Changes vs Essendon

Really? I must have missed our defensive six trying to take the game on, we missed Pittard massively and quite possible was the difference. Pittard is the only one that tries to consistently take the game on and most of his turnovers are caused by flat footed team mates in the forward half.

I thought the week before against Collingwood we slowed up a little coming out of defence and he was in the team. How hard is it to take the game on by all then? I don't understand why it isn't happening, especially when I see players go sideways and to pockets (deliberately) instead of taking a direct path to goal, someone isn't listening then.

thats the question Baz.. it doesn't seem hard does it? when they take the game on they look great because they have players that are suited to that game style. As for Jay Schulz, I don't understand why he is so often around near the middle of the ground, surely if he runs back to the forward square his player will follow him?

I am gutted by how this year has fallen into place. The last two years we had dash, dare, excitement, confidence and courage. This year we are weak, scared, slow, stubborn and stale. Ken connected with the youth and leaders at the club, and helped them believe in themselves and his game plan. The only thing wrong this season is what is between our coaches/players ears- WTF- which has affected their skills/decision making.

Time to get that 'young' and 'never die' attitude back. Focus on simple things - contested possession, and tackling/smothering, kicking/handballing and running into space. Get consistent games into those who will feature in our future. 7-8 games into those young fringe type players - where they don't fear being dropped - and one or two young key big men will do our club the world of good - Ken should have done this weeks ago.

Sorry, but some of the older/leadership type players must make space in the firsts - I'm talking Schultz, Monfries, Lobbe, (perhaps even Ebert/Stewart/Jonas). What is the worst that can happen now? A team ready to roll next year, better draft picks, or a surprise 2015 finals campaign, driven by our youth - now that'd be good for the future....

Surely Stewart has to go. Was half a second late to impact on several contests over the game, half his kicks were sideways chips while the other half were half-volleys forward. No tackles a big factor too.
I'd back Ah Chee in for a full game again. Was disappointing, but at his age a string of games at AFL level could be the best thing for him.

The two main factors in the Showdown were getting killed at first possession from stoppages and allowing loose men a kick ahead of the play for them. Having a spare defender deep in defensive 50 is no good if they can pass it to someone unattended on the 50 line who can bomb for goal from there.

Not that it really matters:

In: Jonas, Moore, Palmer, Pittard, White
Out: Ah Chee, Lobbe, Neade, O'Shea, Stewart

Ins:
Jonas - can't see him playing SANFL, even though he should, reckon he'll come in after a couple of weeks off
Moore - playing for his Port Adelaide career
Palmer - debut the kid and let's get some hope for the future
Pittard - return from injury (hopefully)
White - return from injury (hopefully)

Outs:
Ah Chee - extremely poor on the weekend and will almost certainly be dropped
Lobbe - extremely poor on the weekend and should be dropped - will probably be a liability on Etihad, looks like Renouf these days
Neade - not enough impact at AFL level
O'Shea - gap between his best and worst makes space seem small
Stewart - doesn't offer anything at AFL level and isn't played in his most effective position anyway

thats the question Baz.. it doesn't seem hard does it? when they take the game on they look great because they have players that are suited to that game style. As for Jay Schulz, I don't understand why he is so often around near the middle of the ground, surely if he runs back to the forward square his player will follow him?

team first footy I guess they call it, all defending at once....???? lets just get back to footy. If Jay was told don't move outside the forward 50, I bet his defender will stick with him after his first goal... I don't know if I believe players or coach, confused.... mentally weak i'm guessing, the wheels just fell off this year.

This thread is depressing...for the simple fact couldnt care if we brought back sam gray pittard moore....

Whatevs....this team has sunk to a new low with me...

Disappointment after disappointment ....

Same bloke carrying the rest....players playing well below their best...

its yahoooo ho hum happy days with our coaches who really dont give a s***

I dont care about losing...I have sat through a lot of s*** this club has produced ....

this club right now represents underachievement embaressment by the riches...

its getting ridiculous to support this club....I have never ever been so pissed off with it...even after 119 2011 and 2012....

