Changes Vs Melbourne

IN: Buckley, Licuria, Bryan
OUT: Thomas, Toovey (Omitted), Shaw (Corked Thigh)

Three ruckman in is too many, and Richards has been ok the last two weeks so he should stay.
Also Jeff White isn't a big body so Richards should do ok on him in the rucking area i reckon.

im guessing there will be a debut, or one of the young kids will get another run just because mm loves to gove the kids a go on the big games.
Its goign to be tough this week because i dont know whats going on with injuries, but i think Stanley and cook should be in line for debuts. i would drop medhurst for cook, i was really unimpressed by his game. Stanley for heath?! Thomas and pendulbury should just be played in pockets if they are worried about there fiteness levels.

Possible line up against Melbourne

B: H. Shaw - Prestigiacomo - Maxwell
HB: R. Shaw - Clement - O'Brien
C: Johnson - Swan - Holland
HF: Didak - Cloke - Thomas
F: Davis - Rocca - Medhurst
FL: Fraser - Pendlebury - Lockyer
INT: Burns - Licuria - O'Bree - Richards

OUT: Toovey - Goldsack​

Re: Possible line up against Melbourne

In: Buckley, Clement, Licuria.
Out: Goldsack, Toovey, Heath Shaw (inj./rested).

In: Stanley, Davies (if Shaw is out then he will play), Dick ( we need his pace) & possibly Bryan to rough up White

Out: Richards (unlucky but Bryan will really hit White hard & I think Jeff White is a little soft), Shaw(looked very sore, he is ultra important though & wouldn't be surprised if they play him), Thomas(needs to be rested to give us a really good chance in the second half, we need him to step it up a bit) Medhurst (played in some pain last week bring in Dick for the pace)

Yep Buckley and Clement in for Goldy and Tooves, that will give Melbourne plenty to think about, are they both 100%? Surely they can get Shaw up in 8 days unless his leg is broken? Lets hope for a nice dry day because Melbourne really died in the last quarter against Crows. As usual our backline depth will be the key, stop their options like we did with Freo. Big question is who will get Davey? He is as dangerous because if their big men aren't delivering he has a habit of firing.They had better be fit whoever it is, not Holland thats for sure, maybe Thomas if Davey starts down forward? They will have a red hot crack for at least 3 quarters, but surely a more settled Magpie unit can run em down.

Melbourne have a win under the belt and will be running hard for another win. We need to picka fit fit side to meet the challenge they will throw at us. Anyone remotely sore or inhjured must make way for a fit re[placement if available: given our widescale injuries that may not mean too many changes.

Thomas' goal kicking was very poor but his general play was excellent, he had a dip at everything and wore some attention. What a huge compliment that they're targetting him every week now. He may be ragged but he's not injured and there's a rest coming soon, play him.

Is Nicholls far away? I think I saw him in our best at Willi recently. He made the worst debut ever vs West Coast, but thats a very hard school to start in. Clearly a highly rated kid and has earned his spot once, give him another crack if Shaw misses.

Love to see Clarke in, especially if its wet and a runner is needed over a skilled tall. If its dry Wakelin is a show, just on the bench.

Tooves is a bit ragged too, maybe rest him? Goldsack is fine, one massive error running into a tackle but otherwise smart and composed. My Brother-in-law has taken to calling him Yellow Dick.

My preference would be Shaw out, Clarke in. Play a fit side for a hard running slog, and don't rush Bucks back: we want him cherry ripe.

Not if both Clement and Presti are out at the same time. You still need some experience out there. Wakes still has a role to play, at least this season.

I agree. If Clement isn't back and Presti doesn't get over his foot injury then Wakes is a MUST!!

Don't see the need to rest Thomas with a 9 day break and then a week off to come afterwards.

He started off bad but bounced back in the 2nd half last week which is the sign of a very mature player. He is very important.

I agree. He is in seniors and of exception for a 2nd year player. He will be expected to play every game this year and was just unfortunate he had some yips last Friday. Total class player and silly to rest him IMO unless it is injury related.

