Preview Changes vs Geelong

• Thread starter Thread starter Chadwiko

I'd like Hine to go to Selwood.

I thought of that. It would be a huge task for him, but I think Bastinac or Cunnington head to head will suffice.

I like the idea of sending Hine to Motlop. Let's really cut out his run from the game. Motlop has carved sides up through the middle, and if he hits the scoreboard, you can bet they're all up and about. A career high 29 touches and 4 goals last week in a break-out season. He'll be feeling good about himself. So let's sit Hine goal side of him, follow him up the ground and impede as much run forward of centre as possible. Pressure all of his disposals and it limits his effectiveness quite a bit.

Taylor has the pace and tank to go with him, and the discipline and hardness to perform the role.

I thought of that. It would be a huge task for him, but I think Bastinac or Cunnington head to head will suffice.

I like the idea of sending Hine to Motlop. Let's really cut out his run from the game. Motlop has carved sides up through the middle, and if he hits the scoreboard, you can bet they're all up and about. A career high 29 touches and 4 goals last week in a break-out season. He'll be feeling good about himself. So let's sit Hine goal side of him, follow him up the ground and impede as much run forward of centre as possible. Has the pace and tank to go with him, and the discipline and hardness to perform the role.
And that is more in line with how Hine has been utilised to date.

Cunners and Selwood at stoppages. I'd consider rotating standing him between JZ and Cunners. All three are see ball, get ball types so it would be a ding dong battle.

Goldstein played his best game of the year and we can exploit Geelong'ss lack of ruckmen, not the time to gift Currie a game after he was outplayed by Mabon in the VFL.

Harper also had 11 disposals and struggled to have any impact.

We won by 122 points and barring Swallow the poorest performer was Thomas who got beaten by Dunn.

Just the one change for me:

Out: Swallow
In: Jacobs

If Greenwood wants in I want him taking Hine's spot.
good post, agree with it all

Very narrow viewpoint, we need to see what he can do and he needs to learn the game at senior level. Nothing against Tarrant at all when I suggest we play Daw. I'm looking at next year not 2013.

Then wouldn't Taz stay?

He needs as much footy as possible.

And that is more in line with how Hine has been utilised to date.

Cunners and Selwood at stoppages. I'd consider rotating standing him between JZ and Cunners. All three are see ball, get ball types so it would be a ding dong battle.

He was pretty good on Yarran even though he hit the scoreboard a few times. The other to consider is Varcoe, but Motlop is in ripper form.

Yeah, regardless, it'll be a good test without the skipper. On second thought, Jack with the bigger body, might spend a majority of time on Selwood. It also depends on whether Stevie J plays predominantly through the middle.

Bit hard because Tarrent's early games were as a backman. But he played 7 games in 2011 (after playing his first 2 in 2010) and his averages were:
Kicks - 7.4
Handballs - 3.4
Marks - 3
Tackles - 2.7

He was the same age in 2011 (22) as Maj is now.

Thanks JZ, you're right it is a bit hard to glean much from that given the different positions they have played, an old saying comes to mind 'lies damned lies and statistics'. I suppose the future of both Tarrant and Daw depends upon team requirements in 14/15 and probably who we are prepared to trade to recruit the players who will be in our next premiership team. FWIW I don't have any hate for Tarrant I just think Daw offers more for the future.

if we go with the " lachie loose in back50 " set up, harry taylor must not be allowed to be their loose in our F50, whoever lines up on him must stay close to him at all times and not allow him to zone off, or drift forward, disagree with the basti to selwood theory, not strong enough to tackle him at clearances, levi looks like a good match up for him at stoppages

Why would we give Goldy a break when we play the Cats when we could have done it against Melbourne?
Because our season is over, and we need to test players that we haven't yet tested.
People are also forgetting that Gawn (young & inexperienced) only had 3 less possies than Goldstein, hardly his best game.

This is a nothing game, either way you look at it. Try the kids, test the waters.

