Preview Changes Vs Dorkers Round 3

Blink and you'd miss it, but I think I saw him starting in the centre for one bounce-down later in the game. Pretty sure he cleared to advantage of a team mate in space - have to re-watch to check I wasn't imagining it. Looks a classy clearing it out of centre.
That settles it we need two Yoes. That would be a Yoe Yoe or a player that goes up and down. Yea.

Why would you drop Bennell after one sub-par performance and bring in Butler who was even worse in Round 1?

I'm actually dropping Bennell for the height of McInnes. As for Butler the simple answer is the goal scoring power of Freo's small forwards.

Heaven help us if Bennell was sent to shut down Ballantyne or Walters

Based on? Just interested in what you think. I get that his attacking mindset is great to have but i question he can do it both ways?
His attacking mindset is enough for me, I think it is very valuable. Nelson is doing a great lock down job on the smalls at the moment which means we can afford it as well. I think Jamie didn't play his best game last night but continued to dash out of defence and did a reasonable job at setting up several attacks. Not to mention that I thought Butler was terrible in Round 1 and doesn't deserve a spot any more.

Unfortunately I can't have an opinion on Butler's R1 game as I didn't see the game but if as you say he was terrible against the Bulldogs smalls, the chances that Fremantle's speedy smalls will do the same to him need to be considered.

From 2016 I definately see Nelson regularly playing that Butler role. I just see him with his experience especially against a team with dangerous small forwards as a necessary player. If we take a similar back line in as we had last night I reckon 4 of our back six in Gov, Yeo, Nelson and the other small defender, without knowing exact figures, I reckon they would have played less than 10 derbies between them.

The difference in pressure between a regular season derby and a NAB Challenge derby or game against the Bulldogs and Blues is significant

Who was on Hurn last night? Shut him out of the game more or less.

A real shame about Tunbridge, one of his best efforts I thought. I guess I must take some responsibility for making the "Tunners to dominate" call pre-match!

Out: Tunbridge (inj)
In: Lamb

Ellis and Scooter have to come back via WAFL IMO and the new defensive set-up deserves a chance to gel - chopping and changing unnecessarily is going to be counterproductive. I really thought the spoiling to the boundary and the effort to help each other in a contest was good last night albeit under minimal pressure after the first quarter. The better forwards and better service they will get from the Dockers mids will give us a good handle on how resilient we can be down back.

McGinnity was poor last night, even by his standard but against Freo I just don't see any merit in the alternatives - Hill, Karpany and ???
If only Hill had McGinnity's attitude :(

Will be little changes with a big win. Mcginnity maybe dropped but who to play a defensive forward role? Possibly Ellis?
Tunbridge out and Duggan to play a full game. Ellis to sub.

When was the last time we beat the purples?

I would suggest that the win/loss would be close to about even now

Last win was 2012 in the first derby

Derby record is 21-19 so they are closing in fast

McGinnity was woeful. Was not in the same postcode as Yarran in the first half as a lock down player, and was moved off him in the second half and was pretty much just a forward flanker. He didn't do anything as an offensive player either. Has not had a good fortnight, and is not good enough to play at this level. I'd rather play a young runner.

I just want to focus on the bolded bits and say not this garbage again. Is it going to be a weekly thing here?

Want to see us get smoked in clearances and hard ball gets sure drop Priddis. Colledge isn't good enough to tie the bootlaces of Priddis. This is a derby WE NEED TO WIN. Dropping Priddis almost hands Freo the trophy already on Friday.
Didn't hear much from the Priddis fan boys last week, interesting.

I just want to focus on the bolded bits and say not this garbage again. Is it going to be a weekly thing here?

Want to see us get smoked in clearances and hard ball gets sure drop Priddis. Colledge isn't good enough to tie the bootlaces of Priddis. This is a derby WE NEED TO WIN. Dropping Priddis almost hands Freo the trophy already on Friday.
The number one, single reason Priddis gets so many hard ball gets and clearances (if you can call a 1 metre sideways handball to a teammate under pressure a clearance?) is because 95% of the taps are straight down to his feet, you could put almost anyone in the middle in his position and focus 95% of the taps to him and he'll lead us in hard ball gets and clearances. Priddis is rubbish and our ruckmen need to show some more variety with their tap work.

I'd have thought Freo was one side where our lack of key defenders won't hurt us. They still haven't got anyone but Pav have they?

Gov takes Pav, Schofield takes Clarke, Yeo might even get to play on someone his own size for once. Or even move into the middle!

With the 9 day break, we will be nicely freshened up for the purple flogs. We should be a good chance to do them.
I hope the 9 day break will give Tunners time to get up for the clash. We will need his versatility and mongrel.

With the 9 day break, we will be nicely freshened up for the purple flogs. We should be a good chance to do them.
I hope the 9 day break will give Tunners time to get up for the clash. We will need his versatility and mongrel.
We wont have the space and time to set up and deliver the dispisals , Freo have a way of shutting games down and WCE disposal falls in a heap , followed by the kick over the top to a free running Ballantyne / Walters/ Pavlich .

Hopefully not this time .....hopefully we have turned the corner !o_O

W e wont have the space and time to set up and deliver the dispisals , Freo have a way of shutting games down and WCE disposal falls in a heap , followed by the kick over the top to a free running Ballantyne / Walters/ Pavlich .

Hopefully not this time .....hopefully we have turned the corner !o_O
I want to see how they go against Geelong first but I reckon they will play better football this year than they did last year. We could honest to god be smacked this time around.

The number one, single reason Priddis gets so many hard ball gets and clearances (if you can call a 1 metre sideways handball to a teammate under pressure a clearance?) is because 95% of the taps are straight down to his feet, you could put almost anyone in the middle in his position and focus 95% of the taps to him and he'll lead us in hard ball gets and clearances. Priddis is rubbish and our ruckmen need to show some more variety with their tap work.

Still don't see why Colledge would do a better job than Priddis in that role

So you want to send McInness to Ballantyne or Walters?

No. As I said before he goes to one of the three talls. But if Bennell is forced to play a accountable role in defence where stuffed which is why Butler should play. Bennell and Butler rotated in and out of the best 22 each week depending on the opposition?

I'd have thought Freo was one side where our lack of key defenders won't hurt us. They still haven't got anyone but Pav have they?

Gov takes Pav, Schofield takes Clarke, Yeo might even get to play on someone his own size for once. Or even move into the middle!

The only tall addition in there best available team would be Taberner as a CHF.

Preview Changes Vs Dorkers Round 3