Changes vs GWS

• Thread starter Thread starter RandB

I think selection could be very interesting this week. We have the Watts situation, which none of us seem to understand. We have an increasingly underperforming no. 1 ruck, but the alternatives all have arguments against. We have a young no. 4 draft pick who is really strugling and a couple of Neeld's new recruits giving us absolutely nothing... Interesting times.

My thoughts:

Out
Toumpy. This kid is a talent, there is no doubting that. But he's small and a little slow with decision making (for AFL) currently. I think he'd really benefit from playing well in some wins for Casey. Give him 5-8 games and then bring him back with a bit of confidence. Just hope Neeld handles him right.
Pederson. Just gives us nothing in my opinion. Rarely have I seen a less useful player running around the MCG.
Byrnes. See Pederson. Useless. Gets a handful of touches per game and inevitably gets run down or pressured into a turnover. In the three games so far I am yet to see him kick the ball to a team mate and them mark it.
Jamar. This is a tough one imo. Not because Jamar doesn't deserve dropping, but because there isn't a suitable replacement - yet. I'm not having Gawn rushed in off the back of a year out of the game and two games in the VFL. His form has been promising but we just can't afford to break him. Needs to build up really slowly and just look to go uninjured at Casey for half a year and then play a handful of AFL games in the back half, before smashing next preseason and coming in ready to fire in'14.
Sellar. But only if Dawes is fit. I don't think he's been terrible, but unfortunately for him, his preseason form has not translated.

In
Kent. Looked good preseason, has been okay for Casey from what I hear, and we need extra players capable of playing in the middle.
Dunn. If fit, get him back in. Think he's okay down back and his kicking from defence is pretty valuable. A bit of aggro too.
Watts. Not sure what is going on there, but get him back in and see if he can settle into his role down back where he was good last year and preseason. Needs to really show more urgency though, I admit.
Fitzy or Spencer. Whichever has been better at Casey. Give them a run and see if they can be more useful around the ground than Jamar.
McKenzie. If he's fit, get the little wrecking ball back in the side.

Final IN: A helmet for Rohan Bail!

YES, I don't understand why he is not wearing one given all the issues he has been having.... I commented on this at the ground yesterday. Players were straps and tape and all kinds of gear on their limbs, but he won't wear something precautionary on his nogan.

Also, agree with Byrnes having to be dropped, I had some early hopes he would provide a bit of dash, yet is doing bugger all, maybe linked up a couple of times on the wing, but not doing anywhere near enough.

How quick is Kent? We looked better in the first half thanks to the added leg speed IMO

IN: McKenzie, Watts, Kent, Gawn, Blease, Dunn (if fit)
OUT: Pedersen, Sellar, Toumpas, Byrnes, Jamar, Davey

Watts should have played at Casey instead of cooling his heels in the stands, but we all know that. Playing against a team of kids gives him the chance to regain confidence and form and we need Watts playing well in our team. Gawn and Kent have both earned their chance. McKenzie and Dunn are automatic selections when fit. Blease was dropped way too quickly and should be given more opportunity.

Pedersen, Sellar, Byrnes and Davey have let us down week after week. Davey's nickname now means he "flashes" into the play once every four or five games at best. Jamar's form has been terrible and there will never be a better opponent to test Gawn out against. As idiotic as the use of Watts was this week it pales into insignificance compared to what has been done with and to young Toumpas. It was obvious in round one that he simply isn't ready for senior AFL footy yet and would benefit greatly from playing games at Casey. Playing him since then has bordered on the irresponsible and making him the sub yesterday was insane. How can they expect a young kid who has been unable to work his way into the game in the previous two weeks to come on and make an instant impression in one quarter? We all shake our heads and mourn the club's abysmal record at developing talented young players, but we're seeing a prime example of it in what has been done with Toumpas.

Who know's but if the selectors get it wrong against the Giants it is goodbye Mr Neeld.
Just play 21 who has a fair dinkum go!

Gawn in, I need a cult type player to entertain me plus Jamar is getting destroyed right now. Not sure this is a good idea as he's coming back from injury and may not even be good, but they should pick him anyway.

Got a feeling Neeld will go with the older players for another game against the young GWS.

As much as I don't won't Sellar, Gillies, Byrnes, Rodan, Pedersen in MFC colours again, Neeld will want to win and have bigger bodies.

That was his plan to bring in the experience players off season so we don't have so many younger players on field. It would take a shift in philosophy.

For mine I would make the following changes:
Gawn in for Jamar
Gawn has been in the best's two weeks in a row, I would bring him in while his confidence would be fairly high. Understand there is a risk though and he may be underdone, if this is the case spencil would get the nod.

Watts in for Pedo
Pedo doesn't really provide the team with anything, would give Watts time up forward to prove himself

McKenzie in for Byrnes
Like Pedo, just don't think Byrnes is really giving us all that much. My main expectation of Byrnes was that he was going to provide a bit of poise but he seems to panic just as much as everyone else. McKenzie looked a little slow a few weeks ago but is an important part of the midfield, we don't really have anyone else who can lock down their opponent.

Strauss in for Toumpas
Love Toumpas and think he has a bright future, tries his best and gives his all but just not quite ready for AFL at the moment. Probably a few who are fighting for this position but I think I would give it to Strauss to add that extra bit of class. Dunn if he is fit maybe would take this spot.

