Analysis Changes vs. Lions

• Thread starter Thread starter QL 21

Draft 5- Gaff plodder who will not put on pressure and lobs the ball up high without looking out of fear

Seriously, the only players you'd take ahead of him in the first round would be Lynch and Heppell (and maybe B Smith).
And there's very few players after that pick who you'd rather have (cases could be made for I Smith, Howe, Parker and Lyons and then the options are clearly worse than Gaff).
I know he's going through a lean season, however, I still maintain we were the clear winners in that draft.
As opposed to Gold Coast:
1. Swallow - injured and currently inconsistent;
2. Bennell - traded and has injury and personal issues;
3. Day - injured and mostly meh;
7. Caddy - traded and pretty rubbish;
9. Prestia - traded and gone backwards;
10. Gorringe - traded and probably delisted at the end of the year;
11. Lynch - gun, but slightly down this year. Will continue to build;
13. Tape - delisted.
39 - Taylor - delisted.

So from their first eight picks Gold Coast have basically ended up with a gun forward and an inconsistent mid. They did get a couple of players back by those trades but suffice to say their drafting was bitterly disappointing.

Carlton's recruiting was equally as bad. They picked Watson, McCarthy, Mitchell and McInnes. These four played a combined total of 42 games.

Essendon selected Heppell but their other picks were all speculative and ended up being busts. Geelong did well in that they got honest triers in Smedts (traded), Guthrie and Horlin-Smith. Melbourne got a mixed bag with Cook, Howe, Davis and McDonald. Brisbane, St Kilda, Richmond, Fremantle, Port and North all had forgettable drafts. Hawthorn really only got Smith and Puopolo, Collingwood's only player of note is Fasolo.

Suffice to say I wouldn't be pointing at the 2010 draft as a failure for us, including the selection of Gaff. Would still be close to top 5 in his draft:
1. Luke Parker
2. Tom Lynch
3. Dyson Heppell
4. Andrew Gaff
5. Brodie Smith
6. Jack Darling
7. Isaac Smith
8. Jeremy Howe
9. Dion Prestia
10. Alex Fasolo

Well hopefully guys like Parto Lamb Watson Venables (if fitness/form aĺlows) get some games to round out the year. Hope is also Priddis and LeCras are put out to pasture.

I think the focus clearly has to be to look to the future now. It's clear we can't win a premiership with the team as it currently is.

Out: Priddis, LeCras, Hutchings & Petrie

Petrie probably stiff but if we're not challenging for a premiership there's no real point having him in the team. Mights as well see if McInnes is up to it or not so a call can be made on him going forward. Another option would be Mackenzie in for petrie and swing McGovern forward to play ruck/forward as see if this works with Kennedy in the side. Hutchings is probably a little stiff too but he is a ball stopper not a ball winner. We need players who can win the footy and this might be a change of mindset we need.

In: Partington, Karpany, Mitchell, Mackenzie/McInnes

Partington no brainer, Karpany deserves an extended run, Mitchell provides direction and leadership whilst still being an elite user and decision maker. Another change would be Vardy for Lycett if he is fit. I think vardy has been serviceable this year but i don't think he's good enough as a your main ruck option and he hasn't provided a lot up forward. Venables/Rioli would be my fourth in if either of them were fit.

Think larrikin has made the most sense so far.

Wasn't impressed with either Cole or Nelson but... they are there for now and look like being part of the future so leave them in.

I didn't see what others saw in Simmo's press conference about the need for change so I am not convinced that either Priddis will be out or Partington will be in.

I think by now everyone knows where we are at, which is not contending this year. I think I'd be most happy if we made a few hard calls on players who aren't going to contribute to our next flag (starting with Masten) and looked to load up with as many 2nd round draft picks as possible.

The only way the kids are going to get any better is if you play them, I couldn't give a rats ass how they go for East Perth, put them in and see how they go, maybe they can inject some enthusiasm into the ****ing team for god's sake

The year is cooked, completely passsed well done

Start getting games and experience into some young kids so at least we have something to look forward to.

Doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different result is the definition of insanity

http://www.westcoasteagles.com.au/video/2017-07-23/redden-postmatch-v-pies

At 2:05 on Sammy Mitchell not playing. Reddo says what we all thought.. (sorta)
After the siren: Meltdown torches Eagles' credibility - http://m.afl.com.au/news/2017-07-23/after-the-siren-eagle-meltdown-torches-finals-credibility
"Selection this week was telling. Sam Mitchell was 'managed' despite the importance of the game, while Matt Priddis played. Priddis had 16 touches and 11 tackles on Sunday, but by half-time, he had more tackles than possessions. Given that Priddis has a playing deal for 2018 and Mitchell does not, it would seem likely that Mitchell's move into full-time coaching will start next year. It is becoming increasingly difficult for the Eagles to play them both.

But do you reckon if the Eagles had their time again, they might squeeze another year out of Mitchell and instead bring down the curtain on Priddis's magnificent career? And what of Mark LeCras, Will Schofield, Lewis Jetta and others who are consistently inconsistent?"

Could not have put it better myself. We bet on Priddis and now we have a better player in the coaches box. He has had a magnificent career but surely it's time. If Priddis battles to keep up now how the hell will he keep up next year?