How will we know if these sorts of players are worth keeping if we play the same blokes every week.

When talking Tarrant it can't be ignored that his start was stifled beyond belief due to the four shoulder recos.

Yep and even with Black, it's hard because his first 6 games were spread over a 3 year period.

Black's first 6 games:
4.5 Kicks
4.7 Handballs
2.7 Marks
1.3 Goals
2.8 Tackles

Black's first 6 games of 2013:
8.0 Kicks
5.8 Handballs
5.0 Marks
2.5 Goals
3.2 Tackles

Out: Swallow
In: Greenwood.

Logical and most suitable replacement. Don't want to see Jacobs, and Gysberts probably isn't doing enough.

Garner apparently played well again, so if not Levi's direct swap I wouldn't mind TG to be sub as he appears very talented.

Some people still calling for Harper to get a call up is beyond laughable!!! The bloke would be lucky to get a touch at training... He barely racks up double figures in the two's... The sooner everyone realises he is shit, the better!!! I hope we give Jacobs another crack this week.

People are also forgetting that Gawn (young & inexperienced) only had 3 less possies than Goldstein, hardly his best game.

He had 30 more hitouts which is a more relevant stat, and managed to kick a couple of goals too. He smashed it.

Some people still calling for Harper to get a call up is beyond laughable!!! The bloke would be lucky to get a touch at training... He barely racks up double figures in the two's... The sooner everyone realises he is shit, the better!!! I hope we give Jacobs another crack this week.
He isn't shit, mate. He has some of the best skills at the club but lacks the smarts for the role we seem keen for him to play.

i like how people are suggesting j-mac should be dropped....very much so a downhill skier....his one of those players i cant see being in our best 22 next year....eaisly luke mcdonald takes his spot....

also for swallow, i'd like to see ben jacobs get a game, i reckon his ready to show everyone why the roos wanted him and why port did not want to lose him

for me these last few games for black and tarrant are so important, they need to show brad that they can ruck now and then, if they dont show they can hold up the ruck role for at least 25-30% of the game, brad will be forced to drop one next year in favour of Majak or Currie (if he stays with us).

I only suggest he should be dropped because his tackling is poor atm and he goes into slumps where he can't hit team mates cleanly nearby under no pressure and if there is a major momentum shift against us I think he will be one of the exposed weak links in the side.

However, he does have the tools to be a very good AFL player and does things in games only good footballers can do. It is just not consistent enough imo.

People shouldn't just assume Luke will take his spot. McKenzie has a ton more class than Horse does but he isn't an automatic selection ahead of him.

I have every confidence in him that he will step up eventually, I just want us to pick a side with the best chance of winning. Horse is a lot like Scott's gameplan, it looks good when it is coming off but when shit hits the fan it implodes big time.

He isn't shit, mate. He has some of the best skills at the club but lacks the smarts for the role we seem keen for him to play.
perhaps if he got more than 4 touches a game... he might be able to showcase some of these skills he has. Has been extremely disappointing for the past couple of years & since being dropped, has been hopeless in the twos...
There are much more deserving players waiting for their chance.

Im happy to stand by my comment that the bloke is shit!! I'd be stoked if he can prove me wrong in years to come... I'm not holding my breath.

perhaps if he got more than 4 touches a game... he might be able to showcase some of these skills he has. Has been extremely disappointing for the past couple of years & since being dropped, has been hopeless in the twos...
There are much more deserving players waiting for their chance.

Im happy to stand by my comment that the bloke is shit!! I'd be stoked if he can prove me wrong in years to come... I'm not holding my breath.

I'm not saying he should be picked. I just think calling him shit is stupid. This time last year were you saying the same thing about Ben Cunnington?

Kieran will be back.

He showed more than enough in his first year of football to suggest he'll be at a minimum, a solid AFL footballer.

Worst call of the year?????:mad:

Pods got a week - that is a win as he was in good touch last Sat night. Only one monster to worry about now.
Vard wil go forward too.

Unit.