Changes Vs Essendon

If you are happy to play players that are not doing anything at all weekly, then you are exactly like Wallace.

Some players DESERVE to be dropped. This is not a free ride.

Which players deserve to be dropped then?

Let me know and I will shoot Wallace of an email, I will let him know it came from "Jisha" on Bigfooty. He will probably mess his dacks in fear:rolleyes:

This club is further down the road than I thought, maybe it's true that the tigers fans are ferals that love to eat their own. (Well some anyway.)

You do what you think is best to satisfy you mate, just don't moan next week when the players you bring in don't perform:thumbsd:

OUT
Simmonds (Finished)
Bowden
Raines (SHOCKING TODAY)
Collins (rest)
IN
Patto
Thursfield (should have played every week nearlly first selected)
Thomson another in and under
Riewoldt

Polo was pathetic today aswell his gutless efforts are making me sick over the last 2 weeks he would really wanna harden up or piss off

Out: Simmonds, Raines, Moore (Not 100%), Bowden
In: Pattison, Riewoldt, Thursfield, Connors

OUT
Simmonds (Finished)
Bowden
Raines (SHOCKING TODAY)

IN
Patto

Polo was pathetic today aswell his gutless efforts are making me sick over the last 2 weeks he would really wanna harden up or piss off
did you forget about reiwoldt? or think he needs another week at coburg.

Simmo out for good!!!..What happend to graham today?? i was listening to the radio and didn't hear his name much. I dont want Reiwoldt to think that he is safe in the team for now because we have a sh*t foward line!! except Nahas- Smallest player out there....Biggest heart!!!.

Which players deserve to be dropped then?
Are you saying that all our players played well today? Were you actually impressed with another pathetic game by Simmonds? Are you happy that some of our players are playing for themselves, not the team?

Just because you seem a little slow, I mentioned Collins, Simmonds and Moore.

Simmonds has done nothing the last 3 weeks. Yes he kicked 4 goals last week, but that was due to a lot of hard work getting the ball to him. The shots he had I would expect a player to kick.

Collins is a good kid, I have enjoyed watching him play since playing Under 18 footy, but he needs to get more of the ball. He needs a spell.

Moore - is carrying a nagging injury. Give him a break and let Thursty have a shot.

Let me know and I will shoot Wallace of an email, I will let him know it came from "Jisha" on Bigfooty. He will probably mess his dacks in fear:rolleyes:
That is just horrible. If you are not quite sure yet this thread is titled 'Changes Vs Essendon'. But please feel free to send Wallace an email from me, saves me having to waste my time.

This club is further down the road than I thought, maybe it's true that the tigers fans are ferals that love to eat their own. (Well some anyway.)
If this club was ran by people like you we would still be playing the likes of Tivendale and Hyde just because 'we don't want to eat our own'.

You do what you think is best to satisfy you mate, just don't moan next week when the players you bring in don't perform:thumbsd:
So are you saying pretty much our players at Coburg should just stop trying? We do not need them right?

Whether the players that come in perform or not, they cannot be any worse than some of our players running around the field right now. A lot of them need a rocket up their arse.

I cannot believe I just wasted that much time replying to you. :thumbsd:

OUT
Simmonds (Finished)
Bowden
Raines (SHOCKING TODAY)
Collins (rest)
IN
Patto
Riewoldt

How was his effort gutless? He was the one who could have cleaned the player up. He never looked like he was in the contest imo. It looked worse than it was imo

For eight weeks now the team has had a revolving door from VFL to AFL and back to VFL.

I have no problem in dropping players who are injured or underperforming, but their performance must be over several weeks not just one.

Collins for instance will learn more form AFL than VFL. Given the position we are in now he should be given even more of an opportunity.:thumbsu:

My point is to stop the revolving door, to allow the side to settle in and play their positions to the game plan. Simmonds whilst not high on my list as a forward target should not be dropped if he was playing to the instructions of the coach( I don't know what they were, do you?).

Too much emotion in a knee-jerk reaction:thumbsd:

If we had won today......would as many people be out for blood? Probably not.

It looks like some post match emotion clouding the team line up for next week:eek:. Nobody interested in settling down the side? Just want blood, want changes for the sake of it?
You are all as bad as Wallace, playing for week to week not the big picture.:thumbsd:
Put your emotions back in the holster. We need to use the brain, not the heart:thumbsu:

The equation is quite simple.
We are 1 - 7.
Any team picked from now on should be with 2010 in mind. Not essendon round 9.

In which case bowden and simmonds should be outs.

Brown and Cousins stay in because they are good examples. Cousins for his gut running and brown for his decision making.

