Preview Changes vs Geelong

K

What's so hard to understand that that is May and how he plays. What you think he's just gonna magically change his aggressive streak changing clubs.
Yeah

Funny how most teams can blood youth yet we seem to not want to or dont back in our guys. We had the equal least amount of debutants with 3 last year(Richmond and Port were the others). But port had 7 new players from other clubs we had Lever.
Why didnt Baker atleast get a crack when he was in the best for Casey. Petty got 1 game was pretty shit but there was no going we'll back ya in for another week so take some lessons from that game, its ******* hot out there isnt it youngin.
I dont understand why we can't back in some fresh faces. Id be going **** it lets give Bedford a crack as that small forward for this first month just go out and do your thing. selection panel picks all inside mids for the 8 or whatever mid spots. Can't just rely on contested footy and bombing it in long we lose the same way everytime
Its like you're forgetting we made a Prelim?????

Funny how most teams can blood youth yet we seem to not want to or dont back in our guys. We had the equal least amount of debutants with 3 last year(Richmond and Port were the others). But port had 7 new players from other clubs we had Lever.
Why didnt Baker atleast get a crack when he was in the best for Casey. Petty got 1 game was pretty shit but there was no going we'll back ya in for another week so take some lessons from that game, its ******* hot out there isnt it youngin.
I dont understand why we can't back in some fresh faces. Id be going **** it lets give Bedford a crack as that small forward for this first month just go out and do your thing. selection panel picks all inside mids for the 8 or whatever mid spots. Can't just rely on contested footy and bombing it in long we lose the same way everytime

Yeah, the fact Petty got dropped after one game gave me the shits. Did he have a bad game? Yep. But why drop a kid after one week? All that does is shatter their confidence, at least give them 3-4 games to actually show something.

If so the Joel Smith comes into consideration as that 3rd tall down back

I enjoy your posting for the whiz avatar. We should all switch to Farmer avatars for the 2nd half of all Collingwood games

Preuss needs to come in to play the enforcer role. Need to see the team being aggressive. Shameful that we let Lycett, Ryder and even their first year kids lay into Gawn with no retaliation. That’s worse from the captains than mistakes like dropped marks.

Preuss and May for Frost and Sparrow

Gawn will smash Geelong by his lonesome. Ideally you'd of had Preuss in last week, but judging off of the JLT he looked seriously underdone. Its going to take Preuss 5-6 weeks before he is AFL ready (in terms of running out games solidly). Keilty looked the better prospect in the JLT, but would need to come in for a tall, and pinch hit as a bonus.

Infuriating because Oliver and Brayshaw have to be two of the best loose ground ball winners in the comp, yet both looked inert on Saturday and as far as I could tell weren't being held.

Also the lack of physicality was pathetic on Saturday, starting with Gawn. Mate you're the biggest ******* campaigner out there, play like it. Viney and Jones also huge culprits here. Hope Goody called them soft because that is exactly what we were.

Seriously, Gawn was worked over. He has battered and banged up at most contests - even by players smashing into him when he wasn't ready. It takes its toll, he isn't a solidly built guy - he is actually quite thin. Gawn did a good job. Jack Viney should have stood up and provided some physicality, but maybe he was doing a good job just to be out there. Viney looked shot. Worst I have seen him look.

Also the lack of physicality was pathetic on Saturday, starting with Gawn. Mate you're the biggest ******* campaigner out there, play like it. Viney and Jones also huge culprits here. Hope Goody called them soft because that is exactly what we were.

Seeing Maxy change his path to a contest to avoid contact was hard to watch.

Infuriating because Oliver and Brayshaw have to be two of the best loose ground ball winners in the comp, yet both looked inert on Saturday and as far as I could tell weren't being held.

I have both in my supercoach. Watched them closely. Both looked underdone. Brayshaw was still finding the footy, I wouldn't worry too much about him, he just needs to sharpen up that left foot - and that should come with more game time. Oliver is Oliver, he will improve as Gawn does because hes a real gatherer of that tap (Gawn's taps were dramatically down). Petracca is the one I would worry about if I were a Dees supporter. Shades of Jack Trengove the way Trac was moving.

Seriously, Gawn was worked over. He has battered and banged up at most contests - even by players smashing into him when he wasn't ready. It takes its toll, he isn't a solidly built guy - he is actually quite thin. Gawn did a good job. Jack Viney should have stood up and provided some physicality, but maybe he was doing a good job just to be out there. Viney looked shot. Worst I have seen him look.
Still reckon there's an argument to be made for releasing Viney in bursts throughout the season but mainly making sure he's just ready for August/September.

Its like you're forgetting we made a Prelim?????
Oh you mean like the ****ing grand finalists collingwood with 7 and
Westcoast with 8
The other finalists 4 5 6 7 most had new players from other clubs on top of that.

