Analysis Changes vs. Lions

• Thread starter Thread starter QL 21

Agreed, it took Duggan 30 odd games to find his feet. This is why we need to play Parto now. If we want him to be a player for us next year, he needs games now.

So frustrating seeing him play well in the WAFL and then not even give a chance. Give him a few games to see how he goes then send him back if his form warrants demotion. Im sure that all the other 1st, 2nd year players that get games at other clubs arent finished articles.

I would like us to take the helicopter view and understand that we did not deliver this year but we can still salvage something from this year.

1. Truth is we have suffered in not getting the ball tapped to us. Cox and NicNat (add in to a lesser extent Lycett) have been dominant ruckman and I believe our mids do not know how to play to a losing ruck. We get both back next year and have unearthed a great recruit in Vardy that will give both depth and options. The focus has to be at winning first use of the ball and finding out who can actually get their hands on the ball and do something with it. If we want a full time tackler - then we have Priddis and Hutchings.

2. We need to find out more of our youngsters so I would like to see Parto and Karpany told that they have the next 4 games. I probably have seen enough of Mutimer to believe he is depth. I would probably not bother with Lamb as he is a failed experiment and we have no idea of where and how to play him.

3. Persevere with Cole, Nelson and Duggan. They are all looking AFL quality and we need games into them.

4. Lecras and Priddis to join Masten, Butler and Wellers at East Perth. I know we are contracted with Priddis but let him have his 2018 exit interview now and let him know that he should call Scott Thompson and ask him how much he enjoyed this season. As for the rest, let them know their careers are in jeopardy.

5. Long overdue we need to give some home truths to players about how they play. Darling - no more staging. Barrass - keep watching that balance between marking and spoiling. Sheppard - disposal and decision making by hand is awful. Cripps - take on the run and carry as your crap kicks from 45 will see you dropped. etc Time to set mini targets for the rest of 2017.

Truth of the matter is that I am now not worried whether we make finals. As put by many, if we make finals we will only be making up the numbers.

Let's not waste the year. Let's learn.

Oh and tell Vozzo he has 3 months to start the process of making the Football Operations elite. He should be required to give the board a presentation on what his vision for football operations is and how he will achieve it. No more Nisbett puppet and no more wishful thinking. It is now time to deliver the vision.

i agree with most of what you've said but just on lamb he is a natural winger but because he grew slightly taller they tried to make him a kp which he is not, i think the club did him a disservice by doing that since they put him back to the wing his wafl form has greatly improved, they should leave him on the wing to try to push for selection. we seem to have a habit of playing guys out of position and expecting them to succeed much to our detriment.

2. We need to find out more of our youngsters so I would like to see Parto and Karpany told that they have the next 4 games. I probably have seen enough of Mutimer to believe he is depth. I would probably not bother with Lamb as he is a failed experiment and we have no idea of where and how to play him.

If you mean this is Kurt's career ceiling, I think that is harsh. Let's see how he goes with another pre-season under his belt. His tank definitely needs work from what we saw but he showed potential and made some good pieces of play. I think he suffered a bit from adding bulk quickly so he should have a better balance next year between run and strength. He didn't look completely lost at the few stoppages he got to attend so...we gotta cling to some hope!

i agree with most of what you've said but just on lamb he is a natural winger but because he grew slightly taller they tried to make him a kp which he is not, i think the club did him a disservice by doing that since they put him back to the wing his wafl form has greatly improved, they should leave him on the wing to try to push for selection. we seem to have a habit of playing guys out of position and expecting them to succeed much to our detriment.

I think Lamb should be played for the rest of the year along with Parto and Karpany. We need to discover if there is anything there that we can work with. Going purely on WAFL form is sometime pointless... there are guys who will step up at a higher level. But we need to get games into the young guys to tell if they can step up at AFL level

Agreed, it took Duggan 30 odd games to find his feet. This is why we need to play Parto now. If we want him to be a player for us next year, he needs games now.
Duggan didn't really start to particularly impress until he was moved to a different position vs Geelong, but he was more highly regarded because he was a 1st round draft pick and did pretty well in 2015 as a 1st year player. They might also have thought that his inability to find the ball as a mid was not as big a problem as Parto's apparent lack of defensive pressure...

If you mean this is Kurt's career ceiling, I think that is harsh. Let's see how he goes with another pre-season under his belt. His tank definitely needs work from what we saw but he showed potential and made some good pieces of play. I think he suffered a bit from adding bulk quickly so he should have a better balance next year between run and strength. He didn't look completely lost at the few stoppages he got to attend so...we gotta cling to some hope!

Kurt has shown heaps of development in his second year... He was drafted as a HBF with mid capabilities and then in his second year with a full pre-season has been played as an inside mids that tackles well and racks up the ball in the 25-30 range. He was then rewarded with a block of 4 AFL games but as per usual played out of position.

This is part of the reason why Simpson is such a dickhead sometimes; "Partington needs to work on some things..."

Oh really, but the rest of our senior midfield dont, right?

In the spirit of parity, why not send Priddis back to the WAFL to work on his disposal? Or Le Cras to work on his tackling?

Ahhhh thats right, the whole "credits in the bank thing"

This is precisely the reason why this footy club isnt moving forward, we apparently demand our kids keep working on holes in their games, but no such expectation is required by a senior player. At this rate, Partington is going to have to get 50 disposals and 6 goals to get a call up. Anyone would think we were back to the glory days of Cousins, Judd, Kerr and Cox and that our midfield is too good and too deep for kids to get a start.