Raines should be dropped because he is useless and needs to learn to respect his opponent. Ebert hurt us on many occassions and if someone did a job on him we would have won.

And by the way.... "you are all as bad as wallace" are fighting words. What a bloody insult!

If this club wants to ever go anywhere they will never play Bowden again. They tried him in the forward line for a few games at the start of the season and that failed which ultimately lead to him going back into the backline. Brain fades, miss kicks, chip passes and forces the rest of them to play his shit style. If it was anyone else they would of been dropped last week. No long-term future and offers little in the short-term.

Simmonds just is no good, like it or not he is slow, fumbles and should never play again either. No long-term future and offers little in the short-term.

To include Raines off the back of that horrible VFL game was a disgrace too and you wonder why he had a shit AFL game???

OUT: Simmonds, Bowden, Raines, Moore (Carrying shoulder injury and should give him a rest. Why play him injured when we are 1-7 anyways?).

IN: Post, Thursfield, JR, Vickery (Was in best 4 or 5 in 2's. Bring him in and rotate him in the ruck and pinch-hit at FF with Graham. Was in best 4 or 5 at Coburg). If you watched Post in the NAB Cup you would realise he is not out of his depth playing AFL and it's not 'Throwing him to the wolves'. Essendon chuck youngsters in, look what happens. So does Freo, West Coast, etc. Perfect game to bring in vs Essendon too.

Note - Didn't include Thomson or Hislop in the inclusions even though they made 2's bests. I know for a fact they're both carrying injuries. Should not be playing players who are not 100%.

That is all.

A lot to like about Collins...except his disturbing knack of getting run down...usually you'd say it was a lack of awareness , but in the one where he was nabbed in the last quarter , he actually had a look behind, saw the Port player was quickly gaining on him , yet still decided to keep running...so maybe it was just over confidence...

For eight weeks now the team has had a revolving door from VFL to AFL and back to VFL.

I have no problem in dropping players who are injured or underperforming, but their performance must be over several weeks not just one.

Collins for instance will learn more form AFL than VFL. Given the position we are in now he should be given even more of an opportunity.:thumbsu:

My point is to stop the revolving door, to allow the side to settle in and play their positions to the game plan. Simmonds whilst not high on my list as a forward target should not be dropped if he was playing to the instructions of the coach( I don't know what they were, do you?).

Too much emotion in a knee-jerk reaction:thumbsd:

If we had won today......would as many people be out for blood? Probably not.
I do see what you are saying with the revolving door type situation, but some of these players have been pretty shocking the last couple of weeks.

Fact is even in a winning side there is always going to be a player or players that struggle. If we won and players like Simmonds still played like he did, I would want him to have a spell. He may be just struggling with fitness, confidence or maybe he has a nagging injury himself, who knows... Fact is he has been playing VFL grade football.

I don't know what his game plan was but I am pretty sure Wallace would have expected more from him. 3 Kicks, 4 handballs, 2 marks, 11 hitouts. He got smashed in the ruck duels and barely touched the ball. Put him into the reserves and see what Patto can do. This season is over now, it is silly to be playing players that will more then likely not be around next year.

Either way in a perfect world we would not need to have as many ins and outs, but as it is we are 15th and a few players are just simply struggling right now.

On the Collins matter, you are 100% right that he is going to learn more in AFL then VFL. He has the skills to have a permanent spot in the 22, but right now he is still young, still undeveloped and is looking tired. He has worked hard to make the team, he has kept his spot (rightly so) but he needs a break.

I am a pretty positive person towards the tigers and our players. I still think JON is going to become a good player, but just not yet. I think Blinger today really stepped up to carry on his good form. That is great news.

We have a group of really talented kids playing for us right now, but we also have a group of good kids stuck in the reserves that are playing some pretty good football themselves, I just believe that you reward the players that are busting their guts in the VFL and you discipline the players that are struggling constantly in the big league. Thats footy!

We are 1 - 7.
1.Any team picked from now on should be with 2010 in mind. Not essendon round 9.

Brown and Cousins stay in because they are good examples. Cousins for his gut running and brown for his decision making.

Raines should be dropped because he is useless and needs to learn to respect his opponent. Ebert hurt us on many occassions and if someone did a job on him we would have won.

2.And by the way.... "you are all as bad as wallace" are fighting words. What a bloody insult!

1. Sorry, my mistake I thought I was on the "Changes Vs Essendon" thread not changes for 2010:o

2. Wallace has changed his side week after week trying to get a win and keep his job. Those that wan't to change the side week after week to get that win should go and stand next to him in my opinion. Take it how ever you want!!!

