Changes vs Carlton

IN : NLM, Lonergan, Reimers

OUT: Davey, Myers, Hocking.

Have no idea how Lonergan keeps getting overlooked, probably one of our best clearance players and considering we plain sucked in that department on the weekend he gets a game. NLM is a no-brainer, need his versatility. Would play him up forward. Whilst Reimers gets recall because he isnt afraid to have a dip and put his head over the ball and run the lines.

you don't realise lonergan did carry over a suspension from last year.

Hocking i'm willing to give another week as he could be better placed in the midfield as the tagger in place of Welsh who has been useless. Despite his deficincies Heath is always trying to get to the contest - better than can be said about McVeigh and Welsh. Welsh only plays in the stoppages when play is stopped - when the ball is moving quickly its like he's stuck in quicksand as he doesn't move.

McVeigh i've had enough of - he talks the talk on the footy show but cannot walk the walk. He needs a massive rocket up him by making him play for Bendigo and earning his spot back. He did stuff all against the dockers after talking himself up on the footy show. The club should ban him from doing any media until he starts playing decent footy.

Hocking has been amongst our best both games, so of course he should get another week.

McVeigh had a serious blood infection that only started to effect him early in the game but increased in severity quickly. Not saying he should get a free run with automatic selection, but his game on the weekend shouldn't be scrutinised too closely. No player would do well in that condition.

Out: Hocking (delisted), Slattery (delisted), Welsh (delisted)
In: Hardingham, Houli, Laycock

Seriously its going to be a long year, and if there are any more comments like Lloyd's this week, the wheels will fall off soon. Forget about those not going to be in the next premiership and show faith and confidence in the kids drafted, play them in the position they were drafted for, play them to their strengths and focus on attacking the ball and the man. I'm sick of seeing near-enough players who wouldn't get a game in any other side get games ahead of those with genuine promise. Lets see what they can do for once.

For those wanting Williams dropped, have a look at who he has played on - Scarlett & Tarrent. Two of the top five defenders in the league. Plus the delivery to him has been ordinary to say the least.

Also- Laycock is more of a mobile player, not your lumbering type, if you've seen him play
What???

Easily the least mobile of our 5 ruckmen. Even when Hille was in a moon boot.

Fletcher to take Betts because we can't keep getting smashed by small forwards every week. Slattery has not been able to stop Steve Johnson or Ballantyne in the two games and we can't afford three in a row.
Eh?
Kept him to 1 or 2. I'd drop him too, but he absolutely blanketed Johnson and did the best job on him we've done in 3-4 years.

We need a tall forward - Neagle or Daniher.
We need more ball winners - I'm thinking Lonergan (back from suspension???)

Out: Hocking (delisted), Slattery (delisted), Welsh (delisted)
In: Hardingham, Houli, Laycock

Seriously its going to be a long year, and if there are any more comments like Lloyd's this week, the wheels will fall off soon. Forget about those not going to be in the next premiership and show faith and confidence in the kids drafted, play them in the position they were drafted for, play them to their strengths and focus on attacking the ball and the man. I'm sick of seeing near-enough players who wouldn't get a game in any other side get games ahead of those with genuine promise. Lets see what they can do for once.

delisting them is a bit harsh... maybe omitting them would do for now... :D

Out: Hocking (delisted)

Hocking was one of the only players who I thought gave it a fair crack on sunday. Very harsh.

The_Dustbin said:
For those wanting Williams dropped, have a look at who he has played on - Scarlett & Tarrent

Had a fair opportunity to watch him on sunday and did not seem to want to challenge the game or his defender at all. Would have thought the better player you are on the more effort you need to put in to beat him but does not seem to be the case here.

Carlton will potentially struggle against a taller forward line so i would go back to Neagle and Williams out of the square, Gumby CHF with Hille/Ryder in the forward line for hopefully about 10mins each per quarter.
Really stretch the lack of good tall defenders at Carlton, and see how we go (weather permitting).

Therefore...INS: Neagle, NLM, Riemers
................OUT: Davey, Myers, Dyson

quote]

Disagree here. A myth that we struggle for good talls down back:

Jamison 193cm
Bower 192cm
Thorton 192cm
Waite 194cm
Henderson 196cm
O'hAlpin 199cm

granted some will play forward

plus Austin 193cm.

Sorry mate, will have to respectfully disagree back!
Bower is out (correct me if i'm wrong here) for a start.
Apart from Jamison and Thornton, chances are the other 3 will play forward - unless we stretch them, which means Carlton will have to take talls away from a forward line also lacking proven tall options.

Precisely the conundrum/pressure we should place Carlton under by picking Neagle and Gumby, then having Ryder and Hille playing around 10 mins each (as in 20mins total) per quarter, to stretch Carlton's lack of options.