We as supporters just sit here take it with our pants down every freakin time....

we have a good list in a matter of fact one the best this year is another freaking embaressment this is not the time for losses we should be home and hose playing in finals ...but nooo we are sitting here discussing changes about players who obviously just dont give a f*** as long as the cheque gets paid...
When I think of Port, I think, "Good upcoming team".
When people think of Essendon, they think "peptides, pig brain extract, drugs" etc.

Chin up mate.

team first footy I guess they call it, all defending at once....???? lets just get back to footy. If Jay was told don't move outside the forward 50, I bet his defender will stick with him after his first goal... I don't know if I believe players or coach, confused.... mentally weak i'm guessing, the wheels just fell off this year.
Just in this. From memory the game started with Robbie getting a free kick near the edge of the square after Ollie got it to him. Just the defensive side of the wing.

Looping past near the man on the mark was Schulz. How is our full forward so far up te ground less than 20 seconds from the start of the game? Why would he be running so close to the man on the Mark in that part of the ground, when we just had a clearance and would have been sending the ball forward?

Just in this. From memory the game started with Robbie getting a free kick near the edge of the square after Ollie got it to him. Just the defensive side of the wing.

Looping past near the man on the mark was Schulz. How is our full forward so far up te ground less than 20 seconds from the start of the game? Why would he be running so close to the man on the Mark in that part of the ground, when we just had a clearance and would have been sending the ball forward?

Coaching and forward structure. Some people are naive enough to blame Schulz for this as if he gets freedom to do whatever he wants, or he is disobeying directions, but it has happened too many times now and we know it is the way he is being coached to play in 2015. It is why when people give him shit and put his name up to be dropped, I ask them to consider who could do better in the role? Certainly not any of our magpies KPF.

We just need to get back to playing footy. See ball get ball, the players are probably confused!

I like Sam Gray's efforts in contested situations quite a lot to be honest. I don't care what people say, he could be a very handy midfielder.

As a small forward he has been pretty inconsistent, but name a small forward other than Wingard who hasn't been?

I think Paul Stewarts most effective position now is social club advisor. He has zero impact on games at AFL level.
I feel like he is pretty good for a depth player though. Not sure that he is worth keeping on, as it's often better to play younger guys with more potential, but I feel comfortable that he does his job when he is in the side, which is more than you can say for other guys.

No way would I bring jonas straight back in... Clurey has shown more than enough to keep his spot for the duration of the year!!!

Our draft picks has become the most interesting part of the season. Not sure team selections really matter anymore. It's over guys, the year is done. Apart from some glimpse of what could of been - November is our month.

Poo, poo, poo, poo, salt.

It doesn't matter, the year is over. Tell Polec, Bobby and Jonas to relax and get their body right for 2016. Give an extended run to Moore, Young, Ah Chee, Amon, Palmer, Neade, O'Shea and Redden until the end of the year to show what they are capable of. Blood Palmer and Harvey. We need to think long term. Development of these so called depth players is crucial for 2016 if we want to challenge for top 4.

As much as I love Stewart and Mitchell, they don't offer enough at AFL level.

Butcher - LOL - Please

Because continuing to play 28yo Paul Stewart as an undersized tall forward in a 6-9 team that cannot make finals isn't laughable?

We should be giving one of Butcher or Harvey the next 4-6 games without consequence.

Because continuing to play 28yo Paul Stewart as an undersized tall forward in a 6-9 team that cannot make finals isn't laughable?

We should be giving one of Butcher or Harvey the next 4-6 games without consequence.
Butcher over Stewart for that reason all day!

Stewart can stay as he has versatility, but Butcher needs to be given the rest of the season to show what he can do.

Yep.
I get the feeling that Kern is one stubborn mother.

i really see no long term benefit for dropping ah chee after one quiet game. it does no good at all, what? "oh you need to go back to work on some things"? are you bloody serious ken if so? leave him in to garner more experience & get further afl ready for next year. if we can go into '16 with the arch in prime condition & ready to make a real impact on the comp playing & starting in the middle, it'll be such a massive tick for us finding that next inside mid. we may not think it but these next 7 games are crucial for that boy's development.

Heading over for this one, expecting some negative comments toward Ryder and Monfries from the locals, should make an entertaining night in the crowd....and want to see effort from the lads, its a long drive home after a loss!!