1. Sorry, my mistake I thought I was on the "Changes Vs Essendon" thread not changes for 2010:o

2. Wallace has changed his side week after week trying to get a win and keep his job. Those that wan't to change the side week after week to get that win should go and stand next to him in my opinion. Take it how ever you want!!!

You're missing the point.

The majority of level headed fans want to see a glimpse of the future, see who can play and get games under their belt. What benefit is there playing an underperforming ruckman in his 30's?
When the season is shot - it's a moronic view in my opinion.

By the way prowler. If you have this whole stance about keeping the same team in you perhaps should not make posts like this -

Sometimes the hard decisions have to be made for the future:thumbsu:

I hate comparisons between clubs but take the hawks, how many 30 plus players did they have last year? Crawford,..........can't think of to many others.

We would be better playing the mature recruits we have drafted in the last couple of years and filling the spots of the over 30's with young trades/drafts.
What you are saying here is going to be hard if you don't want to drop any players from the current team.

To play the kids means we need to swap around players to figure out the best possible team.

As you say "Sometimes the hard decisions have to be made for the future"

Im not sure why you would drop Collins , reckon he is doing more than enough to hold his spot. (Granted if sore but thats the only reason)

Especially this week give him the chance to play in the 'dreamtime' game playing Essendon who consist mainly of kids. Dont think there are too many big bomber players.

Thought Simmonds was poor against Brisbane as well as today, and Graham is going better no need for Simmonds will get run of his feet against Essendon.

Would not be surprised if JON is recalled for the "Dreamtime" game.

Riewoldt was asked to go back to Coburg and enjoy his footy , you would think he will come back only got dropped to get some confidence back with 6 goals you would think he has done that.

All I want is to see someone develop and be a player for the future. I am sure that's what we all want.

But dropping players one week to VFL where they then put their hand up and come back in a few weeks is detrimental to developing a team that plays together, learns together, wins together.

This club has had too much time floundering and we all want success, some at any price.

Every week we lose we look for a scapegoat, the easiest is the player(s) who played worst.

I along with many would like to see all the 30+ guys go to VFL and elevate the youth. The downside is these players then play well in the VFL and we then demand a recall. IMO this needs to stop, we need to stop the knee-jerk changes and accept where we really are.

The future is promising we just need to all embrace the journey and not deviate for quick and short term gains.:thumbsu:

Out:
Polo - teach him that when its your turn to go you have to go.

Haha..I heard that comment by the Fox Sports Commentators today, do agree though there is much more talent around that will put there head over the footy and contest...

We are 1 - 7.
Any team picked from now on should be with 2010 in mind. Not essendon round 9.

And by the way.... "you are all as bad as wallace" are fighting words. What a bloody insult!

I'll agree (to disagree) and I know I will cop flack for this post.

The thread to me mean you play a team full of rookies only.

I agree dropping Bowden if he is out of form, but the guy has averaged 30+ possies a game in the last 4 weeks [admittingly a lot of uncontested possies]

I'm not saying to keep Bowden for the sake of it, but dropping a guy when he gets 30 possies a game is a bit unfair don't you think? There are 22 positions in a team. Even if you get 10 rookies in your side, surely there is room for Bowden (in the last 12 positions).

Does that mean that Melbourne should drop C.Bruce, R.Robertson and co and Essendon to drop Lucas, Lloyd, etc? I don't believe Robbo and Lucas would be dropped unless they were out of form, but Bowden seems to be the scapegoat.

Maybe there is less tolerance due to the fact that Tigers have not been doing well in the last 5 or so years, but Bowden's 15, 22, 44, 28, 28, 35, 14 possies are decent number to anyone standards, besides the first and most recent game. Yes they are uncontested, but Bowden still gets the ball, still tries to make play.

I am okay with dropping senior players where there is a drive for youth, but dropping a senior player for the sake of it...I don't know about that....

Yes, Bowden is in my Supercoach [and that's how I know he gets these high number of, yes I know, uncontested possies]. But if Lucas got dropped for the sake of it, I'd be annoyed. Lucas was dropped as he was out of form, even though Bombers have a drive for youth too.

Anyhow, Tigers are improving I must say. Good luck, but Go Bombers!

I'll agree (to disagree) and I know I will cop flack for this post.
The thread to me mean you play a team full of rookies only.
I agree dropping Bowden if he is out of form, but the guy has averaged 30+ possies a game in the last 4 weeks [admittingly a lot of uncontested possies]
Anyhow, Tigers are improving I must say. Good luck, but Go Bombers!

Richmond have struggled without Richo in the forward line. We'll struggle without Bowden in the backline as well, but we need to find out who will stand up.

Rance is injured but I'd rather see thursfield in the team than Bowden.