Changes vs Carlton

Outs:

Williams (spud, want him GONE!)
Slattery (poor game mate, need some selction pressure me thinks)
McVeigh (illness)

Borderline:

Myers (one game, and most of the team sucked, so give him another crack)
Ryder (cant believe I just said that :confused:)
Davey (who to replace him with?)

Ins:
Lovett-Murray (naturally, has played well preseason)
Neagle (I'm surprised he was dropped after just one game in the first place. Hopefully he can throw those Carlton defenders around like rag dolls.)
Houli (give him a go for crying out loud!)

We need Davey's pace, so no matter how bad he has played i don't think we can afford to drop him

Why? Just coz he's fast doesn't mean he gets in. If he runs past the ball quicker than anyone else in the team, what value is he to us? Like everyone I loved him in that first season and prepared to give him time to get over his injuries, BUT that time has arrived!

B- Hocking - Pears - Fletch
HB- NLM - Hooker - Houli
C- Dempsey - Watson - Stanton
HF - Monfries - Gumby - Zaka
F- Williams - Neagle - Reimers
R- Hille - Winda - Prizz
Int- Ryder - Welsh - Howlett - Lonergan

In:NLM, Houli, Neagle, Reimers, Lonergan
Out: Mcveigh, Myers, Dyson, Slatts, Davey

I think this is the best team to play this weekend
The experience of NLM is much needed and he and houli will add better foot skills of the half back line, Dempsey will play out on the wing as he is better to run free out there than have him back with his loose defending work, Neagle upfoward to trouble carltons defence with reimers in to add some pace and pressure with davey coming out after 2 poor games. Ryder to start bench to have a flexible option on the bench who can play ruck, fwd or back if needed, welsh will start bench and i would have him play half forward with hocking, prizz and lonergan playing the hard body in defence. I saw welsh play this role 2 years back now against collingwood later in the season, he kicked 3 goals and racked up 25 odd possies

I think this could work some of you might disagree with me dropping dyson, slatts as our lockdown small fwd role and davey with his frontal pressure but a week or two with bendigo will do them i world of good

Anyway thats just my 2c

Re-read what i said mate, i said i heard him talking like that 1st hand, i was wondering why he didnt play because he looked pissed off, so i asked this players wife if she knew anything, and she said as far as she knew he was there to play on sunday, therefore a late withdrawal. He may well have been sore, but i was reading into his body language and attitude, and the fact that if he knew he wasnt playing he wouldnt have been in a tracksuit, he would have been in a suit like the rest of the boys.
He was named in the extended bench on Wednesday or Thursday. Unlike most weeks, it wasn't named alphabetically, Laycock Reimers and Neagle were last named, which I assumed - correctly it turns out - meant they were the Emg and Myers etc were the bench.

Emergencies are always in their tracksuits for the warm up before the game. I dunno if they change or not.

What was his actual quote??

Hoping for this:
B: Henry Slattery – Tayte Pears – Dustin Fletcher
HB: Nathan Lovett-Murray – Cale Hooker – Ricky Dyson
C: Bachar Houli – Brent Stanton – Courtney Dempsey
HF: Angus Monfries – Scott Gumbleton – David Zaharakis
F: Mark Williams – Jay Neagle – Patrick Ryder
R: David Hille – Jobe Watson - David Myers
I/C: Jason Winderlich – Ben Howlett – Kyle Reimers/Brent Prismall – Andrew Welsh/Heath Hocking

A few notes:

- Mark McVeigh out because of injury so don't question me about him not being included in my team.

- NLM need his hardness in the team. Could play on a variety of players and can be pushed into the midfield if needed.

- Didn't really want Dyson on the half back line but there arn't many players who can play there.

- Let Bachar play in his ****ing position. He was drafted a midfieler and has worked significantly on his defensive pressure. His ball winning ability and nice kick would be serviceable for the team.

- Dempsey on the wing is a must. I still like him down back, but just prefer him on the wing. Reminds me of Michael Long. He is an attacking footballer and should be played in a position to suit his abilities.

- Give David Myers a ****ing go in the midfield. Knights said when we drafted him that he will play in the guts. Well, then what the **** is he doing in the back-line? Just give him a few games there. We are not going to win the premiership this year so we might as well experiment with players and positions.

- Zaharakis should be pushed into the midfield occasionally because his contested ball winning abilities should not be ignored.

