Preview Changes vs Geelong

• Thread starter Thread starter Chadwiko

Do we keep Cam Delaney in the side? Yes he was very good last week, but does he have an appropriate match-up? With JPod out, Geelong's tall forward stocks are Hawkins (Thompson), Brown (Grima) and one of West or Blicavs (Hansen). I don't think they can afford to swing Taylor forward, especially with Petrie, Tarrant and Black to contend with. I think we can really win at both ends of the ground. It's all about the midfield for me.

Interested in why the Kangas tend to play well at Etihad, particularly against Geelong. Is it the fast midfield/fast surface thing?

Probably that and the dimensions of the ground suiting us, not to mention being very used to the environs and confident playing in front of our home crowd. Aegis Park's reconfigured playing surface is the same dimensions as Etihad as well these days. Plus, we've been utter poo in the wet and windy elements this year, as proven by the final quarter v the Cats last time, so the fact it SHOULD be dry each game must also be a factor.

we play well there in patches, especially early in games but we also seem to grind to a halt and lose our shape later in matches as well. That might be a fitness issue but it also happens we opposition teams get their confidence back and start to really bore in. I'm hoping that when Geelong come at us, someone or two really stand up to obstruct their run and ball winning i.e JMac, Basty or Greenwood (I'd bring him in for Swallow). Cunners and Ziebell seem worn out once the opposition's run begins

Do we keep Cam Delaney in the side? Yes he was very good last week, but does he have an appropriate match-up? With JPod out, Geelong's tall forward stocks are Hawkins (Thompson), Brown (Grima) and one of West or Blicavs (Hansen). I don't think they can afford to swing Taylor forward, especially with Petrie, Tarrant and Black to contend with. I think we can really win at both ends of the ground. It's all about the midfield for me.

TBH i would bring in jacobs at the expense of Delaney, the backline is just way too tall for Geelong. They have so many ground level players who are quick down there.

If Firrito comes back then I will burn the internet down.

Can someone PM me the internets address so I have it just incase please.
Right here mate: 74-84 Napier St Essendon VIC 3040

Burn away.

Has anyone analyzed how much we will miss Spitta? Is he leaving a hole too big to fill? Is there a like for like who can replace him or will the whole team structure have to be rejigged? Will we be flogged tomorrow night because of this crucial change to our line up? :confused:

JUST READ THIS: (going to be really interesting to see how we cope without him)

North Melbourne forward Aaron Black has spoken of the void that will be left for the rest of the season, and considerably after, following the Achilles injury to skipper Andrew Swallow.

Speaking on SEN 1116 on Thursday, Black said it was "shattering" to lose Swallow for close to 12 months.

PRESS PLAY above to listen to the interview | YouTube

"He's probably one of the hardest people at it. I was reading somewhere that he laid 100 more tackles than anyone else in the last five years so obviously the guys in the midfield will have to step it up.

"He's got real spirit, he's a great on-field leader and he leads by example," he said.

According to Black there is no shortage of other leaders who can step up at North to fill the void.

"They do that quite regularly at training sessions and on match days. I think they'll handle it quite well," he said.

Black joked that stand-in skipper Drew Petrie was "walking around his chest puffed out" but was pleased that his forward line colleague had got the nod.

"He's really good. Obviously I work very closely with him in the forward line," he said.

The Kangaroos will try to win every game for the rest of the year to try and keep their miniscule finals hopes alive.

"Towards the beginning of the season we matched it with most teams so we just have to go out there with the same intensity, give it everything we can and if we win every game from here that would be fantastic.

"We have got nothing to lose, so we'll try play the best footy we can," he said.

Against one of the most immature ruckmen in the league who has been hampered by injury in a game where we dominated by 122 points.

So he did exactly what he should have.

Has anyone analyzed how much we will miss Spitta? Is he leaving a hole too big to fill? Is there a like for like who can replace him or will the whole team structure have to be rejigged? Will we be flogged tomorrow night because of this crucial change to our line up? :confused:
Top 10 for tackles and top 5 for clearances. So not only is he our best at getting the ball away from stoppages he's also the best at stopping the other team from getting away. Yeah, you could say that's a rather big hole to fill. We need JZ, Cunners, Adams, and Levi to all step up a notch.

