Changes vs Geelong

Why are we comparing him to these spuds? Does it make him a better player or us a good team to say "Wow, you are better than Shaun McKernan and John Butcher". Shoot for the starts people. I know big men take time. Take as much time as you want. Sign him to a Franklin-esque contract for all I care. Just don't put him in the seniors til he is absolutely destroying the seconds taking 15 marks and kicking 8 on a regular basis. Thats what he should be doing in the seconds with a frame like that.
These are his 2013 VFL statistics playing as a ruck/fwd.
Kicks: 9.9
Handballs: 5
Disposals: 14.9
Marks: 5.4 (2.8 contested)
Tackles: 5.5
Goals: 1.5
Behinds: 0.9
Hitouts: 20.5

Why are we comparing him to these spuds? Does it make him a better player or us a good team to say "Wow, you are better than Shaun McKernan and John Butcher". Shoot for the starts people. I know big men take time. Take as much time as you want. Sign him to a Franklin-esque contract for all I care. Just don't put him in the seniors til he is absolutely destroying the seconds taking 15 marks and kicking 8 on a regular basis. Thats what he should be doing in the seconds with a frame like that.

He probably would if they didn't play on windswept shit heaps.

Come on, doesn't he have enough excuses being made for him with being a late developer and having an interrupted preparation? Scraping the bottom of the barrel with this one. I remember when Sav Rocca (similarly dominant frame at VFL level) kick bags of 8, 9 and 10 in consecutive weeks to get a game under Laidley. And if the problem is he's not playing forward enough in the vfl, do we need to get our own VFL team?

Mate lay off the shards.

He kicked 5 in his last VFL game dude.

He is outperforming Petrie who earns 5x what he does.

I think you need to look at the big picture: ie, we have no one else.

Wood should be in the team, I agree with you, but at someone else's expense. Not the bloke that costs us a tracksuit and a few huddle memberships for his mates.

Its irrelevant what his past experience playing football is. He's either good enough or he is not. This is a club that should have played finals the last two years and that on ability and draw should finish top 4. We have under achieved big time. We have an opportunity on Friday to plant ourselves in the top 4 by beating a contender. Its time to drop the project player and get serious. Wheel him in for a bit of sideshow entertainment against the rubbish teams for sure. But I sincerely hope he's doesn't play Friday. Do any of you who are potting me honestly think he has improved this year?
He's clearly improved. He hasn't been subbed once, he's getting to more contests and has had multiple shots on goal every game he's played. But thems just the facts so continue arguing.

Mate lay off the shards.

He kicked 5 in his last VFL game dude.

He is outperforming Petrie who earns 5x what he does.

I think you need to look at the big picture: ie, we have no one else.

Wood should be in the team, I agree with you, but at someone else's expense. Not the bloke that costs us a tracksuit and a few huddle memberships for his mates.
In no way is he outperforming Petrie. Completely Disagree. As out of form as Petrie is he is still miles ahead of Daw. One 5 goal haul in the VFL = Big Deal. And what does his cost have to do with anything? I completely agree we got him for a steal. Fantastic. Now he just needs to get 50% better than he currently is and we have a player. Given that he sucks at the basics and we are supposedly trying to win a flag, the vfl seems perfect. Wont go over the options to replace him again. Im getting repetitive now and will stop.

He's clearly improved. He hasn't been subbed once, he's getting to more contests and has had multiple shots on goal every game he's played. But thems just the facts so continue arguing.
No, thats fair enough. Valid Point.

I agree with ya, mate. Got all the athletic talent in the world and can do things no other player in the AFL can do, but, to put it nicely, lacks some decision making and brain power. He gets way too much leeway on here. Excuses galore.

I still reckon he's got a bit of improvement in him, but we are supposed to be pushing for top 4, we need polished performers. Wood should come in for him and Petrie goes back to the role where he plays his best footy. I don't think Scott will debut a player in a big game so we will have to wait until next week.

It's ok Maj has it covered......

upload_2014-5-20_17-39-5.jpeg

Seriously Maj hate is just ludicrous he isn't there yet. He may never arrive and be the Albert Einstein of AFL football YOU want him to be.

But personally I'd be gutted if he wasn't on our list. And please Wood isn't his ****en replacement, different types of players.

Wood going to ruck for a bit is he?

