Preview Changes vs Geelong

Contrary to popular opinion, I will come out and state that IMO Hombsch will be 100% certain to start on Sunday!! He didnt tear a hammy, he had signs of slight strain, and was held back as precautionary measure for this reason: So that he could be good to go against the Cats at AO! ... I reckon we will also see Monfries kill himself on the training track this week to pass the medical to play next week! .... The extra couple of days could sway it his way if he pulls up good in training this week.

Hamstring soreness is a funny one - can give a player a week off but then they come back and do the injury anyway or they stay out for the a few weeks so it may as well have been a strain. Carlile missed heaps of weeks from quad soreness.

too early to call ins and outs right now. except this

in 4 points
out the geelong hoodoo

given a nice day im confident of a 40 plus win, not saying we are that much better, but sometimes when youve been dominated by a team for so long the moment you get on top you dont let up. at adelaide we will score heavily so im confident of a big win.

too early to call ins and outs right now. except this

in 4 points
out the geelong hoodoo

given a nice day im confident of a 40 plus win, not saying we are that much better, but sometimes when youve been dominated by a team for so long the moment you get on top you dont let up. at adelaide we will score heavily so im confident of a big win.

Agreed. This our turf, the noise alone will unsettle the Cats. Man were the crows quiet in their game against the Giants. We owe Geelong big time, lets put them down a peg or two and bring out the sook in the Scott Sister

Hombsch surely will play. Out, don't know.

Young will be given a full game in the SANFL if he is not slated to start.

If Monfries comes in then Gray will probably make way.

A lot of sore bodies after the WCE game, so could be some surprises.

Clearances for 2014 (average per game)
1. Richmond
2. GWS
3. Gold Coast
4. Hawthorn
5. Carlton
5. Brisbane
6. St Kilda
=6. Fremantle
9. North Melbourne

14. West Coast
15. Port Adelaide
16. Geelong
Strong reverse correlation to wins. Obviously not an exact, one but not intuitive that it should be so.

Yep.

Clearance stats only matter if compared to total stoppages.

A clearance differential v opponent stat would be far more interesting.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

For the life of me I can't understand why people want Impey dropped! His second half was superb and he looks far from cooked. People were calling for Wines to be dropped back to the SANFL about 10 rounds in last year too.
Apart from the trial against StKilda Impey really hasnt done much. He's been doing some nice pressure acts and had a couple good moments in games but when he's getting games purely for development and being carried a bit i think it is fair that people start to ask that some of the performing players under him get a crack. He was good in the last half this week. Maybe enough to hold his spot but IMO he was very lucky to be selected this week and I'd be sending him back to the SANFL.

For me id like to see:
IN: Moore, P Stewart (sub), Hombsch
OUT: Impey, S Gray, Young

P Stewart gives us a bit more of a target up forward when he subs in than Young. Moore can also have more of an impact up forward but importantly might help in the clearances and Hombsch is an obvious in.

Hombsch surely will play. Out, don't know.

Young will be given a full game in the SANFL if he is not slated to start.

If Monfries comes in then Gray will probably make way.

A lot of sore bodies after the WCE game, so could be some surprises.

agree, but atleast we have 2 days more rest than geelong have today and a nice 8 day break for the team

Clearance differential to end of round 5 (except Hawthorn and Geelong)

1. GWS + 35
2. Richmond + 31
3. Hawthorn + 24*
4. St. Kilda + 24
5. Carlton + 19
6. Adelaide +12
7. Essendon + 5
8. North + 4
9. Fremantle + 3
10. Geelong + 2*
11. West Coast + 2
12. Gold Coast - 5
13. Footscray - 9
14. Brisbane - 13
15. Collingwood - 17
16. Port - 20
17. Sydney - 25
18. Melbourne - 66

I was at the game against eagles and I would keep Impey. He offers a lot of pressure when we don't have the ball.
I was not happy when we dropped Butch, but now it's 50/50 for me to bring him back. I think the reason our conversion was low was due to the entry under pressure, and this is expected due to the way the game was played. We were noticeably strangled, we could not get the ball out to our runners. Kudos to eagles.
Hope Hombsch comes back in and Westhoff plays more forward.

Newton, Moore + Mitchell best for the Maggies at 3/4 time.

Those and Clury to be considered for AFL next week.

Butcher only 3 possessions and no score - no chance for next week.

Just happened to look at the scores and stats and was about to ask if Butcher is injured or just having a bad/terrible game?

I've been thinking about it,

Not sure Geelong is the game to bring in the Newt. I would probably suggest to bring in Hombsch and Moore for Impey and S. Gray.

Newton to come in the following week and give someone a rest (like a Wines, or a Dom)

Moore the safe option to come in, but I reckon see if Newton can rise to the occasion.

P Stewart back in instead of Butch if Wingard misses.

In: Stewart, Moore, Clurey
Out: Wingard, S. Gray, O'Shea

I'm assuming that we won't risk Wingard, Monfries, and Hombsch. Newton played very well but I think we'll go with Moore against the Cats given his experience. Impey or Young to be the sub.

Preview Changes vs Geelong