Changes vs Fremantle

Hutchins is best 22, Masten comes out.
Ideally you swing Rioli up the ground when he’s fully fit.
Cameron looks the goods but he’ll fade quickly in 2019 and Petch will come back in. His raw pace is differential.
Oscar Allen can’t second ruck alongside Nic and has been ineffective as a third tall. I’d prefer someone smaller, or more mobile.

Eventually Simmo will land on a fully fit best 22. Maybe just in time for September.

Masto gets crap for a lot of things which everyone lets slide for other players.
Ball bounces away from him, didn't get behind it.
Team mate doesn't take a contested mark, s**t kick.
Gets tackled after a hospital hand pass, too soft.
Hits a leading player lace out, crickets.
He's no worldbeater but once you are in the gun with Eagles supporters there's no escape.
If Masto kicks it out on the full the abuse in the stands is palpable, when Duggan, who does it more often, does it you get silence.
He'll be gone soon enough, it would be nice if his last games weren't accompanied by abuse from his own teams supporters.
Even umpires dont give him a go , oh its Masten yeah . Holding the ball . He definitely is victimised .

Hutchins is best 22, Masten comes out.
Ideally you swing Rioli up the ground when he’s fully fit.
Cameron looks the goods but he’ll fade quickly in 2019 and Petch will come back in. His raw pace is differential.
Oscar Allen can’t second ruck alongside Nic and has been ineffective as a third tall. I’d prefer someone smaller, or more mobile.

Eventually Simmo will land on a fully fit best 22. Maybe just in time for September.

Allen has too much value to not be playing imo, he seems to be involved at important moments of every game and stands up.

Oscar is only out if injured, which doesn’t seem to be the case, why so many people suggesting he is out?

He was clutch in the last yesterday, provides so much flexibility and backup (forward/back/ruck) and simmo rates very highly as per post match Q&A.

As long as fit and competing this boy will stay in the side regardless of conditions and opponents.

Amen.

Future of the club. Way better value than anyone else who could replace him ( Brander possible exception) and the more games we get into him now the easier the transition after JK retires

Masto gets crap for a lot of things which everyone lets slide for other players.
He's no worldbeater but once you are in the gun with Eagles supporters there's no escape.
If Masto kicks it out on the full the abuse in the stands is palpable, when Duggan, who does it more often, does it you get silence.
He'll be gone soon enough, it would be nice if his last games weren't accompanied by abuse from his own teams supporters.

I don't mind when he turns it over or gives off hospital handpasses.
He has his limitations and I have pretty much have low expectations of him.

Everyone can't play like Beau Watters or Woosha.
But when it's your turn to go, you must go.

He ran past the Hawthorn player and the ball because he didn't want to
engage in any body contact. This cost us a goal.
In my view, it was unforgivable.

And then you have OA going back with the flight of the ball to take a mark.

It was no coincidence IMO, that he was on the bench for the last 5 minutes when it was tough and hard.

I'm not a constant Masten bagger, only call it as I see it.

Agree. He must have photos of the MC in that satanic orgy they held last year.

And you can have a low possession, high impact game. However, that particular thing is for your tagger (the missing H), lock down defender (Nelson) or goal scoring forward. NOT for your hard running, link wing man/outside mid. When you have one running machine getting 30+ touches and 4-5 tackles a game and the other getting 6-13 touches, no defensive pressure, no scoreboard impact and virtually no tackles, the spotlight rightly needs to be on.
To be fair, we use Gaff around the play, which helps him get those numbers. He's often running the tight lines when we go long down the wing, and genuinely links us up.

Masten runs the open space on the fat side all day, and if we had access to more detailed stats we'd probably see his possessions coming from switch and intercept chains; when we're able to utilise that space with quick play. He's playing a very specialised role, I guess there must be a lack of competition if we keep selecting him.

I've been neither her or nor there on Masten, but his last few weeks have thrown me into the camp he has to go, i watched his soft utensil efforts last week at times and it is a total waste of time with him. When it's your turn to go hard you should, something i saw last week was him taking the easy option when it was his tun, he was shown up last week by a kid how you should put your body on the line you do. When Petch or even Venables are right get one of them on the wing, some serious speed out in the open would be very nice.

Very happy with our mates down the road selecting Sandi, no footy for a year and he is back for a derby, he has never been the quickest mover and he's logged a lot of miles on that big frame, all Hickey and Nic need to do is run him around for the first half and he will be cooked by half time and effectively they will one man down, Nic looked rooted last week and he is a little bit more athletic than Sandi. So much for the rebuild from Ross, dropping a youngster who needs game time for a veteran on his last legs.

I wonder how much Masto’s stocks would’ve risen had he kicked that goal late in the GF
I had a laugh when he was lining up, thinking it could be the making of him. Slot that, win us a flag and pick 3 in 2007 draft suddenly looks ok.

Then he missed. Typical Masten.

Does anyone watch the video where Simpson talks about the final 22 each week? He specifically mentioned that Masten has been playing a 'negative' role. Make of that what you will.

Yep, he negatively affects our chances of winning.

I'm not a long term Masten hater, but in the role he is currently playing, I cannot see what he possibly he adds to the 22 to justify his selection.

He's not getting high possession numbers, he lacks the size, strength or height to be an effective defensive player, he's dreadful overhead and his disposal issues are well documented.

If he is simply there for his running ability, why not Josh Smith? He's 5 years younger, a cm taller, has routinely smoked it in WAFL, and won all the time trials this preseason.

I had a laugh when he was lining up, thinking it could be the making of him. Slot that, win us a flag and pick 3 in 2007 draft suddenly looks ok.

Then he missed. Typical Masten.

I'm a big Masten knocker, but he wasn't alone in missing sitters in that last quarter.

He was talking about Hutchings playing as a forward in a negative role. Didn’t mention Masten

What a load of s**t.
He is a midfielder who has gone from averaging 22.5 possessions in 2017 to averaging 13.8 in 2019.
Let me repeat...he is averaging less than 14 touches a game
He doesnt do much else defense-wise, averaging less than 2 tackles a game, so what IS he in the team for? His attack on the ball is barely noticeable, he never blocks or spoils or tries to stop marks, his paltry 13.8 touches all come from link plays where he is in the open receiving the ball....You know, just like Gaff does. Except Gaff gets more than twice as much, and goes hard with tackles and blocks etc... Masten does nothing apart from act as a link in chain of play. Just that now he does it much less often.
When his limited skills were serviceable, around the 2013 mark, he was doing his link up runs a lot, but now days more often than not, he is completely invisible during games.
Again, if he is not getting a heap of the ball and gaining ground, please someone tell me what positive he currently has in the team?