Opinion Changes vs Geelong

Im not saying that it is going to cost us the game, I have every expectation that our midfield will dominate enough to get us over the line. But I wouldn't want to see this structure against the likes of Melbourne, Fremantle and Stk. All of whom have 2 very capable ruck options.

With no dangerfield and a pretty weak ruck division there is every expectation that it might not present too much of a problem. But it would damning if it did. And it certainly wont work against those teams I've mentioned.

Compare the midfielders. Would we have the best 5 midfielders on the field. With English we should completely dominate the game. No doubt we will win inside 50s by a large margin. Let’s hope we lower our eyes and hit up targets but do not think our forward coach and Bevo understand that. The only reason we do not win by 30 plus will be poor coaching
How can we lower our eyes if we aren’t playing any forwards? We’ve got Naughton and Weightman up there with our tired chop out ruck and a bunch of midfielders.

Im not saying that it is going to cost us the game, I have every expectation that our midfield will dominate enough to get us over the line. But I wouldn't want to see this structure against the likes of Melbourne, Fremantle and Stk. All of whom have 2 very capable ruck options.

With no dangerfield and a pretty weak ruck division there is every expectation that it might not present too much of a problem. But it would damning if it did. And it certainly wont work against those teams I've mentioned.
Yeah that’s the thing, we should probably win tomorrow anyway - and when we do a certain few will come in here and wave their ***** around as per usual.

But this just isn’t helping us build towards a side that can compete against the best teams in the comp this year - why can’t we just keep the same structure for a month and build continuity and let the side gel. Madness.

Unless TOB is the chop out ruck, Buku (who can't run out 3/4 of a game and is 190cm and 85kg) goes up for part of each quarter against one of 2 blokes who, regardless of our perception, regularly play ruck at AFL level. Even TOB is under-sized for rucking. And if Khamis rucks, that's even less time he plays forward, as he'll need his 30% on the bench.

What could possibly go wrong for those 6-8 minutes each quarter?

So when Slim Tim is actually rucking, we'll need to dominate AND take advantage of I50s AND kick accurately.

Cats by 10 goals.

#bfisrightandbevoknowsit

Go Dogs!!!!!!
I reckon there is as much chance of Buku playing in the ruck as there is of this board ever gaining consensus on the ruck saga.

No matter what happens, this discussion will go on longer than 15 Disc The Lord of The Rings: Trilogy (Extended Version).

ToB may be undersized, but he did spend considerable time playing in the ruck at Ortawn. He'll fill the role and given a line has been put through Sweet he will be better at it than Schache or Cordy are.

I have infinitely more faith in Buku doing this than Jordan Sweet who despite playing traffic cones last week was completely ineffective.
Genuinely curious at what gives you the impression he can do it considering he has a max tog% of 67 in the past 3 weeks and has taken from memory just the single ruck contest at AFL level?

I really hope he can but it’s a huge unnecessary risk with no real plan B in the side, either that or we’ll use mids and maybe O’Brien which could be an option I guess.

If we’re going to use a mixture of Naughty forward 50 rucks, Keath defensive rucks, English around the ground and a slight chop out from mids and Buku that might get us through the game.

If that was the case Im interested to try it and it could work buy Id have liked to use the extra player we gain on the ground on a tall like Marra or Schache rather than just another nothing small like McComb/Scott. Plus I don’t really think it’s sustainable going forward so would rather just put something in plan that can carry us forward looking past this week - but should still get the job done with that set up tomorrow.

Sorry, we're driving our 4+ hour round trip to get to the game tomorrow night, probably home about 1am Saturday, so I'm getting a few sherbets in tonight, as I never drink at the footy!

Bevo is a beautiful human, his debonair looks move me - but FMD he's got some whacky ideas about coaching.

Go Dooooooogs!

Why play another tall when we can play Scott, McComb, McNeil, and West all in the same side. Marra and Schache haven’t even been named as emergencies.

All I can say, is that if we’re gonna go with the mosquito fleet they better ******* play like a mosquito fleet and just hunt and terrorize at the bottom of every contest.
3 consecutive wins. No predictable talls. 1 exciting screamer/scrounger, a confusion of talls, mids and smalls and a game plan beyond observers. There's always a spot for the bull Jones but, him and Naughton aside, pick the combination that works.

The coaching staff and the club ask way too much of Naughton. Yes the bloke is lauded in the media (and rightfully so) but anyone who truly evaluates the task this guy is given week to week really knows he's basically underrated. Lets run through the challenges he has.

- For starters the club has the added number around the ball. Often meaning the additional spare defender plonks themselves in front of Naughton. Allowing his direct opponent to grab and niggle him from the back position. A common misconception opposition supporters say about Naughton is that due to the mids we have, that he gets it on a platter. Well basically that platter involves him against 2 defenders.

- A revolving door of KPP partners, one week it could be buku, one week it could be JUH, one week it could be schache, one week it could be cordy. God only knows how he's suppose to form any continuity with a KPF partner. Makes it even more difficult for him when we are trying to maximise the amount of game time as possible whilst also managing players like buku and JUH who don't have the tank to get up the ground that much, nor play 80% TOG.