OUT - Shuey (Rested), Priddis (GTFO), Lecras (GTFO)

IN - Parto, Mitchell, Karpany.

Shuey is carrying something, and that kick in the knee might just tip the MC to give him a rest. He's fallen off considerably in the past 5 weeks.

Has averaged 80 ranking points in the last 5 weeks, his season prior to that he was averaging 104 :heartarrow:

OUT - Shuey (Rested), Priddis (GTFO), Lecras (GTFO)

IN - Parto, Mitchell, Karpany.

Shuey is carrying something, and that kick in the knee might just tip the MC to give him a rest. He's fallen off considerably in the past 5 weeks.

Has averaged 80 ranking points in the last 5 weeks, his season prior to that he was averaging 104 :heartarrow:

Spot on.

FB: Schofield Barrass Sheppard
HB: Hurn McGovern Duggan
C: Jetta Yeo Gaff
HF: Partington Darling Lamb
FF: Cripps Kennedy Karpany

R: Vardy Sheed Shuey

I: Cole Nelson Mitchell Redden

In: Partington Lamb Karpany Mitchell
Out: Petrie Priddis LeCras Hutchings

That would make my week, but lets face it, it will probably be

In: Mitchell
Out: Hutch

The end.

Good ruckman have been killing us late in games. Vardy's output has dropped off massively since the bulldogs as he offers 0 around the ground with his rucking so/so. Lycett is not going to be a 100% so dont want him in, Giles is slow, Mcinnes isn't a ruckman so i guess we stick with Vardy.....

Priddis is just to damn slow so we need to bring is some kids who i hope can run out 4 1/4's

Possibly no Zorko this week? If that is the case i think we drop hutchings back.

Out: Priddis, Hutchings,Lecra, Schofield
In: Mitchell, Partington, Karpany, Mutimer

Hurn Gov Shep
Yeo Barrass Duggan

Partington Sheed Gaff

Darling Petire Karpany
Jetta JK Cripps

Ruck: Vardy, Shuey, Redden

Bench: Cole, Nelson, Mitchell, Muitmer

Good ruckman have been killing us late in games. Vardy's output has dropped off massively since the bulldogs as he offers 0 around the ground with his rucking so/so. Lycett is not going to be a 100% so dont want him in, Giles is slow, Mcinnes isn't a ruckman so i guess we stick with Vardy.....

Priddis is just to damn slow so we need to bring is some kids who i hope can run out 4 1/4's

Possibly no Zorko this week? If that is the case i think we drop hutchings back.

Out: Priddis, Hutchings,Lecra, Schofield
In: Mitchell, Partington, Karpany, Mutimer

Hurn Gov Shep
Yeo Barrass Duggan

Partington Sheed Gaff

Darling Petire Karpany
Jetta JK Cripps

Ruck: Vardy, Shuey, Redden

Bench: Cole, Nelson, Mitchell, Muitmer
No zorko?

Seriously, the only players you'd take ahead of him in the first round would be Lynch and Heppell (and maybe B Smith).

History is entertaining. But as an outcome the Gaff drafting has failed - he isn't a mid. he is a soft boundary umpire with a squeamish affliction against a contest. Hi picks must be for players who will start in the Square or a brilliant key position player

Wow.... NFI... You my friend are a potato

Mate, you are the potato. Darling could be a superstar, gets in great position to take contested marks every game but spills probably half through weak hands. Also every overhead mark he takes he has his elbows bent which allows an easy spoil. Have you never noticed this? Basic stuff you are taught in under 10s footy.I stand by my comments, weak as f-ing piss a senior player dropping a straight forward mark when we needed him to stand up.

Out: Priddis, Lecras, Schofield
In: Mitchell, Karpany, Partington

If Shuey is not right then bring in Mutimer for him. Schoey gave away 5 frees yesterday.

A lot of young blood I know, but we still have old heads/dependables on almost every line.

What's the bet the changes will be:

Out: Cole, Schofield
In: Mitchell, Wellingham

Out: Priddis, Lecras, Schofield
In: Mitchell, Karpany, Partington

If Shuey is not right then bring in Mutimer for him. Schoey gave away 5 frees yesterday.

A lot of young blood I know, but we still have old heads/dependables on almost every line.

What's the bet the changes will be:

Out: Cole, Schofield
In: Mitchell, Wellingham

Schoey gave 4 away. 1 was absolute trash, and you all know it.

Out: Priddis (retired), LeCras (retired), Shuey (rested, something's not right,), Petrie, Hutchings
In: Partington, Karpany, Mitchell, McInnes, Mutimer

season is basically over, even if we scrape into the finals. time to give some games to the young guys and get a good pre-season into them, hopefully they will become starting 22 in 2018

not a McInnes fan but you may as well let him play out the season at AFL level and see what he can do before ending his west coast career

it wouldn't be the best for their experience to willy nilly bring in rookies - it would kill their confidence.

I reckon if getting their arse kicked in a premature debut ruins a kid's confidence, then we might as well find out about that mental fragility sooner rather than later.
Give them a taste, and send them into the pre-season knowing exactly how hard they have to work to make it. Weights session or beach run gets a bit tough? There can't be a better motivation than remembering the time a senior player pushed them around like a little kid. Go full Rocky 3 montage and get better, or GTFO.