He'll be a significant loss no doubt.

As a leader, as a contested ball winner, as a feeder, as a stoppage winner, as a tackling machine/, and as arguably our most important and consistent performer, he will be difficult to replace. I see it as a really good challenge for our younger midfield. Those who have stated in jest or not, that we should rest Andrew to get an indication as to who would fill the breach, well we're going to find out tomorrow night.

Levi/Jacobs the likely two inclusions. In saying that, I think Basti should move from the outside link-up receiver to inside midfielder where he has performed at his best. Cunners and Jack to add the extra grunt. Brad may look at giving McKenzie a full game or bring in LA and play the extra runner.

On form, Levi would get the nod. He has runs on the board at VFL level, but also AFL level this season. I have a feeling Jacobs or LA may get a look in.

Nathan Vardy says hi.... Would possibly expect West, Blitz, Vardy, Hawkins all to be forward at some point. HT and Brown probably wont be seen forward as you have way too much height and talent to leave unattended.

And yes, Mids will be vital in this one...

Go Catters

TBH i would bring in jacobs at the expense of Delaney, the backline is just way too tall for Geelong. They have so many ground level players who are quick down there.

He was a large factor in us losing the game last time against the Cats. Multiple diabolical bits of play and an awful freekick against for a tackle at the worst possible time. I'm not keen to relive that just yet....

I agree our backline looks too tall with Pods out though. In saying that it will simply depend on what squad they pick, and we will find that out soon enough.

Whats this i hear Terry Wallace wants to see us play Liam Anthony, i mean i know wallace is an orange crab looking flog, but this takes it to a new level...

So he did exactly what he should have.

Correct, but I wouldn't say its his best game of the year, just because he beat up on such a young ruckman in a team that got pumped by 120+ points.

Anyway, I also think we still need to test out what it's like to play both of them against someone.
With one of them obviously getting subbed off probably early-mid 3rd quarter I would say.

We really need to just try a few new things/players to test the waters while we have the opportunity, before next year starts.

The stat which stated we had tested 3 less players across the season than any other team is damning. We had so many average performers across the year and blokes knocking the door down for an opportunity and they still haven't had a shot.

That is just my opinion.

Whats this i hear Terry Wallace wants to see us play Liam Anthony, i mean i know wallace is an orange crab looking flog, but this takes it to a new level...

This will probably be the one and only time in my life that I agree with this flog Wallace, but yeah I want Anthony to have the rest of the year along with Greenwood to show Scott why they should be kept or let go. I think the others in contention are better suited to next year and will all be kept for another year anyway.

Brown's days forward are done will play 3rd tall defender, vardy CHF with west and Blicavs in ruck.
It's funny what perspective does as i can see the cats winning both ends of the ground.Have a feeling this will be a close game and should be a battle of the forward lines as i realistically can't see our tall defenders being beaten

Levi/Jacobs the likely two inclusions. In saying that, I think Basti should move from the outside link-up receiver to inside midfielder where he has performed at his best. Cunners and Jack to add the extra grunt. Brad may look at giving McKenzie a full game or bring in LA and play the extra runner.
On form, Levi would get the nod. He has runs on the board at VFL level, but also AFL level this season. I have a feeling Jacobs or LA may get a look in.
I feel similar. Give Basti and Patch more time in and under and bring in a runner... maybe. We could give McKenzie a full game and/or bring in Anthony. He isn't popular but if we want to control possession on the outside we need options. LA gives us options, it's just that he burns it half the time :oops:

The only problem with the extra runner is not adequately covering Swallow's defensive output and tackling.

I heard that he has something like 100+ tackles more than the next player in the competition over the last 4-5 years. Impressive...

A big reason why Levi, or Jacobs will come into heavy consideration imo.

And, there you go.. Like I suspected, Jacobs would get the nod over Levi.

In: Jacobs and Delaney.

Out: Grima and Swallow.