- Neagle, Ryder/Hille and Gumbleton as our tall forwards. This would be a good move because at least one would fire with a weak defender on them. May also free up Williams.

- Winderlich must play in the midfield because he is a midfielder.

- Howlett stays in the team because he has done extremely well thus far. Wins his own ball and has nice kicking skills which is something we lack.

- Only room for one of Hocking and Welsh. Both slow and one dimensional footballers.

Why do most automatically want Neagle as an in. Let him earn a spot bc when he does play he is next to useless.

I would like to see NLM, Reimers, Lonergan all in as they have a crack and perhaps give Houli a go

Why do most automatically want Neagle as an in. Let him earn a spot bc when he does play he is next to useless.

Because he gives us structure and a big presence up forward. I think he is ready to have a good year, Knights just doesnt seem to know what he is doing. Cant go any where without even a big presence up forward, see Geelong (Hawkins/Mooney), Hawthorn (Franklin/Roughead) they have players.

Outs:

Williams (spud, want him GONE!)
Slattery (poor game mate, need some selction pressure me thinks)
McVeigh (illness)

Borderline:

Myers (one game, and most of the team sucked, so give him another crack)
Ryder (cant believe I just said that :confused:)
Davey (who to replace him with?)

Ins:
Lovett-Murray (naturally, has played well preseason)
Neagle (I'm surprised he was dropped after just one game in the first place. Hopefully he can throw those Carlton defenders around like rag dolls.)
Houli (give him a go for crying out loud!)

Agreed with all of it, except i do think Williams should be given one last chance, something is telling me he will rape the Carlscum defence, Neagle,Gumbleton,Monfries will probably be their main 3 targets leaving Williams to kick ass :cool: btw Paul Bower is out which will make everything easier

Williams vs Carlton 05: 4.1 (1st game) and 5.4 (2nd game)
vs Carlton 06: 2.0 (1st) and 4.2 (2nd)
vs Carlton 07: (Injuried and didnt play)
vs Carlton 08: 3.0
vs Carlton 09: 1.0

He averages 3.3 goals against them since 2005 which is good.

In: NLM, Reimers, Neagle and Lonergan
Out: McVeigh, Davey, Myers and Dyson

NLM throw him in the middle at times his hard body will ruffle the blues class
Dempsey onto a wing
Slattery to the bench- last chance
Reimers on the other wing
Hille Full forforward
Neagle in the pocket
Lonergan on a half back flank

Because he gives us structure and a big presence up forward. I think he is ready to have a good year, Knights just doesnt seem to know what he is doing. Cant go any where without even a big presence up forward, see Geelong (Hawkins/Mooney), Hawthorn (Franklin/Roughead) they have players.

Yes i agree about big players and a presence but a player has to earn a spot as Hawkins has. Perhaps they could walk around Highpoint and find a tall person to play up forward bc he would have earnt it as much as Neagle.

All i have seen of Neagle is a 5 minute purple patch in games then he isn't sighted. Against Geelong he looked slow, always looks frightened when he has to stand under a ball and his second efforts are barely there let alone third and fourth efforts. Let him play at bendigo take a dozen marks kick 3 or 4 goals for a few weeks before looking at him. Someone with such a 'presence' and size should be able to get a kick at Bendigo.

Yes i agree about big players and a presence but a player has to earn a spot as Hawkins has. Perhaps they could walk around Highpoint and find a tall person to play up forward bc he would have earnt it as much as Neagle.

All i have seen of Neagle is a 5 minute purple patch in games then he isn't sighted. Against Geelong he looked slow, always looks frightened when he has to stand under a ball and his second efforts are barely there let alone third and fourth efforts. Let him play at bendigo take a dozen marks kick 3 or 4 goals for a few weeks before looking at him. Someone with such a 'presence' and size should be able to get a kick at Bendigo.

someone who played at Bendigo last year, they're form should be void for being part of such a struggling outfit.

Neagle is a unit, just in case you missed the point :p

a hell of alot bigger than one Mark Williams

someone who played at Bendigo last year, they're form should be void for being part of such a struggling outfit.

Neagle is a unit, just in case you missed the point :p

a hell of alot bigger than one Mark Williams

Players don't get games because they are a unit. They get games because they can get a kick. 5 possessions a game doesn't seem to add up to earning a game. Also if he was any good he would still be able to get a kick in a struggling Bendigo side.

I hope he turns out to be a good player but for mine he is way off at the moment yet everyone says Neagle this Neagle that for some reason.

