Changes vs Hawthorn

Remember when we used to look at the top sides and say "Geez, they lose so & so and thingamajig, yet they still have buggalugs, Whatshisname, blah, blah & blah running through their midfield. It's not fair!!!!!".

Well turn that around and think about "Geez, they lose Wines and Gray but they still have Boak, Ebert, Hartlett, Wingard and Polec running through there. It's not fair!!!!!".
Thingamajig was overrated anyway. :p

hawks play shit wet weather football. they are super reliant on their precise kicking. they on the whole have an exceptionally slow team by pace , and rely on smith and hill on the wings. don't allow those two space , come out even in the centre and we are a very solid chance. hawks will not hand us this game , we must take it. I'm confident we will give them a real crack. as i said , if hill and smith are contained the hawks will not be able to break the game open , and with their risky kicking that breaks open games under extra pressure in the wet we will have opportunities. i fully expect hawks to score between 60-74 points this game. if we can make the most of our chances going forward we have a shot. i reckon we score 70+ points we can win this.

We fight best when our backs are against the wall.

Honestly I'm not confident of a victory, but we still have a decent chance. And if we win, oh man if we win, it will be one of our best victories.

This game will be a slog if the weather predictions are true.

We have been found out in the wet before where we attempt to play cute football (see second Showdown and Essendon game last year)

We need to move the ball forward at any cost. Wet weather footy is all about territory.

This is where Lobbe will become very important with his 2nd and 3rd efforts after ruck contests.

Oh well :(

Realistically with our 2 best clearance mids out means it's next to no chance tomorrow.

As long as we have a fair dinkum crack till the final siren, and limit the damage to under 5 goals, I will be satisfied that we have done a massive job there.

Seems like we are getting our injuries by the bucket load early - would like to think we can regroup after the Showdown and string 5 or 6 wins together, and perhaps still finish top 6, but maybe our luck has run out this season after 2 good runs? Who knows.

Just to be competitive is all I ask atm.

Yep.

We lost to Hawthorn by 3 points on their deck in the prelim, despite going to sleep for the entire 2nd quarter.

I'm not sure why Hawthorn have this Geelong 2008 like aura about them. Everyone seems to think it's a given that they'll stroll through this season unchallenged, despite the fact that we, along with Freo, Sydney, Essendon and North, should theoretically be better football sides.

They've already lost to Essendon, and we're a better football side than Essendon. Especially at the Portress.
When you say everyone who do you mean?

I do not know of any Hawthorn supporter who thinks this.

Interested in the theory that Freo,NM,Sydney,Ess are better than the Hawks.

Our record against Freo is unreal, if you took any notice of the last half a dozen times we have played Sydney you would realise we have their measure and I have no idea why you think Ess or North would be better sides than the Back2Back Premiers.

OUT: Allowing the Hawks players to hold up the play after giving away a free kick to our their defence to regroup. (Luke Hodge is a master at giving away the free kick, holding onto the player whilst silmutaneously looking incensed at the umpire)

IN: Playing on quickly after receiving a free kick and messing with their defensive structures

Our record against Freo is unreal, if you took any notice of the last half a dozen times we have played Sydney you would realise we have their measure and I have no idea why you think Ess or North would be better sides than the Back2Back Premiers.

He meant they'll theoretically be better football sides than they were last year, not that they'll necessarily be better than Hawthorn.

The positive is that we should be able to cover for Wines and Gray better than we would Trengove/Broadbent.

He meant they'll theoretically be better football sides than they were last year, not that they'll necessarily be better than Hawthorn.
Ok I did take his comment out of context..

However with whitecross back from injury and Frawley the Hawks are theoretically a better team than last year.

I think some of the pessimism is due to the players that are missing being our prime inside ball winners.

Wines and Gray are much more critical to Port winning than, say, Wingard and Polec, for example.

I mean things like (and forgive me for referencing the footy show) Sam Newman saying last night "don't even bother asking me for a tip in games involving Hawthorn, i'll be picking them every week for the rest of the year"

You're a very good football team and rightfully flag favourites.

This year you've had 2 easy kills against teams that wont make finals, and one tough game against Essendon, which you lost.

You're not the terminator.

Essendon beat you literally 2 weeks ago.

Freo had a lot of key injuries come finals time last year.

For all your "great record" against the teams you mention, in 2014 you lost to Sydney, lost to us, lost to Freo, and lost to North.

You lost to Freo and North the last time you played them. You're 1-1 against both us and Sydney in your last 2 meetings.

I don't really see how that counts as having anyone's measure. Not when all those sides bar maybe Sydney should improve in 2015.

I'm not arguing that you wont go into every game this year as favourites. I'm arguing that you shouldn't have a Geelong 2008 style unbeatable aura.

Ahh 2008 what a year :thumbsu:

As I said I do not know any Hawk supporter on the planet that even remotely thinks we are unbeatable.

We are just like every other team, just doing our best.

Changes vs Hawthorn