probably one of our best clearance players and considering we plain sucked in that department on the weekend he gets a game. NLM is a no-brainer, need his versatility. Would play him up forward. Whilst Reimers gets recall because he isnt afraid to have a dip and put his head over the ball and run the lines.
In; Laycock, Houli, NLM, Neagle
Out; McVeigh ( inj ), Ryder, Welsh, Davey
Hard decisions have to be made at selection.
Gee I reckon that's a tough call yaco55. You're talking about a guy who just finished his best season with us. You're willing to outweigh two ordinary games against the countless good to very good ones, in favour of a guy who's only been back for a couple of months and hasn't seen senior footy in a year. I reckon that's a bit harsh.Ryder has given us nothing in the last 2 weeks and Laycock could give us as much.
What do you think of the idea of playing Welsh as a small defender?Welsh played OK last weekend. but he is not the answer as a tagger, and I cant find him another role in the team.
Agreed.Neagle and Gumbleton will give us a more traditional forward structure.
Agreed. I like NLM's toughness at the ball and the reports of his form. He's looking more and more like a utility player.NLM to play back with occasional stints in the midfield.
I'm starting to wonder whether he'll be selected at all, let alone in midfield. I remember there were issues with his willingness to run back to defend. Do we know to what extent this has been resolved? His willingness to defend would be my only concern if he's given a midfield role.Houli to play midfield - Dyson and Winderlich to rotate more often in the midfield.
Why not !
It is all about winning games and playing to the coaches instructions.
Better players than Ryder and Welsh have been dropped and bounced back.
In Round 1 Ryder outrucked Ottens and Blake. They are probably in the top 4 of ruck combinations and Ryder got the points. What more did you want him to do?
He had a shocker yesterday against a man mountain and did not know what to do. Tactics? Coaching staff? Ruck coaches? What was there plan?
Welsh was not bad against Geelong, cant drop the V.C based on one game.
I think Hille would be under more pressure than Ryder.
Out: McVeigh, Davey (omm), Williams (omm), Welsh (omm - won't happen though)
In: NLM, Houli, Reimers, Laycock
- Really hope they bring NLM straight back in, adds toughness and flexibility.
- Laycock to play FF, make Neagle dominate VFL and earn his spot back. Also think we need to see what Laycock can do at FF) - Tough between he and Neagle though.
- Reimers to play Davey's role - please happen.
- Houli - give this man a chance!
Pretty sure NLM will get a run, either Laycock or Neagle, & Reimers for Davey. Houli prob deserves a run and would give him a go before Myers.
so out: McVeigh, Davey, Myers, H.Slat (unlikely)
IN: NLM, Reimers, Laycock or Neagle, Houli (if they drop H.Slat)
Out: McVeigh (injury), Prismall (omitted),
In: NLM, Neagle