It was a mistake to put ourselves in the position last week where we needed to have one of our ruckmen forward at all times.
I'm pretty confident that Carlton will be hoping we do it again, therefore, pick 2 KP forwards, let the blues match up on them, and whenever poss put an EXTRA tall down there.

I'm Kent Brockman, and that's my 2 cents....:D

PRISMALLLLLLLL!!!!!!!! u must be joking. i thought he had a good game, got a bit of the ball used it fairly well and kicked a goal what more do u want?? u also chose to drop him ahead of williams & welsh who have clearly underperformed the past 2 weeks. u clearly have something against prismall.

I lolled.

PRISMALLLLLLLL!!!!!!!! u must be joking. i thought he had a good game, got a bit of the ball used it fairly well and kicked a goal what more do u want?? u also chose to drop him ahead of williams & welsh who have clearly underperformed the past 2 weeks. u clearly have something against prismall.

Wiilams is a small/medium forward who has had not many opportunities and Welsh is at least useful as a hard body in traffic (that's what she said). Prismall is just not offering anything at the moment (the left foot goal was a fluke).

For those wanting Williams dropped, have a look at who he has played on - Scarlett & Tarrent. Two of the top five defenders in the league. Plus the delivery to him has been ordinary to say the least.

100% agree.
Some are going way too early with the Williams call.
If Gumby, Neagle and at all times one of Hille, Ryder and NLM (add Hurley to that list as of next week) have to be manned up, lets see how he goes for a couple of weeks with the 3rd or 4th defender on him before we go dropping him back to the bush.

People calling for Prismall is silly. Watch the game to see all the in and under things, bumps and tackles in a contested situation that you don't notice and you will see why he is behind Watson and Stanton, our next most important mid. Not to mention his 4 inside 50's, he is second only to Stanton, who is a freak and Monfries who often plays that link and kick in. Very important to our team. Also consider the game time he gets every week. He averages less than 70% game time and still has the huge amount of impact.

Out: Myers (omitted) McVeigh (sick) Williams (omitted)
In: Houli, NLM, Lonergan

Fletcher - Betts
Pears - O'hopeless
Hooker - Henderson
Slattery - Yarran

1st time ive read or posted since sunday, beacuse i was discusted really with the preformance. Ill tell you guys now, Reimers was dropped on the day, was down in the rooms post game, and he was in his tracksuit, he left earlier than all the other players, and looked mighty pissed off when he left, along with being asked by someone else, "are you getting outta here mate?"
He replied with "yeah thank god"
It was something along those lines, looked fuming, and the response came in a pissed off tone. I asked a players partner that got us in the rooms, and she said yeah he was dropped today as far as she knew. So you can rule out the general sorness bullshit.
Apart from that, some players looked genuinely shattered, and others looked like they couldnt have given a damn. Im not going to name names, but i thought it was piss poor, the players that couldnt have cared less..
Anyway onto the OP, I would probably have to say that several changes will need to be made, starting by putting woosha back to the BP, and dropping slattery. Reimers should be in, and should have been. I also think that neagle needs to return, and Nat Rat should come in. Davey cant be dropped, the defensive pressure wouldnt exsist if he wasnt there. I dunno its knighters dillema, but they had better make some changes if we wanna get a win on the board.
By the way there was some piss weak performance by some moronic supporter giving knights a peice of his mind as he walked through the to the ground after the game, the guy is a discrace to the EFC, left knighters kids in tears with the words that were coming out of his mouth. He obviously wouldnt have realised that the kids were right there but for christ sakes, that was richmond spitting incident esq.

Ill tell you guys now, Reimers was dropped on the day, was down in the rooms post game, and he was in his tracksuit, he left earlier than all the other players, and looked mighty pissed off when he left, along with being asked by someone else, "are you getting outta here mate?"
It was something along those lines, looked fuming, and the response came in a pissed off tone. I asked a players partner that got us in the rooms, and she said yeah he was dropped today as far as she knew. So you can rule out the general sorness bullshit.
Apart from that, some players looked genuinely shattered, and others looked like they couldnt have given a damn. Im not going to name names, but i thought it was piss poor, the players that couldnt have cared less..
Disappointing to say the least. Did you hear anything about dissatisfaction with coaching staff?

Davey cant be dropped, the defensive pressure wouldnt exsist if he wasnt there.
I reckon Daniher would do well in this regard.

By the way there was some piss weak performance by some moronic supporter giving knights a peice of his mind as he walked through the to the ground after the game, the guy is a discrace to the EFC, left knighters kids in tears with the words that were coming out of his mouth. He obviously wouldnt have realised that the kids were right there but for christ sakes, that was richmond spitting incident esq.
Agreed. Poor form :thumbsdown:

This kind of insight is interesting. No disrespect, but I really hope you're reading too much into it, especially in terms of the players attitudes.