Daw offers so much but for some reason some people would rather focus on any short comings. Baffling really.

In no way is he outperforming Petrie. Completely Disagree. As out of form as Petrie is he is still miles ahead of Daw. One 5 goal haul in the VFL = Big Deal. And what does his cost have to do with anything? I completely agree we got him for a steal. Fantastic. Now he just needs to get 50% better than he currently is and we have a player. Given that he sucks at the basics and we are supposedly trying to win a flag, the vfl seems perfect. Wont go over the options to replace him again. Im getting repetitive now and will stop.

Cost has everything to do with it IMO.

He is outperforming:

Patton/Daniher/Boyd/Hogan/Nic Nat

And cost us a tracksuit and gym membership.

He will peak in 3-4 years mate, enjoy the "free ride"!

Maj has carved his own niche into the team as a full forward who can not only pinch-hit in the ruck for Goldy but can seriously dominate there.

We have noone else who can fulfill this role (unless someone still thinks Curry is viable).

I can't wait to see what Wood has to offer as a forward at AFL level, but he doesn't have a chance in hell of taking Daw's spot - they play completely different roles.

Wood for Black or one of the HHF's at some point maybe rounds 14 & 15 Melb and Bris.

Can mark, can give crummers use of ball at ground level, can win tap outs, can kick straight from set shots, causes headaches for defenders because of his stature and fat to lean muscle ratio. Has played under 10 games. Stfu with the Maj bs.

But yeah your probably right, let's chuck Wood in instead.

Can mark, can give crummers use of ball at ground level, can win tap outs, can kick straight from set shots, causes headaches for defenders because of his stature and fat to lean muscle ratio. Has played under 10 games. Stfu with the Maj bs.

But yeah your probably right, let's chuck Wood in instead.
Nothing wrong with a little Wood. You're probably thinking of Currie in terms of like for like.

Don't really see the need to devalue Wood (another very promising player) to promote Daw.

Poor call, both may well be playing together very soon.

The premise of the arguement is valid to argue, in that does playing daw on Friday night give us more or less chance to win.

To answer that you must firstly acknowledge that daw is a work in progress (strangely similar to all young KPF). Assuming you acknowledge that you then ask, do we still want to go in with three tall forwards. Assuming you do, you then ask, do we have a better option than daw.

Currie has shown that he can't play that role. Mason wood has been playing vfl, and hasn't played a game, and basically offers something similar to black.

So we are left with a resounding "GET OF MAJ'S BACK YA FLOGS"

He will and should play every game for the rest of the season.

The premise of the arguement is valid to argue, in that does playing daw on Friday night give us more or less chance to win.

To answer that you must firstly acknowledge that daw is a work in progress (strangely similar to all young KPF). Assuming you acknowledge that you then ask, do we still want to go in with three tall forwards. Assuming you do, you then ask, do we have a better option than daw.

Currie has shown that he can't play that role. Mason wood has been playing vfl, and hasn't played a game, and basically offers something similar to black.

So we are left with a resounding "GET OF MAJ'S BACK YA FLOGS"

He will and should play every game for the rest of the season.
Have acknowledged he is a work in progress. I am not satisfied that 3 talls is the way to go. Forward line is currently dysfunctional and I would like to see something different. Providing our 'structures' are too inflexible to accommodate this it would be my preference to try Hansen forward, especially given the emergence of Tippett as a legitimate option in defence. Apparently the suggestion that Hansen could play forward in Tarrants absence is obscene to some. Fair enough.

No-one with a fully functional brain could honestly think that Mason Wood would come in and have a higher chance of having more of an impact then Majak Daw this Friday night. The kid is playing some very good footy at VFL and definitely deserves a call-up, however at the expense of Majak who is finally starting to put things together at senior level? No chance. Mason doesn't need to be rushed, he will get his chance and I'm sure he will grab it with both hands. The most exciting thing is that our future forward line will include Wood, Daw and Black all running around together.

Have acknowledged he is a work in progress. I am not satisfied that 3 talls is the way to go. Forward line is currently dysfunctional and I would like to see something different. Providing our 'structures' are too inflexible to accommodate this it would be my preference to try Hansen forward, especially given the emergence of Tippett as a legitimate option in defence. Apparently the suggestion that Hansen could play forward in Tarrants absence is obscene to some. Fair enough.
How is Hansen forward "different"?