Changes vs North Melbourne

Redden should stay in until Lobbe comes back. He will be match fit in a week or 2 at this rate and has plenty of upside. krak to replace impey and thats about it. everyone needs to learn from this game and be cleaner w ith ball and stop friggin around with it. just go bang.

Ins : Lobbe - anyone doubting he's our most important (or equal most with Trengove) player by now should be attending Remedial Football 101.
Young
Krakouer

Outs : Redden - so underdone you could see flakes of rust as he creaked around the ground.
Impey
Neade - love what he brings to the team when on song, and when Lobbe and Ryder are both fully fit an on-song Neade crumbing at their feet will be an exciting proposition, but with them underdone, him being used as a target still :mad: and his disposal shot he needs some time in the SANFL.

Structure. 36 re-bound 50's to Port, versus 51 re-bound 50's to Sydney last night. We were like hungry dogs with a bone, keeping it in last year if we didn't get a goal. This year if we don't get a goal from our forward entry (and those are wide and/or shallow so not often) the opposition just waltz's it out with ease. I'd bring Krak in and play him as a lock down forward. Our defensive side of our small forwards at the moment is laughably non-existent.

tl;dr - Please be fit Lobbe! I want to actually see our side play to the structure we've practiced over the pre-season and not being able to put out on the park yet.

heck I feel depressed after that loss lol..seriously we havn't won a game since west coast in the nab challenge, already forgot what it feels like to win a game haha.

IN: Lobbe (Butcher)
OUT: Redden
Quite clear-cut I think. Redden shouldn't have been in the side. He's either replaced by a fit Lobbe, or Ryder is first ruck against Norf, and Butcher plays out of the goal square.

IN: Young
OUT: Neade
Reward good form, punish poor form. Young in also allows Robbie to play forward while Young is in the middle.

IN: Krakouer (O'Shea)
OUT: Impey
If we elevate Krakouer, I think he certainly deserves a spot in the side. He can play forward, through the centre of the ground and is a very handy defender. If Krakouer isn't elevated, I think next in line for Impey's spot is O'Shea.

First of all people we are into game 2 should have beaten Dockers and last night no doubt Swans were the better side. However on reflection there was at least 5 turn overs from memory with little pressure that directly resulted in goals. Schultz missed 2 and gave away a stupid free when Westy marked and would have converted, all at crucial times. Ollie who I thought was in our best 3 over ran a ball in the centre square Swans run away and kick a long goal. Not a long way away but I feel our manic fwd half tackling is missing. Having said all that I tend to agree with above changes and I would pick O'Shea for his rebound extra height and intercept marking. With O'Shea and Pittard off half back that frees up Broady for midfield role. Also Young for Neade is a no brainer and maybe even Moore for Monfries, although understand Ken would be hesitant to make to many changes.
Also feel Cornes is quickly coming to an end and he simply doesn't provide the flexibility we require and his lack of pace is now a glaring weakness.

the thing we miss most about Lobbe is his tackling after the initial ruck contest, helps a lot with the clearences

Redden should stay in until Lobbe comes back. He will be match fit in a week or 2 at this rate and has plenty of upside. krak to replace impey and thats about it. everyone needs to learn from this game and be cleaner w ith ball and stop friggin around with it. just go bang.

Anyone thinks that picking Redden again is a good thing is nucking futs !

Kens mantra has been that there a no gold passes ..form down and someone will take your place....Ken has played players with no 2015 form and underdone ...Our losses are coaching losses...He could just stick to the team he has got but I hope we all remember chocco in his last years dying slowly because of the blind faith he put in players

Anyone thinks that picking Redden again is a good thing is nucking futs !
gee not much faith in Redden. he was a bit rusty thats all. he is a big unit with good skills and we need him in the middle. he will be as good a lobbe this year dont worry about that. leave him in ruck and leave ryder in the forward line. the problem is what our mids are doing with the ball anyway.

Redden was gassed at half time and got smashed in the ruck.

I got told all last year that losing the structure by dropping Butcher was fine because it gave us extra run. If that's the case, what the hell is the logic in picking someone who is an absolute liability after the main break?

He can develop his match fitness and skills in the SANFL for now.

Redden had 0 hit outs in almost 3/4 of footy & was absolutely gassed at the start of the second qtr, I sat behind the players bench & watched him rotated heavily, the big fella shouldn't have been rushed back.

