- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Essendon

PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
The amount of situations Jetta got himself to was sensational?? WTF
He had 9 possies and 2 tackles, what was he doin when he got to these situations
Why do people think we have to carry this Kidput him in the vfl and teach him to play there!!!!!!!!!
Theres no point, He won't stop.We get it, you hate Jetta.
Settle.
EFC website said:“Mark McVeigh definitely needed the run as did Hayden Skipworth. Both did a few nice things but they will have derived great benefit from getting a game under their belt. Kyle Reimers did some nice things. He kicked a nice goal coming off a wing and kicked the ball well to advantage going inside 50m.
“Michael Hurley tried hard, he was probably not as good as he was last week but still did well. Darcy Daniher was moved into the back half after half time and did quite well. Scott Lucas kicked three from limited opportunities and Brent Prismall now has a couple of games under his belt so they are all making progress .”
Yes i was at the game but I took my rose colored glasses off.Were you at the game? The amount of times he chased someone to put them under pressure that they had to hurry to get it off, then he'd pressure that guy, and the next... it was invaluable to the team. Very impressed in that regard. If you were watching on TV you wouldn't have seen that, all that work that he did that unfortunately didn't show up on the precious stats sheet. All you would've seen was "another Jetta fumble, Gee Jetta." Give the guy a break, along with Alwyn, he was trying to sprint around all night chasing Richmond. Give him a few games to find his feet, a few consecutive games, and then if he's still fumbling, if he still doesn't look up to it, then maybe drop him back.
He played his first full game today, and was bound to start around midseason. ie now.
And Prismall would do his best for the bombers to prove Bomber wrong for not playing him enough
Yeah it probably wasn't bomber's fault, he just chose the teams. Though I'm adamant in the fact that he would play the best he can against his old club.Thats just laughable. Wasn't Bomber's fault Pris didn't get a game. And I don't think he's going to play better just because its his old team/coach.
Yeah it probably wasn't bomber's fault, he just chose the teams. Though I'm adamant in the fact that he would play the best he can against his old club.
I know, i don't think i ever said that. I'm just saying that i'm hoping Prismall will play well against the cats, and i felt like saying it that way.On the first point, Prismall did not play much for Geelong because he wasn't in the best 22. The reason he did not play was not because Bomber was an idiot and he didn't like him.
McVeigh will come in if he wants to. No doubt over his quality, he just wanted to test out his ankle without the pressure. Won't play two weeks for Bendigo and will come in this week unless there's an injury problem.
Prismall a good chance to come in too.
Laycock I don't know. If he can give more than Bellchambers I expect he'll be in this week also.
Hurley might depend on matchups and if NLM goes out.
So I'm thinking:
In: McVeigh, Laycock, Prismall, Hurley,
Outs from: NLM (if susp.), Dempsey (if inj.), Lonergan, Houli, Bellchambers, Neagle, Jetta,
When you play you actually try your hardest every time. You don't try harder because your girlfriend is in the crowd. You don't try harder because your playing against a mate and you don't try harder because your playing against your old coach.
Obviously you don't know much about football if you think players and teams dont rise for different occassions. Last night Richmond came out breathing fire, but couldnt carry out the mission? Why dont they play like that every week?? Of course Prissa would have added motivation playin against his old club, aswell as playin his 1st game for THE MIGHTY DONS!!Do you know much about footy bud?
When you play you actually try your hardest every time. You don't try harder because your girlfriend is in the crowd. You don't try harder because your playing against a mate and you don't try harder because your playing against your old coach. Your second point is null and void. You think a guy might have tried harder in a game because he kicked 8 goals but its a combination of the match-ups and the players around him that got him the 8 goals.
On the first point, Prismall did not play much for Geelong because he wasn't in the best 22. Good player I reckon he'll be very solid and he'll play 150 - 200 games as a hard running on-baller. But he didn't play because he was behind Ablett, Bartel, Corey, Selwood, Enright, Ling and Kelly. He didn't play because he was in a very strong team. The reason he did not play was not because Bomber was an idiot and he didn't like him. I don't know what more you can ask of Bomber Thompson, he played Prismall in the VFL and brought him in when one of the guys mentioned was injured. Should he have let the whole team suffer to keep Pris happy.
You just stole my thunderThis is BS. All players will admit that there are times that they know they could've have gone harder and tryed more. Tom Harley actually said it the other week on 'On The Couch' and Josh Fraser agreed with him, I'm sure other AFL players will also agree.
Ideally it's not the case, but to imply that people are not influenced by events external to the game is a joke. You obviously don't know much about footy yourself.

OUT: Lovett Murray (Sus)
IN: Hurley
Spot on...
I would strongly consider playing hurley up forward this week, if required he could assist in defence...
I personally dont think NLM has a case to answer. He was late. But pettifer got up and played the rest of the game, contact obviously wasnt severe.
Prismall Will have another in the magoos. One full match under his belt, he will probably have another one.
I think If anyone was to get the axe it would be out of neagle and Jetta.
Both have huge upsides, however Jay needs to work harder, and jetta needs touch.
Leeroy to have a couple of runs with Bendigo, Jay to kick some goals and work his arse off.
Scotty Lucas should come back in. I watched his first game down there, and he made the most of very limited opportunites, and that seems to be going trend for him at the moment. Bring him back as this champion is not finished.
Hurley will probably come in. However, i wouldnt believe reports stating he played a good game in the VFL - Jack Riewoldt kicked 6 on him.
Hopefully dempseys ankle comes up - he is crucial to our game plan, as is NLM at the moment, it would be huge if we lost one of these, let alone both.
For those calling for Houli's and Dysons heads, maybe get your heads evaluated. Both been good since coming back. Houli needs to improve his disposal but Nahas looked dangerous all night, and Houli restricted him, which would have been tough. Dyson has had a very good year to date. I was very critical of him last year. and he has to keep playing well to keep his spot, however he was ok last night and doesnt deserve to be dropped.
Chook will be back in 3-4 weeks to take bellchambers spot.
The match-up on SJ is the one worrying me the most. Quick, elusive and a big tank make him a very hard match-up. I'd be inclined to actually go with Dempsey if he pulls up ok. When SJ goes high up around the midfield, it bring Dempsey right into the play where he could be a damaging player going into the forward 50. McVeigh would be the best match-up if he was match fit.
Houli? Why?
I really like Houli, but i just think he still makes too many really bad turnovers in a dangerous part of the pitch. Geelong will punish such errors.
Hurley will probably come in. However, i wouldnt believe reports stating he played a good game in the VFL - Jack Riewoldt kicked 6 on him.
it doesn't matter ... we don't need KP backs because geelong dont have any decent KP forwards. We're better persisting with Hooker and Pears against Mooney and Gamble. Gamble will probably go out with serious concussion and we can man Hawkins (who i think has been very ordinary this year) instead. Lovett-murray can provide a 3rd tall option in defence if needed, although i highly doubt he will be needed. Stopping Bartel, Johnson, Ablett and Stokes on the half forward flanks is the key.From what I've read it was more like 3. He only played half the game on Riewoldt, the rest of the time it was Daniher.
Like the first two.
I'd say:
Slats to S Johnson - our number one stopper to their number one small forward
Dempsey to Varcoe - probably the least dangerous, and therefore easiest to rebound against small forward
Hooker - Stokes
Houli - midfield rotation