Preview Changes vs Geelong

Nah Stewart is a spare for Westoff if Gus comes in he wouldn't want to have the hammy blow again can't see it happening. Homsch for Young maybe Hoon for Gray on previous form against the Cats.

I would 100% back Wingard and Monfries if the fitness staff feel they won't do any further damage. But I have a feeling we will give Monfries another week.

OUT
Young
to go back and play a full game for the Magpies as I would prefer to bring Newton in for the clearance and all round form he is in.
O'shea out for Hombsch, see O'shea as part of the future but Hombsch's execution is much better and reducing turnovers will be key I think.
S Gray to go back because I would like to see a specialist runner to come in, Mitchell for the sub.

IN
Newton
, deserves a shot and timing feels right.
Hombsch, lock in defender now.
Mitchell, would love to see the Mitchell come on just before 3/4 time and run his guts out.
Young was already killing it up in the SANFL, needs to stay in the team.

PORT Adelaide midfielder-forward Angus Monfries will push for selection this weekend after training freely at Adelaide Oval on Thursday morning.

Monfries injured his hamstring against North Melbourne in Round 3 and it was feared he would miss several weeks, but he has surprised fitness staff with his speedy recovery and runs like he is ready to play.

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...hamstring-injury/story-fnia6ojc-1226894771337

Young was already killing it up in the SANFL, needs to stay in the team.

I agree he was killing it, I think they deserve that spot as much as each other but doesn't hurt to send him back to the Magpies so he doesn't lose his form. Obviously doesn't get the pill as much as he does in the SANFL, so go back there get some footy while bringing in a red hot Newton for debut. Rotating that one position between Young, Newton,Moore, etc will give more players a chance to show they're worth at AFL.

Nah Chris Judd came on as sub and was showing how hard a sub has to run once on, at more risk of injury as sub.
Agree ... If you are not fit enough to start the match, then you are not fit enough to play at all! I reckon you will see Monfries included in the squad, allowing for a final decision to be made Saturday.

http://travisboak.com.au/behind-the-scenes/
Travis Boak said:
Question from Dominic Economou, Findon
Who do you expect to have a good season in 2014?

Answer: The two guys I said would have a great season at the start of the year were Robbie Gray and Ben Newton and both have started really well. Robbie has put his knee troubles behind him and is playing some of the best footy he ever has and Benny has absolutely dominated the SANFL and is very close to getting a call up to the AFL.
http://travisboak.com.au/behind-the-scenes/

Maybe this week ;)

I think Monfries will be selected along with Hombsch going by Hinkley's media video. Personally I would like to see him have one more off so he's definitely available for the Freo and Hawks game.
Went to training today and both the above trained well. I reckon Monfries himself will have the final say. He's an experienced player who will do what's right by the side.

Hombsch, Newton and Neade the ins. Hombsch is in the 18 so we'll definitely have at least one out, probably Sam Gray or O'Shea. If Newton comes in as well, Gray and O'Shea will probably both go out. Can't see Neade getting picked just yet. And Impey is also in the 18 so we can rule him out as an omission.

Not liking our forward line. Really wanted to see one of Stewart or Monfries in to give us that lead up forward we noticeably lacked last week.

Yeah Hombsch in

Pittard/Gray out will be the only changes

Bring on Sunday, the squad is good enough to beat them

Hombsch, Newton and Neade the ins. Hombsch is in the 18 so we'll definitely have at least one out, probably Sam Gray or O'Shea. If Newton comes in as well, Gray and O'Shea will probably both go out. Can't see Neade getting picked just yet. And Impey is also in the 18 so we can rule him out as an omission.

Not liking our forward line. Really wanted to see one of Stewart or Monfries in to give us that lead up forward we noticeably lacked last week.

I would have liked to have seen Stewart in, but oh well.

I doubt Neade will get a game, but Hombsch will I reckon.

As for Newton... I hope he can get a game, but a bit unlucky to whoever he replaces.

Preview Changes vs Geelong