1st time ive read or posted since sunday, beacuse i was discusted really with the preformance. Ill tell you guys now, Reimers was dropped on the day, was down in the rooms post game, and he was in his tracksuit, he left earlier than all the other players, and looked mighty pissed off when he left, along with being asked by someone else, "are you getting outta here mate?"
Anyway onto the OP, I would probably have to say that several changes will need to be made, starting by putting woosha back to the BP, and dropping slattery. Reimers should be in, and should have been. I also think that neagle needs to return, and Nat Rat should come in. Davey cant be dropped, the defensive pressure wouldnt exsist if he wasnt there. I dunno its knighters dillema, but they had better make some changes if we wanna get a win on the board.

Forgive my ignorance....but who's woosha?

Also big thumbs down to the douche bag abusing knights, kids or no kids.
Early days, and realistically we've played well in one, and poor in another.
Might be worth seeing how the season pans out before you release a tyrade of personal abuse ya goon bag.:thumbsdown:

The reason that Welsh was moved to the midfield, ironically, was that he was being torn up by the small forwards because of his lack of pace. I think that Welsh could be effective as a HF playing a role like Petterd did last week, making rebounding half backers accountable. He's good overhead and a good kick for goal. He could also add some leadership to the forward line and direct the young blokes where to go.

So based on (at best) 4th hand info - Reimers> player > player's missus > you, "as far as she knew", you're calling BS on something. :D . I've got a mate who talked to someone else who read somewhere that Reimers left training early on Monday with what looked like a sore quad.

The reason that Welsh was moved to the midfield, ironically, was that he was being torn up by the small forwards because of his lack of pace. I think that Welsh could be effective as a HF playing a role like Petterd did last week, making rebounding half backers accountable. He's good overhead and a good kick for goal. He could also add some leadership to the forward line and direct the young blokes where to go.

He was getting torn up by the quicker forwards and his kicking was ok but his lack of distance would cause one too many turnovers.

I don't think we can play him forward because we already have someone with his physical attributes in Monfries who has claimed that position as his. You can't play them two in the same forward line.

Welsh tags or goes back to VFL. I'd say back to VFL and have Hocking and Lonergan rotate through there and bring in faster legs like Houli and others.

The broken leg has robbed him of that 1-5% of pace and fitness that you can never get back once you break a leg they way he did. Welsh at %100 was only an ok footballer and anything less and he's just not AFL standard anymore.

So based on (at best) 4th hand info - Reimers> player > player's missus > you, "as far as she knew", you're calling BS on something. :D . I've got a mate who talked to someone else who read somewhere that Reimers left training early on Monday with what looked like a sore quad.

Re-read what i said mate, i said i heard him talking like that 1st hand, i was wondering why he didnt play because he looked pissed off, so i asked this players wife if she knew anything, and she said as far as she knew he was there to play on sunday, therefore a late withdrawal. He may well have been sore, but i was reading into his body language and attitude, and the fact that if he knew he wasnt playing he wouldnt have been in a tracksuit, he would have been in a suit like the rest of the boys.

Disappointing to say the least. Did you hear anything about dissatisfaction with coaching staff?

No, he didnt say anything like that but did look really dissapointed with not being out there. Just his facial expression and body language. Might have been made worse with the loss..

I reckon Daniher would do well in this regard.

Agreed. Poor form :thumbsdown:

This kind of insight is interesting. No disrespect, but I really hope you're reading too much into it, especially in terms of the players attitudes.

I could well be. I didnt get to see the players straight away, because as soon as we got down there they were taken straight in for a meeting and once that broke up, some looked dissapointed some looked ok... Look i wouldnt be too surprised if some players had the acid put on them in the meeting, and they were dissapointed for that.. I honestly cant say why some were up and down, just thought i would say that thats what i saw...

It's possible that Reimers was upset at the loss (as well as being dropped). Don't know about you guys but I couldn't wait to get out of there either.

Yeah i would have been gone, but i had the oppertunity to go into the bombers rooms for the 1st time. Ive been into PA rooms, not essendons though, spewing we had a loss.. I suspect the rooms would have been a bit more upbeat if we had've had a win..

B: Mark McVeigh - Tayte Pears - Andrew Welsh

HB: Courtenay Dempsey - Cale Hooker - Dustin Fletcher

C: Kyle Reimers - Jobe Watson - Brent Stanton

HF: Angus Monfries - Scott Gumbleton - Nathan Lovett-Murray

F: Mark Williams - Patrick Ryder - David Zaharakis

R: David Hille - Heath Hocking - Brent Prismall

INT: Jay Neagle - Jason Winderlich - Henry Slattery - David Myers

Team I'd like to see play.