Opinion Changes Vs Geelong

There is no need to overreact after one disappointing game. First of all, you don't drop proven players like Wright and Gibson after one poor showing when they were great last year and Wright was good through the preseason. Wright will make amends next week.

Second, you don't drop key forwards after one quiet game unless you want to totally destroy their confidence - especially when the ball has been consistently butchered into the forward line.

Third, you don't play four tall forwards, especially when that means bringing in Daw or Black (who are yet to dominate in the VFL)

Fourth, you don't drop the sub (Anthony) who got 10 possessions in one quarter of football. Direct your angst elsewhere.

Finally, you don't throw away your structures and shift players from forward to back, or from back to mid, after one game. Especially when the problem is disposal efficiency and tackling - all you'd be doing is shifting the problem around.

Most of the team were below par, but you don't make knee jerk reactions after one week - especially after round 1.

Just drop Macmillan or Jacobs for McMahon. Faith in the playing group intensive skills work and a stern talking to is medicine enough for round 1.

Am I the only one who thought mullet played ok. Was damaging from hbf at times and was the only player to actually hit a target... So many other players who were way below mullet, including harper and atley both senior players compared to mullet.
Am struggling with the concept myself. Kid tried his guts out. Ya know when u read something over and over I'm starting to doubt he was any good at all......was in our best 5-10 I would've thought at the game. We've gotta keep playing him, he will get a lot better quickly. Chuck him in and out of the side, or that bloody green vest, and he will take an eternity to improve.
Laid a massive, massive, tackle in the first Q, something most of his mates couldn't do all night.

McMahon, Hine and Greenwood should all play. Harder bodies who are all accountable

I think greenwood deserves an extended shot after his form in the VFL last year and his pre-season, his run and spread on the weekend was exceptional and he seems to lower his eyes a lot more now.

Have watched the werribee match today, abc live view amazing btw.......I reckon Greenwood needs more time in the 2's. He's definitely lowering the eyes more, but did just blaze away to nothing often enough for it to be critical in the 1's. Let him get that out of his game, we've got enough blokes having a crack at hitting the dome roof, don't need another one.
Hine V impressive, hard to tell if he has a tank to tag an onballer yet, plus his body's probably not big enough for an onball role. He used the ball well though, this impressed me.
Maj does do the odd freakish thing, but I couldn't work out what the hell he was trying to do in the ruck. He wasn't using his huge vertical leap, but instead trying to outbody his opponent. I understand this occasionally, but he did it every contest, or at least 90% of the time. Stands around a lot, even when the contest is still in motion.
Mason Wood could be a player......looks classy as.
DMac has ridiculous vison and a terrific leg, 10 likes!!!

Loose will come in for JMac I think, no other change. Jacobs to get the vest perhaps.

Out: MacMillan, Jacobs
In: McMahon, Hine

Anthony full game. No idea on sub. Let Jacobs string some games together and build confidence in the VFL.

Is Kennedy any chance? One thing is for sure, after watching Geelong today, if we play like we did yesterday it is going to get ugly!!!

Whats with Atley, is he safe for this week? Plus what position is he playing, thought he would get more of a run in the mid?

Looking at the stats for today I can not understand the dropping of Anthony, I realise he has issues with his disposal (after Sunday I don't think he is the only one) but without Gibson and/or Anthony in the team someone needs to stand up and take the accumulator role and gather those outside uncontested possessions. I do not see any obvious replacement for that role on our list and for that reason he stays for next week.

Also I think mullet was tasked with a lot of responsibility for an inexperienced player, taking McMahons role on the last line at times and being responsible for setting up the rebound, he was extremely shaky at times but I see a tonne of upside.

That being said Mcmahon has to come in so unless macmillan goes (which I believe mullet would fit his role perfectly) I reckon Mullet might be unlucky.

Other than that I think (and as much as i like calling for the end of careers on game day :P) a similar team should and will line up next week.

Looking at the stats for today I can not understand the dropping of Anthony, I realise he has issues with his disposal (after Sunday I don't think he is the only one) but without Gibson and/or Anthony in the team someone needs to stand up and take the accumulator role and gather those outside uncontested possessions. I do not see any obvious replacement for that role on our list and for that reason he stays for next week.
I cant stand Anthony, and yet what you say is the truth.

Basically it highlights just how far away we are from being a competitive side. Anthony is nothing more than depth for a decent team. For us he is a necessity.

Out: MacMillan, Jacobs
In: McMahon, Hine

Anthony full game. No idea on sub. Let Jacobs string some games together and build confidence in the VFL.
I agree with this.

Mullett to sub, Hine to take his spot with McMahon back for Atley. Ats to the wing instead of Macmillan. No point playing Atley back if we are not focussing on creative running off half back, which we clearly aren't.

Taz would want to put in a good one too, because if the coaches think Daw had the fitness and leading patterns down pat, Taz could well be in trouble.

After his performance at VFL, I'm pretty sure Hine is looking to get his first game in the blue and white, which should be good, and McMahon should be a definite in. Would be nice if we could drop Harper and bring in Milky...11 goal form is good form.

Seriously though, I think if Anthony can get 10 possessions in a quarter of footy, then he should be starting on, not on the bench. If his disposal is shocking then sub him out. I think Mullett will stay in the side, and it's probably Jacobs and someone else who come out. Would also be nice to see if Daw or Black can train well and push their case during the week, just to put pressure on Tarrant, Lachie and even Petrie. Hopefully Patch can step up his game, but given he didn't play much in the pre-season I'm not surprised he wasn't at his best yesterday.

I'm hopeful the match committee give some serious consideration to actually dropping players and not go with an approach of team consistency, if someone doesn't play well, and those who are playing at VFL level have blinders, then they should be replaced and given a week at North Ballarat or Werribee to think about why they're there and get their game together.

Would like Anthony to be instructed to use the ball more by hand rather then foot, he will never be able to improve his kicking enough to ever cement a spot, only way I see it happening is if he can use his strengths of ball winning ability, and be able to offload it by hand to some of our better ball users, similar to that of Daniel Cross from the dogs.

From memory his handballs aren't much chop either. At the moment he should be in the team, doesn't mean I don't think we might be better when he is forced out, whether that be in 3 months, 3 years or after 300 games.

I'd be looking at Harper obviously and Patch well before some others mentioned here. Patch just looks like he needs some time to build his confidence back.

Harps deserves another crack. Was a standout in terms of increasing his tank and then producing in the NAB. Just struggled being put back in his old role. Patch will be fine.

Mullett made some bad errors but otherwise played ok, was in our best dozen (not a big call either with how bad we played)

How anyone could prefer dropping him in preference to Jacobs or Macmillan (let alone the rest.....) must not have watched the game.

Why does Mullett get one game and if some errors then out, yet Taz can run around like a headless chook all night (whilst getting cheap possies on the wing) yet stay in 'because he needs developent' or 'has only played x amount of games'? Talk about BF and their favourites :rolleyes:

The issue with Mullett is that his ambition by boot is a bit greater than his ability. Playing in defence his poor disposals and decision making hurt doubly. Either he sharpens up in that department or he moved forward to the wing where he has more time to make better decisions and execute. But then does he have the nous to play further upfield?

His kicking technique is lovely and I think he can certainly improve his consistency there.