Yeah, the fact Petty got dropped after one game gave me the shits. Did he have a bad game? Yep. But why drop a kid after one week? All that does is shatter their confidence, at least give them 3-4 games to actually show something.
It's why I don't understand why people would drop Sparrow he was no where near our worst player and should get a month to actually feel part of the team and see what he has got either way he builds confidence and starts playing with no fear or he knows he has to go back and work on things its a win win.

I have both in my supercoach. Watched them closely. Both looked underdone. Brayshaw was still finding the footy, I wouldn't worry too much about him, he just needs to sharpen up that left foot - and that should come with more game time. Oliver is Oliver, he will improve as Gawn does because hes a real gatherer of that tap (Gawn's taps were dramatically down). Petracca is the one I would worry about if I were a Dees supporter. Shades of Jack Trengove the way Trac was moving.
I don’t think Tracs movement is reminiscent of Trengove. It looked to me more reminiscent of x-box and lasagne

Still reckon there's an argument to be made for releasing Viney in bursts throughout the season but mainly making sure he's just ready for August/September.

I agree. He isn't moving as well, but he was moving very well late last year. Viney and Petracca in bursts could be of great benefit - if Petracca could find his explosiveness again. Maybe he will. Gee he did look slow though. It shouldn't be an ACL problem though because he has looked sharp post ACL. So whatever it is could/should be fixed. Maybe its game time, training methods, etc. Too good of a player to look like he is stuck in concrete.

Gawn was in hospital on Wednesday. Might explain why he struggled on the weekend

Nah he was smashed! He got worked over. Was targeted like I haven't seen a ruckman targeted. Its the hits you don't expect and can't see that rattle you, and Port were going out of their way to bump and crash into him, even unknown types were having a dig. It won't happen again, but I was astounded Viney didn't stand up and make his presence felt. He needed to. Oliver did try at times but he looked just slightly underdone, and Port were killing you guys on the spread.

Petty probably had the worst first game I've ever seen, to the point he had stopped running entirely by the fourth quarter he looked so shellshocked. IMO, taking him out the line of fire was the right call. He had a go and wasn't prepared, but he looked really good in JLT2.

Petty probably had the worst first game I've ever seen that day, to the point he had stopped running entirely by the fourth quarter he looked so shellshocked. IMO, taking him out the line of fire was the right call. He had a go and wasn't prepared, but he looked really good in JLT2.

I don't think its ever a good call to drop someone after their first game unless there is a clear 'in' that takes priority over them.

We'd just lost our 3rd game in a row, and were going the right way about throwing away another season that once had so much promise ... There was no way we could have persisted with Petty based on what he served up in that first game. Nor would it have been the best thing for him, the club has destroyed many a career doing the same in the past.

Nah he was smashed! He got worked over. Was targeted like I haven't seen a ruckman targeted. Its the hits you don't expect and can't see that rattle you, and Port were going out of their way to bump and crash into him, even unknown types were having a dig. It won't happen again, but I was astounded Viney didn't stand up and make his presence felt. He needed to. Oliver did try at times but he looked just slightly underdone, and Port were killing you guys on the spread.
so spending a day in hospital on a drip 48 hours before the game had no impact?

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

I agree. He isn't moving as well, but he was moving very well late last year. Viney and Petracca in bursts could be of great benefit - if Petracca could find his explosiveness again. Maybe he will. Gee he did look slow though. It shouldn't be an ACL problem though because he has looked sharp post ACL. So whatever it is could/should be fixed. Maybe its game time, training methods, etc. Too good of a player to look like he is stuck in concrete.
I reckon knee surgery and having training wound back cause it was making him piss again would slow you up

We had just dropped a game we should have won to the Saints & Petty was horrendous. What's more important? Getting the club back on track to make the finals or protecting a young players confidence?

Gawn was in hospital on Wednesday. Might explain why he struggled on the weekend
Yeah that explains a lot. He looked miles off, and it might not just have been because he was getting beaten up at every opportunity.

It also probably took a toll on Weid, as i vaguely recall thinking that he was taking more hit outs than I suspected.

Makes not picking Preuss really stupid tho.

so spending a day in hospital on a drip 48 hours before the game had no impact?

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Not saying it wouldn't have 'some' impact. But go watch the replay. Gawn was battered from pillar to post. It was a targeted attempt from Port - a team effort where even unknowns were bumping Gawn at every opportunity. Did Gawn's hospital visit prior to the game hinder his performance? Perhaps a little. Did it affect his performance as much as Port's targeted attempt to bang him up? I doubt it. Port really did a number on Max Gawn. Ken Hinkley even came out and said as much, and praised Gawn's durability under the circumstance.

Preview Changes vs Geelong