I really hope Bucks is back and along with James too. At this stage we have actually miss James more than Nathan. Licca will be in and Toovey droppped for him. Heater really should be ok given the break even though it was a serious cork. Would love to see Martin Clarke pop his cherry for the massive day but will depend on whether we get some champions back or not. Rather early to guess but as the days go by we'll find out about our Captain and co-captain's chances. :thumbsu:

Love that line-up. Wakes in for Presti as well, if Presti isnt 100%. He's been playing injured all year and needs a break.

Iles Stanley or Davies if Buckley isnt ready.
Cox if Clement isnt ready.

LOL...its the split round next week. No way they will play bucks now...they will wait for after split round.

Surely they can get Shaw up in 8 days unless his leg is broken?
I wouldn’t bother unless he walks into Lexus on Thursday 100%. Let him recover. An 3extra weeks rest before the break won’t do him any harm. I nearly think about resting Burns too if Bucks had played a couple of games.

LOL...its the split round next week. No way they will play bucks now...they will wait for after split round.
If his leg is right then the split round will give him a good recovery time. Half to 3 quarters of a game and a week off would be ideal.

Give the 'Sack another go. He's doing well!

I'm really happy with him. A few people have indicated he struggled on Friday night but I thought he was very solid. I have watch the reply since and it confirms by thought on him. He made 1 bad blue but other than that he did all the right things. He hit his targets, did not fumble and attacked the pill hard. He also looks pretty good in a 1 on 1. All things that you look for in a young fella. If he gets dropped I reckon we will see him again this year. Like Cox he does not look out of place and certainly adds depth.

I thought Goldsack did okay and deserves to hold his spot...probably won't though if Clement and Buckley are ready to go. Is Marty Clarke really ready for AFL level...some of you have been suggesting he should be given a go, but as I haven't seen any of his games I can't believe that he would be ready yet. I'd like to see Stanley given a go as I've read a bit online that he's been playing well for willy. I'm happier for him to be in the side than Licuria.

Outs: Didak (susp), Goldsack, Richards

Ins: clement, Bryan, Licuria.

Bucks wont play. I will tip after split round.

Heath Shaw has 10 days to recover from his corky which is long enough, he will be fine. Stanley shouldnt come in just yet, team is going to well to take a silly risk when we have better players available to come in, no offence to danny whatsoever.

Key Match ups: Presti on Neitz
Maxwell on robbo
Holland on johnstone
Fraser on White
Carroll on Rocca
Miller on Cloke

Will have to pay attention to Bruce, but when u think about it, they need to pay more attention to us, we are the better team, who is in better form.
They need to match up on Swan, lockyer, Burns, O'Bree, pendlebury and even leon neon.

hmmm might be a long day for the dees...

Stanley shouldnt come in just yet, team is going to well to take a silly risk when we have better players available to come in, no offence to danny whatsoever.

Maxwell on robbo
Holland on johnstone
Fraser on White
Carroll on Rocca
Miller on Cloke

Sorry for butting in but I have a mate that plays for willy seconds and I watched the Sandringham Willy match .. Wasn't Stanley B.O.G. playing on robbo:rolleyes: .. The way MM picks his team horses for courses and Stanley deserving of a spot .. I wouldnt be suprised if Stanley came in and just so happened to line up on robertson ;) .. silly risk .. maybe not (p.s. Im a pies supporter I use my mates user name coz I got banned from big footy a long time ago n have never been able to get back on)

In: Licuria, Clement, bryan
Out: Toovey (needs a rest!), Richards (struggled last wk), Goldsack (unlucky)

Bucks won't play till split round. Heater'll play and we'll need his pace and skill. Don't read into last wk's win v Adelaide. They are NOT the real deal. We just might be. I expect Melbourne to get flogged this round. Last week's win took everything out of them.

Maxwell on robbo
Holland on johnstone
Fraser on White
Carroll on Rocca
Miller on Cloke

No way :o

Miller didn't play against Adelaide and will struggle to get back in to the side this week.
I wasn't aware that Travis Cloke was a backman.