Preview Changes vs. Hawks

I don’t think anyone expected him to come in and dominate - it’s more concern around
- our ability to develop players
- he hasn’t shown much “footy iq”
- the whole attributes over production fear

anyway, it’s early and we will see what he becomes, I think peoples starting opinions on this board have been clearly stated!

I would agree with you, that your concerns are around the clubs development ability than the player itself.

our recruiting and in particular development from 2007 to 2013 was horrid. Roosy did a great job getting in good people to the club. it seems the last 18 months it stagnated again.

but in general we need to be a bit more patience, I remember a lot of people wanting to write Gawn off at 23

I think we win convincingly today

27 points will be the margin but we will have a handy lead all day

Sent from my SM-G981B using Tapatalk

The ceglar out could be a blessing for the hawks, they are a super tall backline and until last week we had one of the shortest forward lines.

sucha hard game to read, who is the outlier, Melbournes win last week or the hawks last two weeks. Today will tell.

if we continue with our improving set up behind the ball, kick well and control the game by foot. And MOST importantly retain the ball inside forward 50m by either a mark or at least repeat stoppage. our mids will win the contested ball and hopefully get the clearing handball.

we should win.

interesting to see if Clarko “allows us” To win the footy first but control our exit from the stoppage. Force the turn over from dump kicks, then play keeping off. And win the game 50-40.

The ceglar out could be a blessing for the hawks, they are a super tall backline and until last week we had one of the shortest forward lines.

sucha hard game to read, who is the outlier, Melbournes win last week or the hawks last two weeks. Today will tell.

if we continue with our improving set up behind the ball, kick well and control the game by foot. And MOST importantly retain the ball inside forward 50m by either a mark or at least repeat stoppage. our mids will win the contested ball and hopefully get the clearing handball.

we should win.

interesting to see if Clarko “allows us” To win the footy first but control our exit from the stoppage. Force the turn over from dump kicks, then play keeping off. And win the game 50-40.

It's a blessing and a curse.

I think we win convincingly today

27 points will be the margin but we will have a handy lead all day

Meanwhile I think we'll struggle to kick 27 points. Oh boy. 😂

Meanwhile I think we'll struggle to kick 27 points. Oh boy. [emoji23]
Going to be awkward when Clarkson tries to justify the Hawks only kicking 2 points for the game then

You'll be shouting" Steven May is the team MVP " at the end of he game. 👍

i believe in a later post I recanted and said I believe he can become a good ruck. It’s tru I’ve only watched his one game, his highlights and the highlights from the practice / scratch matches - as I said I am going early, fully admit that - but I don’t see much football ability in there. So you can say “it’s just crap” but I’d love a counter point

in terms of taking the most negative view in everything, that’s not true - for example I’ve always been hopeful/ positive on Wied, Brayshaw, Bail etc. I don’t think our list is that bad, top 8 . I do consider the calls I make based on available evidence, pattern recognition and deep experience in the school of life.

sadly that means I have a negative view on our coaching, development, game plan, some of our drafting, management, on field leadership (quite a list)

Anyway, don’t discount my views of that of a default pessimist, I am a data driven dude and acknowledge when I am leaning out the window

If we're thinking of it from a data perspective, why not have a look at his attributes and past performance?

Undoubtedly he's a project, but he's got athleticism, endurance, a big frame, physicality and coordination.

Plus he has performances on the board in the U18 Champs and at Colts Level.

All the data points look pretty good to me.

AFL rucks are hit and miss because they are tall blokes who are generally slow as **** and unskilled compared to normal sized players. Jackson isn't a plodder or unskilled nor is he a soft string bean.

I'm not saying we won't turn him into a potato because we are elite at ruining footballers, but I was saying something before I lost concentration.

eh

If we're thinking of it from a data perspective, why not have a look at his attributes and past performance?

Undoubtedly he's a project, but he's got athleticism, endurance, a big frame, physicality and coordination.

Plus he has performances on the board in the U18 Champs and at Colts Level.

All the data points look pretty good to me.
He’s got a pretty incredible leap also

You'll be shouting" Steven May is the team MVP " at the end of he game. [emoji106]
Nah ill blame him for conceding the 2 points

Would be nice to actually watch a game and not get so stressed. Would be nice if the game doesn't come down to the last minute.
I agree. But by god we have to be ahead by a fair bit before I relax. That Carton game for example - screw that

i believe in a later post I recanted and said I believe he can become a good ruck. It’s tru I’ve only watched his one game, his highlights and the highlights from the practice / scratch matches - as I said I am going early, fully admit that - but I don’t see much football ability in there. So you can say “it’s just crap” but I’d love a counter point

in terms of taking the most negative view in everything, that’s not true - for example I’ve always been hopeful/ positive on Wied, Brayshaw, Bail etc. I don’t think our list is that bad, top 8 . I do consider the calls I make based on available evidence, pattern recognition and deep experience in the school of life.

sadly that means I have a negative view on our coaching, development, game plan, some of our drafting, management, on field leadership (quite a list)

Anyway, don’t discount my views of that of a default pessimist, I am a data driven dude and acknowledge when I am leaning out the window

It is crap to say you don’t see much footy ability though. He is already very good at ground level for his size and has excellent second and third efforts, plus his kicking is already much better than Gawn. I still think he was a risk that high because I didn’t think we needed a ruck to replace Gawn at pick 3 but in terms of actual ability he’s already shown a fair bit for a first year ruck. If you said you don’t think he’ll make it as a forward that’s fair, I don’t think he will either.

I like you mate but what ******* footy IQ can ya show in one game

Jackson had 7 touches, kicked a behind and laid a tackle.
Buddy Franklin had 6 touches kicked nothing and laid one tackle in his debut game. Not saying Jackson is a guaranteed Franklin but you'd look like a real idiot if ya based his career off his first game

I like you too campaigner, but like I said I saw a dude running around like a chook with it’s head cut off, and I am open about going early

wouldmt be the first time I’ve looked like an idiot if he becomes anything other than a good Ruck, but sadly the MFC hasn’t made me look like an idiot for a long time (except for the fact I’m still here and following them)

anyway, let
It is crap to say you don’t see much footy ability though. He is already very good at ground level for his size and has excellent second and third efforts, plus his kicking is already much better than Gawn. I still think he was a risk that high because I didn’t think we needed a ruck to replace Gawn at pick 3 but in terms of actual ability he’s already shown a fair bit for a first year ruck. If you said you don’t think he’ll make it as a forward that’s fair, I don’t think he will either.

i did say I think he can be a good Ruck so it sounds like we Are saying the same thing to be honest.

i am worried / do believe he doesn’t have natural ability (I’m not Taking about his attributes you mention above) but as I said elsewhere I acknowledge that is going early

on the U18 stats mentioned elsewhere I do tend to discount them heavily

let’s see how it plays out

I’ll shUt up now on this topic!

I agree. But by god we have to be ahead by a fair bit before I relax. That Carton game for example - screw that
Very true after that fast start I reckon once gawn had a rest late in the first Carlton turned the momentum and after that it became a shit show. It only took a belting in the media after the tigers game did the coaches realise that we can't play that breakneck speed game so I have some hope that we might be able to maintain a lead if need be.

Preview Changes vs. Hawks