- Once again a revolving door of small forwards that could change weekly, and the added fact that Beveridge might give Bont time up their to alleviate the pressure off him, but the next week the role for Bontempelli could be flipped on its head.

- Throw in that he now has to perform ruck duties in forward 50 plus kick all the goals.

Probably needs an extra 0 in his next pay check.

The coaching staff and the club ask way too much of Naughton. Yes the bloke is lauded in the media (and rightfully so) but anyone who truly evaluates the task this guy is given week to week really knows he's basically underrated. Lets run through the challenges he has.

- For starters the club has the added number around the ball. Often meaning the additional spare defender plonks themselves in front of Naughton. Allowing his direct opponent to grab and niggle him from the back position. A common misconception opposition supporters say about Naughton is that due to the mids we have, that he gets it on a platter. Well basically that platter involves him against 2 defenders.

- A revolving door of KPP partners, one week it could be buku, one week it could be JUH, one week it could be schache, one week it could be cordy. God only knows how he's suppose to form any continuity with a KPF partner. Makes it even more difficult for him when we are trying to maximise the amount of game time as possible whilst also managing players like buku and JUH who don't have the tank to get up the ground that much, nor play 80% TOG.

- Once again a revolving door of small forwards that could change weekly, and the added fact that Beveridge might give Bont time up their to alleviate the pressure off him, but the next week the role for Bontempelli could be flipped on its head.

- Throw in that he now has to perform ruck duties in forward 50 plus kick all the goals.

Naughton is an exceptional footballer, mark, read the play and, if close enough, kick goals. It's traditional, since 2021, to have a monster at full forward, that's Jones. We need another team oriented sharp shooter, Wallis. Those spots aside, fill the other places with your pick of Van Der Meer, Scott, McLeoud, Johannisen et alia.

Don't really care about Sweet out but to go in one tall less is flirting with the almost record intercepts Adelaide set against us earlier this year.

Can see this going the same way it does every time we go in short. We do well in the middle, but get f-all score on the board because our forwardline in uncompetitive in the air.
Checks team. We were plenty tall enough against Adelaide. Gardner, Schache, O’Brien, Martin, Naughton , JUH, Cordy.

Is there a more important player in the comp to their team? I’d be surprised.

Plus he has to play traditional CHF at times and get right up the ground whilst being our full forward, he’s also expected to apply a huge amount of defensive pressure in our system, usually he’s the one chasing blokes all over, never resting with his hands on his knees waiting for the ball. No wonder he shanks some set shots he’d be absolutely rooted.

He’s quite an insane player already tbh, extremely underrated - I pray that we can put a proper forward line around him and play a brand of footy that helps his game rather than hinders him as he could be a genuine great of the game

3 consecutive wins. No predictable talls. 1 exciting screamer/scrounger, a confusion of talls, mids and smalls and a game plan beyond observers. There's always a spot for the bull Jones but, him and Naughton aside, pick the combination that works.
Can you translate some of this? Sounds super insightful but you have totally lost me.

Is there a more important player in the comp to their team? I’d be surprised.

Plus he has to play traditional CHF at times and get right up the ground whilst being our full forward, he’s also expected to apply a huge amount of defensive pressure in our system, usually he’s the one chasing blokes all over, never resting with his hands on his knees waiting for the ball. No wonder he shanks some set shots he’d be absolutely rooted.

He’s quite an insane player already tbh, extremely underrated - I pray that we can put a proper forward line around him and play a brand of footy that helps his game rather than hinders him as he could be a genuine great of the game
It’s nuts. Why we can’t afford to get at least one more natural forward up there with him is beyond me.

Just imagine if we had Bruce and Marra as well. How on earth would other teams defend it?

Genuinely curious at what gives you the impression he can do it considering he has a max tog% of 67 in the past 3 weeks and has taken from memory just the single ruck contest at AFL level?
I'm not really sure splitting hairs between Buku's 64% time on ground and Sweet's 71% is really as strong as a point you're making, especially as Sweet also only played 64% and 67% time on ground in the two matches he played with English last year.

If anything, the fact that all of our bigs - forward and back - had less time on ground than usual kinda proves the point that we were one too big, and we tried to actually put a smaller 18 on the park. The rotation on the right reads more like the TOG that our bigs typically play when fully fit, and the extra small rotation gives our midfield better rest and cover for very minimal change to our structure:
R11R12 (Predicted)
Gardner, Ryan
93​
100​
Keath, Alex
91​
100​
Naughton, Aaron
84​
90​
O'Brien, Tim
83​
88​
English, Tim
80​
85​
Sweet, Jordon
71​
0​
Khamis, Buku
64​
75​
566​
538​

Say O'Brien and not Khamis rucks 20% of the game. We functionally have as tall of a defence as we did last week, and are a bit smaller up forward (28% of the game), possibly counterbalanced by Bont playing more time up there.

Opinion Changes vs Geelong