Whats even more annoying, is that Partington is putting up better numbers in the WAFL then Masten, and it will be Masten who gets the call up, whilst luke "needs to keep improving"

Frustating.
Without repeating myself, the Coach and/or MC should have been bringing in some of the 2nd tier players on a regular basis, giving them 2-3 games at AFL level and if required then send a them back to EP to work on things, then try another one and so on and so on. At least the younger players would be then getting some exposure at AFL level, as Rome wasn't built in a day!

Admittedly they did do this with Mutimer earlier in the year, but since then can't think of anybody else who was introduced at AFL level for the first time? Cole I think had played before. I do realise however that players do have to be ready to play at that level. I guess it's easy for us lounge chair critics as we are not in the inner sanctum of the Club!

Without repeating myself, the Coach and/or MC should have been bringing in some of the 2nd tier players on a regular basis, giving them 2-3 games at AFL level and if required then send a them back to EP to work on things, then try another one and so on and so on. At least the younger players would be then getting some exposure at AFL level, as Rome wasn't built in a day!

Admittedly they did do this with Mutimer earlier in the year, but since then can't think of anybody else who was introduced at AFL level for the first time? Cole I think had played before. I do realise however that players do have to be ready to play at that level. I guess it's easy for us lounge chair critics as we are not in the inner sanctum of the Club!

Cole played 2 games last year, Karpany 1. They've both played a handful of games this year. That's it though.

No, u r wrong. Many posters who watch wafl have said he lacks impact and has things to work on. Many of his high possession games have been reported as minimal impact.

Others want him in instead of lecras (as though they play same position) and others want him instead of priddis and given priddis stature, that's essentially expectation that he will come in, get 20 possessions, not have players "walz past him" and be contested ball winner. Some others think he is a goal kicking midfielder that we need, when it's clear that's not our need.

Partington is now a symbol for everything wrong with club.

Sorry that's piling on pressure and we will turn on him. He is set up.

Ummm since when doesn't any team need a goal kicking midfielder..a goal kicking midfielder is like gold to a team. If your midfield can get 3-4 goals a game takes pressure of the forwards and makes the opposition midfield start playing negative roles.
The issue is he has clearly been playing good enough in the wafl to get a game but he isn't because Simpson keeps trusting his senior players will turn it around.
Well how much longer do we need to flog a dead horse because it hasn't worked all year.

Not discarding him - we need to make sure there is a balance of experience and new talent. My comment was not to push him away, I was saying seen enough and he is decent depth. From what I saw, he is not yet starting 22. I foresee more development and improvement - we just need to see others in 2017. And yes, I still have hope for him.

Out
Priddis, Schofield, Vardy, Lecras, Cripps, Jetta
In
Mitchell, Watson, Partington, Lamb, Karpany, Lycett (or Giles)

B. Watson Barrass Sheppard
HB. Hurn McGovern Yeo
C. Gaff Sheed Duggan
HF. Darling Petrie Lamb
FF. Nelson Kennedy Karpany
R. Lycett Shuey Partington
I. Cole Hutchings Mitchell Redden

Games into kids, more responsibility for those like Duggan who have been in the system for a few years. Vardy gets a rest.

19511595_10155033657532224_3368158866986655408_n.jpg

we draft a lot of mids because (at least I think)

1. a lot of youth coaches will play their best players in the midfield
  2. the nature of the modern game requires most of the 18 on field to have some ability to play up the ground

basically it's a lot easier to teach a mid to play HBF than it is to teach a BP

If you look at the really strong teams this year and the Crows immediately come to mind. You need to have 16 mids, one FF and one FB

This whole thing of a specialist inside or outside is finished. All players at all times need to have several facets to their game

The Hawks have been doing this for years.

Would love to see them throw the magnets around this week. Its our midfield that got pantsed, what is an ideal (different) 4 starting in the centre square this week? Left field I'd try, gov, duggan, murtimer and maybe redden (or hutchy). See if they can win the cp and clearance.

I don't watch East Perth and so only have the stats/match reports to go by. There must be something Partington has been told to work on which he hasn't yet addressed. Simmo and the MC have vastly more experience and more data than us; any pleb can say out Priddis in Partington.

That said, there comes a point when you have to take a punt on the young bloke and see what happens.

I don't watch East Perth and so only have the stats/match reports to go by. There must be something Partington has been told to work on which he hasn't yet addressed. Simmo and the MC have vastly more experience and more data than us; any pleb can say out Priddis in Partington.

That said, there comes a point when you have to take a punt on the young bloke and see what happens.

It's not hard to get him into the side.

Give ANY of Cripps/Lecras/Nelson/Petrie a rest. Then shift Yeo to HBF (if Nelson) or rest Priddis as small HFF and trial Parto in the midfield. If he is useless and/or spent by half time you can shift Yeo to midfield (if Nelson) or Priddis to midfield (if Cripps/Lecras) or you've just been playing with one less tall and playing an extra mid off the bench. This ISN'T rocket science. Maybe the extra midfield rotations actually helps the entire team last a little longer into Q4's this year rather than having one massive heartattack as a team everytime it's Q4.

Most teams anyway are structured with 5 forwards and a resting mid (on the team sheet) that usually ends up meaning 7 on-ballers, and 4 forwards.

On The Couch this week had great footage of our players not pressuring or tackling around the ball and hanging back hoping to get easy ball.

We are 16th for pressure this year along with 15th for contested ball.

If Simpson is keeping Parto out for the reasons stated he's essentially a hypocrite, given he won't drop the players responsible for the above numbers.