Players don't get games because they are a unit. They get games because they can get a kick. 5 possessions a game doesn't seem to add up to earning a game. Also if he was any good he would still be able to get a kick in a struggling Bendigo side.

I hope he turns out to be a good player but for mine he is way off at the moment yet everyone says Neagle this Neagle that for some reason.

OK, Tony Delaney, lets get back to what I was saying. We need Neagle to play, to allow us to kick to a forward, a power forward. Someone who is going to cause a contest. That is what I am saying. Hurley by the looks of it is going to come in if Neagle does not do anything in the next week or two.

Melksham to debut, and we will find out for sure around 5pm today, but I reckon it will be:

OUT: McVeigh, Davey, Myers
IN: Melksham, NLM, Neagle

Team will look like:

H.Slat Pears Welsh
Fletch Hooker Dempsey
Prismal Hocking Howlett
Zaharakis Gumby Winders
Ryder M.Williams Monfires

Hille Watson Stanton

Dyson NLM Melksham Neagle

Hoping for this:
I/C: Jason Winderlich – Ben Howlett – Kyle Reimers/Brent Prismall – Andrew Welsh/Heath Hocking

A few notes:

- Mark McVeigh out because of injury so don't question me about him not being included in my team.

- NLM need his hardness in the team. Could play on a variety of players and can be pushed into the midfield if needed.

- Didn't really want Dyson on the half back line but there arn't many players who can play there.

- Let Bachar play in his ****ing position. He was drafted a midfieler and has worked significantly on his defensive pressure. His ball winning ability and nice kick would be serviceable for the team.

- Dempsey on the wing is a must. I still like him down back, but just prefer him on the wing. Reminds me of Michael Long. He is an attacking footballer and should be played in a position to suit his abilities.

- Give David Myers a ****ing go in the midfield. Knights said when we drafted him that he will play in the guts. Well, then what the **** is he doing in the back-line? Just give him a few games there. We are not going to win the premiership this year so we might as well experiment with players and positions.

- Zaharakis should be pushed into the midfield occasionally because his contested ball winning abilities should not be ignored.

- Neagle, Ryder/Hille and Gumbleton as our tall forwards. This would be a good move because at least one would fire with a weak defender on them. May also free up Williams.

- Winderlich must play in the midfield because he is a midfielder.

- Howlett stays in the team because he has done extremely well thus far. Wins his own ball and has nice kicking skills which is something we lack.

- Only room for one of Hocking and Welsh. Both slow and one dimensional footballers.

Prismall on the bench are you joking!!! Has been our most consistant player since he came back from injury. I think we need to play welsh in the back pocket and kick henry slattery back to bendigo. Seriously he must get 4 goals a game kicked on him, yeah he tries hard but is not up to afl football. Nat Rat must play black flank and release dempsey to the wing. Im really liking zaka's game the kid has got balls and some senior players should take notice he was one of the only players in the last quarter against geelong that can hold there head high.

Winderlich is the biggest front runner in the comp i so much would love this guy to turn into a superstar but he doesnt have any impact when the chips are down, his workrate this season has been very average he isnt hungry for the football and is finally injury free. No excuses. Hopefully the boys can get a win and start playing with a bit of confidence.:footy:

Where does this Prismall love come from?

He was a good ordinary mid at Geelong, and nothing has changed. The turnovers and fumbling cost us goals on Sunday.

Never said prismall is a gun, just he gets his own pill and has done well since coming back from a knee reco.

Maybe you should re-write you essendon timeline

2009- 8th
2010- 12th
2011- 12th Knights sacked after finally admitting his game plan is fatally flawed/ slattery playing local football
2012- Premiers/ James Hird coach.

Hoping for this:
Loving this side. We will win more games than we lose if we can get that side onto the park with the inclusion of Hurley next week.

I think this team has the right mix of speed and hard bodies. There was a thread last year based on whether we can play McVeigh, Welsh, Prismall, Watson, Hocking and Stanton all in the same side and the general consensus was no we cannot. Together they are all too slow and we need to be selective of who we play. Watson, Stanton and McVeigh when fit are locks, it then comes down to either Prismall, Welsh or Hocking for the last spot.

With players like Houli, Reimers, Dempsey, Dyson and Zaharakis it gives us a bit of speed and dash in the midfield.

Lets hope Knights sees it the same way.

Edit: Didn't realise Melksham was going to debut this week. Good luck to him!