Think this is how we should play our forward line against the Giants:
Davey Watts Sylvia
Brynes Clark Blease
There's no doubt we will at least get it in there a bit this round. So I think Clark and Watts is fine for the 2 talls. Mohr will take Clark, Watts to Davis. Sylvia and Davey are pretty good users of the footy, no reason Davey still can't present and slot balls down Clark's throat. Sylvia will rotate with mids (be it trenners, howe, bail etc)
I think Brynes, if he plays might have a bit of a day out, experienced player against an inexperienced team. Again will be enough forward entries to have an impact. Blease should play, and for now should play forward, push up field if needed.

Defence:
Dunn (if fit) Frawley Nicholson/Strauss
Trengove McDonald Grimes

Call me crazy, but we've been lacking a good decision maker of HB, and I think trenners may be the short term answer. He fits the role better than watts, in that he's also a better defender, and overhead mark. His got composure, and instead of bombing long down a wing, he may even hit up a target (Yes a foreign term I know).
Frawley and Tmac need no explanation. I think Grimes best position is still across HB. Dunn is anther good user as we know, but is a competitor, and if fit plays. I'd give Nicho or Strauss the final position, but knowing Neeld it Garland will be given it.

I'd play Jamar, even though he doesn't deserve to. It may give him the confidence he needs, he's clearly lacking it. A 12 touch 30 hit out 2 goal game may be just what he needs to find whatever it is he needs.
I'd play Spencer as the 2nd ruck.

That means I wouldn't play Sellar or Pedo.

Like that team, but why not bring gawn in against GWS. Are they really that different to playing a quality VFL side (who are casey playing this week?)
Surely a good game in the squad even if he just comes off the bench

I'm not having a bar of this "bring in X, it's only a bunch of GWS kids", not at all. They have shown plenty more than us so far this year, and if we take them even a little lightly they will run all over us on Sunday.

We have to play our best team... Whatever that is.

I'm not having a bar of this "bring in X, it's only a bunch of GWS kids", not at all. They have shown plenty more than us so far this year, and if we take them even a little lightly they will run all over us on Sunday.

We have to play our best team... Whatever that is.

Yeah I'm not gonna mark down the Gws and coast games as gimmes we clearly aren't much if at all better than them anymore

In: Gawn, Gawn, Gawn, Gawn

Will destroy GWS, kick goals resting and monster the midfield. The guy is the second tallest AFL listed player FFS!!!!

And for pure entertainment, you can't go past the giant wierdo beardo!!!!

Round 3

Jimmy Toumpus (sub) - 3 possessions and a total of 6 supercoach points.
Oli Wines - 25 disposals (17 kicks and 8 handballs), 9 marks, 5 tackles and 2 goals. 121 supercoach points.

a-frustrated-man.jpg

Oh FFS. Give it a rest. Different types of players.

Personally, I wanted Wines at the time, but that's the way the club went.

Yeah, definitely need to give Jimmy some time - we all knew Wines was going to smash it early, I was for drafting him @ 4 as well.

Toumpas needs Casey time, maybe even until after the bye.

Yeah, definitely need to give Jimmy some time - we all knew Wines was going to smash it early, I was for drafting him @ 4 as well.

Toumpas needs Casey time, maybe even until after the bye.

Yeah, Toumpas won't be anything special this year, in a struggling side he is too small to cope.

We always knew Viney and Wines would smash it from day dot in any side.

I really wanted Wines and Vines because they are besties, it would be ****ing steal of the century if we could lure him from Poort in 2 years time!!!!

You can't turn back time. Got to give Jimmy a chance.

For every Joel Selwood, there is a Rhys Palmer.

Give it a rest? This is the first comment I have made about Tompous. I know it's early days yet, but seeing Wines kill it and Jimmy have no idea what he is doing (much like the whole team) is painful.

Hey guys just been reading this board over the last few weeks to get your perspective on it. Do you think there comes a time when Neeld & the match committee say to the players "we are going to play you as a group for 4 weeks or so, no changes unless absolutely necessary (injuries etc)" rather than the 4 or 5 changes that seem to be happening each week? For the benefit of giving them confidence of not feeling like they are going to get dropped each week, & giving them the opportunity to gel as a group on field for several games together.

Like Pedersen in round one, we all saw him duck his head, and didn't have a great game....wouldn't one course of action be to allow him to correct that in the seniors the following week & win back respect? Obviously if he keeps doing it then that is another story.

Maybe because he played at Geelong I've been supportive of Neeld...but I suppose the question is, even though as Melbourne supporters you may be sick of certain players (Jamar etc), & not rate the outsiders so far (Byrnes, Rodan etc) would you rather hear & see that message, giving a fairly consistent 22 a go over a few weeks rather than dropping blokes left, right & centre?

It's something many of us on here have been screaming for, for a while.

It may seem to the coaches as something too drastic, but I think drastic steps need to be taken when we are getting flogged week in, week out.

If I had the chance, I would put all the triers in the side and also Sylvia who is not a trier but is a good player and keep them in for a month barring injury.

Then after that month have a frank discussion with Sylvia. If he pulls his weight then he can sign a contract or if he doesn't pull his weight or sign on for 2 years drop him to the vfl development league and don't even let him train with the main group.

As for the others, have them do bonding sessions every Tuesday and keep them all in the know that they aren't going to be dropped, give then a red hot go.