Preview Changes vs. Hawks

I know people won't listen but Jackson has better hands than Viney and Brayshaw, give him some time. If there was a fair dinkum VFL he'd be playing in the magoos pumping down protien shakes.
Certainly not writing him off, far from it I’m excited to see what he becomes but I do think it’s fair enough to question drafting projects this high, having said that you can’t teach 6ft 7 and athleticism, let’s get him in the team this week

I know people won't listen but Jackson has better hands than Viney and Brayshaw, give him some time. If there was a fair dinkum VFL he'd be playing in the magoos pumping down protien shakes.

just out of interest have you read anything the club has said they want to play him as a mid?

I think the club knows whilst Gawn is still at the peak of his powers Jackson will play in a variety of roles. Before taking over the ruck role.

interesting English played as a mid until a late 20cm growth spurt. He is a mid trapped in a big mans body

just out of interest have you read anything the club has said they want to play him as a mid?

I think the club knows whilst Gawn is still at the peak of his powers Jackson will play in a variety of roles. Before taking over the ruck role.

interesting English played as a mid until a late 20cm growth spurt. He is a mid trapped in a big mans body
I think you'll just have to trust me seeing as I told everyone here we were drafting Jackson Pickett and Rivers before the draft. Jackson is a tall midfielder. They think he's good enough to be a starting midfielder whist also being able to go back or forward one day.

Modern day Koutafidamides. Not as strong but taller, faster, classier, better looking and makes tastier souvlakis

Certainly not writing him off, far from it I’m excited to see what he becomes but I do think it’s fair enough to question drafting projects this high, having said that you can’t teach 6ft 7 and athleticism, let’s get him in the team this week

An absolute gimp in the forward line he was. Lost in space. Almost as if he's never played a game there before, which could quite possibly be true.

Hopefully he got plenty of learndings from the experience. :)

An absolute gimp in the forward line he was. Lost in space. Almost as if he's never played a game there before, which could quite possibly be true.

Hopefully he got plenty of learndings from the experience. :)
I don’t see the midfield being a reality to be honest, that does appear to be a massive projection based on little to no evidence, time will tell.

I don’t think that will prohibit him from becoming a good AFL player he has attributes you can’t teach but ruck/forward seems way more realistic and pick 3 did and does feel very high. I’m not convinced our club or coach are the right fit for this sort of project.

He just can’t play football, and we all know the MFC isn’t where you go to learn football, especially not since they forced out McCarthy or whatever his name was. I know this is going early, but I cannot see this evolving any other way

it’s sad for him and for us. On the other hand rIvers looks good!

That is just crap, I know you take the negative point of view in literally everything MFC related (Which is normally a safe bet!) but I guarantee you have watched less than one hour of him actually playing footy.

I was waiting here at 6:00pm sharp for more from you like you promised. Feeling so let down right now. :(
I was smashing the F5 key to refresh. Nothing. :(
I repent in sackcloth and ashes.

I was in the back yard with a shovel burying my hopes for the 2020 season. Well, thats what I'm telling people.

I repent in sackcloth and ashes.

I was in the back yard with a shovel burying my hopes for the 2020 season. Well, thats what I'm telling people.

Forgiven, I did the same before round 1. :)

While predicting doomsday scenarios for tomorrow, why do I get the feeling Clarko will completely outcoach Goody ?

Predicting we score no more than 5 goals. Hope everyone enjoyed and got their fill from the 80 point scoring feast we put on last week.

While predicting doomsday scenarios for tomorrow, why do I get the feeling Clarko will completely outcoach Goody ?

Predicting we score no more than 5 goals. Hope everyone enjoyed and got their fill from the 80 point scoring feast we put on last week.
Clarkson to our coach Goodwin, I’ve ****ing heard it all where do you come up with this shit

Sicily will have a field day against our forwards. You just know after getting pasted in the media all week that the Hawks will come out and smash us. It's really a 50-50 game, but hard to see Clarko letting this one slip after copping it all week. Goody will no doubt get schooled in the coaches box, so it will come down to our midfield obliterating theirs, which I can't see happening with Jaeger and Mitchell. They have great outside runners as well, so Langdon will be important. That's why I thought Tomlinson would be handy this week. Anyway, a must win game with the Lions next week. We drop this one it's curtains for 2020.

That is just crap, I know you take the negative point of view in literally everything MFC related (Which is normally a safe bet!) but I guarantee you have watched less than one hour of him actually playing footy.

i believe in a later post I recanted and said I believe he can become a good ruck. It’s tru I’ve only watched his one game, his highlights and the highlights from the practice / scratch matches - as I said I am going early, fully admit that - but I don’t see much football ability in there. So you can say “it’s just crap” but I’d love a counter point

in terms of taking the most negative view in everything, that’s not true - for example I’ve always been hopeful/ positive on Wied, Brayshaw, Bail etc. I don’t think our list is that bad, top 8 . I do consider the calls I make based on available evidence, pattern recognition and deep experience in the school of life.

sadly that means I have a negative view on our coaching, development, game plan, some of our drafting, management, on field leadership (quite a list)

Anyway, don’t discount my views of that of a default pessimist, I am a data driven dude and acknowledge when I am leaning out the window

Don’t understand the negativity around Jackson he has played one game. Why do we expect players to come in and dominate straight away, rarely happens and even rarer for big guys.

I don’t think anyone expected him to come in and dominate - it’s more concern around
- our ability to develop players
- he hasn’t shown much “footy iq”
- the whole attributes over production fear

anyway, it’s early and we will see what he becomes, I think peoples starting opinions on this board have been clearly stated!

I don’t think anyone expected him to come in and dominate - it’s more concern around
- our ability to develop players
- he hasn’t shown much “footy iq”
- the whole attributes over production fear

anyway, it’s early and we will see what he becomes, I think peoples starting opinions on this board have been clearly stated!
I like you mate but what ****ing footy IQ can ya show in one game

Jackson had 7 touches, kicked a behind and laid a tackle.
Buddy Franklin had 6 touches kicked nothing and laid one tackle in his debut game. Not saying Jackson is a guaranteed Franklin but you'd look like a real idiot if ya based his career off his first game

i believe in a later post I recanted and said I believe he can become a good ruck. It’s tru I’ve only watched his one game, his highlights and the highlights from the practice / scratch matches - as I said I am going early, fully admit that - but I don’t see much football ability in there. So you can say “it’s just crap” but I’d love a counter point

in terms of taking the most negative view in everything, that’s not true - for example I’ve always been hopeful/ positive on Wied, Brayshaw, Bail etc. I don’t think our list is that bad, top 8 . I do consider the calls I make based on available evidence, pattern recognition and deep experience in the school of life.

sadly that means I have a negative view on our coaching, development, game plan, some of our drafting, management, on field leadership (quite a list)

Anyway, don’t discount my views of that of a default pessimist, I am a data driven dude and acknowledge when I am leaning out the window

I don't doubt his ability to become a quality ruckman, he's got some good tools, my issue is that under 18 ruck form is very hit and miss. So much is dependant on development. The good news being he does remind me a lot of Brodie Grundy in game style. Not your usual under 18 ruck who relied on height only to dominate.

He had the most super coach points of anyone last year in the under 18 championships from memory. With some ridiculous average of 140+ per game IIRC.

Preview Changes vs. Hawks