Preview Changes Vs Essendon- Round 4

• Thread starter Thread starter FreoRicci

I'm tipping Sandi and Clark will start on the field with Taberner as sub. Clarke to spend a good part of the first half rucking with Sandi parked deep in the forward line. When Clark runs out of steam, Tabs comes on as a hard running forward and Sandi does the majority for the ruckwork from then on.

Can't wait to see young Joshy tear it up - just hope he can run the game out strongly.

Mayne is a better mark than Tabs.

Not so sure going by what I have seen at training mate. Tabs has some great hands.

Super happy to see tabs and josh in, both these guys have been working hard and deserve a shot.

What really excites me about this lineup is that its totally new and no-one has any idea what to expect. Our forward structure has been so predictable for the last two years, but Josh and Tabs could add a whole new dimention ( As a side point zac has also looked far more comfortable in the forward line at Peel these last two weeks than he has for some time. Far less planting his feet for marks and a lot more leading!).

If you watch the last wafl game, you'd see in the second quarter that tabs and josh started to show a bit of forward chemistry together ala Pav and Walters which to me is an exciting prospect. These two inclusions more than anything could make things far more changeable up front. :thumbsu:

Colin has been improving and has been showing some real form at Peel. He will get his shot very soon and I look forward to seeing what he can bring to the table - but personally I believe that tabs and josh have had to work far harder than Colin has to get to this point... Which is why there were selected over col this time round, as a reward for sheer hard graft.

Can't wait for Sunday!! :D

Yeah, agree. He really is in to replace Mayne - simple as that really. He will probably be a better mark than Mayne but he's miles away from being able to provide the up the field work and pressure that Mayne gives, so will be interesting to see how that pans out.

I assume you mean several years from now?

He he. Yeah, something like that. Probably meant to say he'll provide a similar style of lead-up marking capability.

Tabs has nice hands and is a solid lead up mark - he just needs to show it at AFL level. Mayne has shown he can grab a few himself of course and has obviously developed that AFL level pedigree. But Mayne's recent form hasn't been sensational, lets face it. I could see Tabs providing a similar capability (in that area only I'm talking about).

Rapt for Josh but puzzled by no Sylvia. If ever we needed mature hard bodied mids it's this week.
Hope Ross is making a statement, basically telling Sylvia to work harder and play the freo way. He should be in, look at Essendon's midfield then look at ours, hopefully a late change but I doubt it.

Rapt for Josh but puzzled by no Sylvia. If ever we needed mature hard bodied mids it's this week.

Agreed. You can run and spread all you like but without a teammate getting their hands on the pill first you may as we'll be wearing tutu's and dancing the swan lake..
Obviously the brains trust have faith in the current extractors / team balance and I hope to hell that's the reason for his omission.

Suban / Neale will feel the heat if they don't perform this week IMO

Agreed. You can run and spread all you like but without a teammate getting their hands on the pill first you may as we'll be wearing tutu's and dancing the swan lake..
Obviously the brains trust have faith in the current extractors / team balance and I hope to hell that's the reason for his omission.

Suban / Neale will feel the heat if they don't perform this week IMO
I was watching the second quarter of Gold Coast game today & during the period we got on top every clearance of importance was won by Fyfe or Barlow for a while. One passage that led to a goal Barlow had 3 involvements & was tackling everything that moved. Everything that was missing against the Hawks

I've watched Sylvia with great interest all preseason and have wondered if he's under instruction not to go as hard as he can all game.
I couldn't see why that would be the case(apart from nursing niggles)but he has been far too cruisy for mine.
Reminded me of Ye Olde Freo:We do class and are unavailable for unrewarded graft.
We were slaughtered inside against the Hawks and he hasn't come in(yet)!
My perception is that he has declared to RTB he wants to fulfil his potential and Lyon has said no worries.
He will need to be bursting out of his skin,and will be in the next few weeks.Big,fat,important messages are being sent and received.
He may come in for Sunday but I reckon he's being told not to think there's anyone around who can be kidded.

I'm still not sold on taberner - and I'm not judging him on his AFL performances to date, they've all been in tough conditions with little support.

If we're throwing a KPF in, they need to be able to impose themselves on a contest or compete in the air, so far, even at WAFL level, tabs body just doesn't allow it and he's not a power athlete so he isn't going to burn or out body guys on his feet. Yes he can run, but SFW, if you're not going to pluck it in the air, at least be strong over the ball when it hits the deck or we'll see it come back with interest.
I'd prefer Clark and sandi with one playing forward 70/30 and another mobile, pressuring mid size HFF instead of tabs.
It goes to show we are missing another solid bodied HFF as a Mayne back up....menagola isn't it, Duffy maybe, crozier is a different type....

I'm still not sold on taberner - and I'm not judging him on his AFL performances to date, they've all been in tough conditions with little support.

If we're throwing a KPF in, they need to be able to impose themselves on a contest or compete in the air, so far, even at WAFL level, tabs body just doesn't allow it and he's not a power athlete so he isn't going to burn or out body guys on his feet. Yes he can run, but SFW, if you're not going to pluck it in the air, at least be strong over the ball when it hits the deck or we'll see it come back with interest.
I'd prefer Clark and sandi with one playing forward 70/30 and another mobile, pressuring mid size HFF instead of tabs.
It goes to show we are missing another solid bodied HFF as a Mayne back up....menagola isn't it, Duffy maybe, crozier is a different type....

Say what now?

I've watched almost every one of his peel games slicedndiced - what you saw last week was about his best.
IMO his deficiency is his judgement of the flight. He goes under the ball far too often and doesn't always allow for body contact in the air in pack situations.
Look, I said I'm not sold on him yet, he's a KPF and I'm happy for the club to put some years into him but ATM he's weak and easily off balanced when playing against men. At this stage in his development I don't like the fact he's one paced, I don't like the fact he doesn't have much spring and poise in the air and I think his biggest deficiency is keeping the ball in his area once it hits the deck - so to have that in a team that struggled to get and then maintain possession last week I'm not sold on his selection.

Just my opinion

Good to see Freo taking a chance with Josh Simpson and Taberner.
Under the circumstances, I'm thinking why the hell not?
Give them a chance to showcase themselves, and for us to see who they are.

I've watched almost every one of his peel games slicedndiced - what you saw last week was about his best.
IMO his deficiency is his judgement of the flight. He goes under the ball far too often and doesn't always allow for body contact in the air in pack situations.
Look, I said I'm not sold on him yet, he's a KPF and I'm happy for the club to put some years into him but ATM he's weak and easily off balanced when playing against men. At this stage in his development I don't like the fact he's one paced, I don't like the fact he doesn't have much spring and poise in the air and I think his biggest deficiency is keeping the ball in his area once it hits the deck - so to have that in a team that struggled to get and then maintain possession last week I'm not sold on his selection.

Just my opinion
I think you've summed him up beautifully. I hope he can have a bit of an impact but he doesn't fill me with confidence at this point.

Just my opinion

Good points and well made.

Yet they revert back to our initial disagreement about Morabito as a CHF.

I still contend that a large lad with a big tank, sticky hands and a nice kick doesn't have to be a beast in the air to be effective.

Taberner can crash a pack, albeit not like a Carey, and take a pack grab but that isn't his strength.

Nor is it the way of modern day footy. We all love to see it yet sadly it is becoming all too rare.

Simpson and Taberner - babies. Five team changes vs zero team changes. This is looking ugly on paper. Will be one of our best recent wins if we can pull it off.