It's all well & good in theory to have him try & nullify the ruck battle but we could've rucked Butcher against Pyke & likely had a bigger impact around the contest plus up forward.

He needs to go back to the SANFL & regain his touch/fitness because it was pretty hard to watch him struggle against a pretty average opponent, if he goes up against Goldstein he'll break a record for hit outs.

Redden won a free kick at the centre bounce during the Richmond NAB game. He turned slower than the Queen Mary and telegraphed a sideways kick that missed its target and hit a Tiger player. Pretty sure they goaled from there. He needs time to to get his touch and decision making back to an AFL level. Pretty arrogant of us to throw him straight into the ruck after two years in the rehab group.

If we can hold out replacement KPDs when they aren't ready, in order to preserve run, I'm not buying the need to play an underdone (tartare/blue) ruck to free up Ryder.

In half a game mate
Sorry that would equate to 2 tackles per game and 4 contested possessions against an opposition that wad already played a quarter....At best he is a good sub It took Richmond 3 years to work that out and we are on the same track

What I said Thursday arvo before teams.

"Redden will not play. He is way off in terms of fitness. You could tell he was stuffed 3/4 into that trial game vs Richmond. Let him get some SANFL games under his belt and he MAY get some games later."

"Surely it can't be Redden(coming in). Unless Ken thinks he can play 3 quarters and then sub him out, All while taking the risk of hoping nobody gets injured during the game."

It was just dumb to select Redden. Butcher was the best KPF in the Crows NAB game, The Freo game and the South Adelaide game. Yet he gets dropped for a guy that hasn't walked for 2 years. I really feel sorry for Butcher at the moment.

Trengove was great as the 2nd ruck last year. It would have made more sense for him to follow Tippett around the backline and then go into the ruck when Tippett was there.

Sorry that would equate to 2 tackles per game and 4 contested possessions against an opposition that wad already played a quarter....At best he is a good sub It took Richmond 3 years to work that out and we are on the same track
harsh mate, didnt think he was our worst by a long way. Direct same anger in Hartlett direction

Redden had 0 hit outs in almost 3/4 of footy & was absolutely gassed at the start of the second qtr, I sat behind the players bench & watched him rotated heavily, the big fella shouldn't have been rushed back.

It's all well & good in theory to have him try & nullify the ruck battle but we could've rucked Butcher against Pyke & likely had a bigger impact around the contest plus up forward.

He needs to go back to the SANFL & regain his touch/fitness because it was pretty hard to watch him struggle against a pretty average opponent, if he goes up against Goldstein he'll break a record for hit outs.
Was sitting on the fence nearby was concerned with the rotations that's why we can't carry him back into form. Some of his ground and body work in the packs early was great but maybe test the water again in about a month.

In favour of the one ruckman with Jacko helping out along with going third man up. If we go with Moore he might make a good ladder for someone.

I think there is a spot for Moore in the 22 to play as the big bodied tagger - 2 weeks now we've been ripped by Mundy and Kennedy and don't have an obvious match up (I think Kane is too small).

Moore's fitness coming back from injury is a concern as is his ability to concentrate in a role as that tagger but to me it's the most obvious need we have.

gee not much faith in Redden. he was a bit rusty thats all. he is a big unit with good skills and we need him in the middle. he will be as good a lobbe this year dont worry about that. leave him in ruck and leave ryder in the forward line. the problem is what our mids are doing with the ball anyway.
He could not run after half time , Sydney's rucks where pushing him and he would almost fall over.
He is no way near match ready for AFL, if we really are that desperate I would rather us play Harvey.
I have faith when he is fit, he will not be as good as Loobe this year.

He was dropped a week ago.

And for a guy the coaches must have known was nowhere near match fit.
I can only assume they thought: Holy shit we got smashed in the ruck last week and it affected our midfield. We need a second ruckman to help Ryder. Tall for Tall.

I was on board partly because i was so excited for big red, but also because I didn't think the panel would select someone who was so clearly underdone. The selection panel and I were both wrong there.

I can only assume they thought: Holy shit we got smashed in the ruck last week and it affected our midfield. We need a second ruckman to help Ryder. Tall for Tall.

I was on board partly because i was so excited for big red, but also because I didn't think the panel would select someone who was so clearly underdone. The selection panel and I were both wrong there.

Yeah this is dead on.

I was happy with the selection of Redden because I figured if he was getting selected, they must have been happy with his fitness. What a disaster.