Preview Changes vs Collingwood

• Thread starter Thread starter NTRabbit

I was told last week by some people who should know that hes had the tap on the shoulder. I know I sound like Rucci here but im inclined to believe these people.

Right decision, but it still pisses me off. Why did we keep him in the list?

If he's performances in the SANFL demanded selection, then, as a listed player, he should be in contention.

I'm with Alex as well - Porps was 'meh' last night; if it wasn't for two lucky goals, I'd have him as a definite out. With those two goals, it'd buy him a weeks respite, but he's out the next mediocre game he plays, or when LJ is back.

Side note; Porps is another who looks unfit and slow.

Too much time focusing on his biceps, not enough time focusing on running and foot skills.

Watching with a couple of mates last night, one of who went to school with Thommo and has a big man crush on him - he commented that Thommo's guns were nowhere near as big as they'd been in past years.

Have a look at the replay and see whether you agree or not; I hadn't noticed, but I think he's right - doesn't look anywhere near as buff and defined as in previous years...

Can't believe people are bagging Thompson. Is his current lack of form due to injury or due to the fact that he has pretty much single-handly carried our midfield for the last 3 years.

If selection was nostalgia based Michael Jordan would get wheeled into the stadium in a coffin for eternity.
Unfortunately Thommo is completely out of sorts right now with ball in hand and without, his opponent tears us to shreds every week.

I have been worried with S Thompson for a few weeks now. He is still getting the possessions but no impact.
Ins: Grigg, Lyons and Mackay. Smokey: Hartigan. Graham???
Some positional changes might be seen this week depending on selections.
Out: Riley, McKernan and Jaensch.

I liked Jaensch in previous seasons, but seriously I think I have to agree with others about him.

We wouldn't be noticing Thompson's drop off so much if there were more midfielders taking up the slack.

Instead Dangerfield and Sloane are at similar levels to last year. van Berlo and Mackay have offered nothing. Vince only a little. Wright less than zero. Only Douglas is offering anything in advance of last year.

We either need Thompson to be a perennial AA player for the next 5 years, or for some new midfielders to emerge and share the load.

Instead Dangerfield and Sloane are at similar levels to last year. van Berlo and Mackay have offered nothing. Vince only a little. Wright less than zero. Only Douglas is offering anything in advance of last year.

Slight disagreement - Sloane is offering less than last year. Not as little as van Berlo and Mackay, but not as good as last year.

Out: Jaenschy (Sorry mate, but enough is enough) Riley (Cruel) Smack (Dumba**)
Grigg, Lyons, LJ if he shows enough. Otherwise Bling for his farewell game.

You should go watch the game again and stop having such low expectations fir how he plays. If you think he played well, your expectations have dropped so far off the chart, it's not funny.

You have to lower your expectations after a loss. I would drop half the side if I could, but unfortunately we can't.

Thommo tries to break tackles and doesn't take the first option, he is fumbly and most of his kicks are clangers or hospital passes. Just really out of form, probably just got a sore back from carrying us for a couple years.

Going by the stats, it looks like Petrenko is putting a good game together for the Eagles.

18 possessions just before 3/4 time

So you can almost suggest he will be an.

Going by the stats, it looks like Petrenko is putting a good game together for the Eagles.

Would be a definite in if the game wasn't on Friday. Will be interesting to see selection this week- Jaensch may survive another week by default. Surely Grigg gets his opportunity and Lyons comes back in now. Wouldn't mind seeing Hartigan either although I'm not sure they'd bring in two debutants for a Friday night match vs Collingwood.
I reckon we can cope with one ruckman this week.

OUT Riley, McKernan (Jaensch)
IN Grigg Lyons (Hartigan/Mackay)

Hartigan a must IMO. I've not seen him but I understand he has played some good footy when switched forward. We need to have a look at him in defence and throw Talia forward or just start Hartigan forward.

Either way we need a look. The other must is Grigg of course .

I've given up on Lyons and not because of his ability

23 touches including 5 rebound 50's and 5 inside 50's. Kicked 0.1

I wonder what position he played for them?

Will they bring Pets in on a 5 day break ? Risky, which isnt what we do. Maybe use him as a battering ram to stop Swan getting 30 000 touches. Looks to me as if Grigg come in and the other 2 changes we can raffle.

Hmmmm interesting question isnt it. My answer would be yes. Grigg seems to be much like Lyons but with a weapon left peg. Would like both in but be happy with one.

Question for those baffled with selection:

Would you be happy if Grigg gets a run, but Lyons doesn't?

Lets say the only changes are:

Out: Riley, Smack

In: Grigg, Hartigan

How would you feel?
Disappointed that Jaensch is allowed to stink it up for a 4th game in a row?

How would you feel?

Would be more than happy with that. As said previously I've given up on Lyons, clearly something going on we can't see

Correct Vader... Jaensch has to be the omission surely. Won't help Lyons though... presumably they will return to Petrenko

How would you feel?
Conflicted.

I'd obviously be happy for those blokes to get a run but our midfield is just looking so thin. Dalziel and Masten ran rings around us.