Preview Changes vs Nth Melbourne

Predict your Thursday night melt level

So what did that waste of space do? He played Curtin on McBean. He kicked 6 goals om him but honestly our entire defence was under the pump apart from the last quarter. Dowling again played a fair game along with patches from Pedler. Zac Taylor is another that should get games in the seniors soon. He has some real talent.
It’s just do dumb because we now seem to be okay in the KPD stakes.

Keane has been a revelation and Murray will be back soon. Butts can do a role when fit and Borlase is break glass option.

We need Curtin playing a more attacking creative role.

So what did that waste of space do? He played Curtin on McBean. He kicked 6 goals om him but honestly our entire defence was under the pump apart from the last quarter. Dowling again played a fair game along with patches from Pedler. Zac Taylor is another that should get games in the seniors soon. He has some real talent.
I don't mind Curtain playing on quality and both learning and further developing his defensive game to go with the attacking tools he naturally possesses. It may eventually enable him to not just be a very good player, but a great one!

With respect to McBean, he’s been the dominant SANFL forward of the last half-decade, but he’s isn’t “quality” and there’s a reason he isn’t playing AFL

There’s nothing for Curtin to learn from playing on him

Keane has been a revelation and Murray will be back soon. Butts can do a role when fit and Borlase is break glass option.

Sure, but he will still need to defend. Nothing wrong with him practicing those skills in a low stakes environment.

No, we can't just reward his poor performances.

If nothing else so ROB gets the fire in the belly again by being dropped.

It's sets a poor culture when players know they won't be dropped for regular poor performances.

That's why we are in this position.

Smith has been poor most of the year & now injured... yet we still play him.

Hinge was horrible in 1st couple of games yet we kept playing him.

McHenry has one of the worst games on record so we reward him with another game which he was still horrible.

Meanwhile we have young players like Dowling who are performing in the sanfl thinking wtf is going on with selection criteria...

C'mon.

I know it's politically incorrect to not be calling for ROB to be dropped at all times, but he's number 1 for hitouts and number 2 for HO to advantage in the whole league.

Dowling is 19, and was nowhere near a game last year. He's played three games this year. He's hardly spitting chips that he hasn't gotten a game yet - he has only very recently started looking like he could be ready.

Player led, won’t happen with Nix because the senior players can all blow off training to drop their kids at school. Such is our super duper culture.

View attachment 1965256

Supporters don't like to hear it but our Senior players haven't been great for the club off field.

They won't want Nicks gone because a new coach will move Sloane, Tex and Smith on. Try to start with a clean slate.

I honestly think Nicks goes the way of Sando by maybe round 15, I do not think he’s coaching us beyond this season. I reckon the rumblings don’t properly start until we sit 3-8 or something equally as poor by mid season.

Sando made it to the end of the season though. Wasn't there scuttlebutt that there were problematic interactions with players and/or staff? It wasn't a footballing performance based sacking??

North next week are paying $4.60 for the win. Against us, the shitshow that is the 2024 Adelaide Crows. In Tassie. With Ned McHenry and Lachlan Sholl probably still playing.

Got to be a misprint

Keane is only a few games into his career and Murray is injured. Butts and Borlase are barely backups.

North next week are paying $4.60 for the win. Against us, the shitshow that is the 2024 Adelaide Crows. In Tassie. With Ned McHenry and Lachlan Sholl probably still playing.

Got to be a misprint
Basically can print our own money here

McHenry is an embarrassment to the club. The fact that he was selected in the starting 22 tonight after his worst on ground disgrace last week should be all the evidence anyone needs that Nicks and co have no idea what they’re doing.
1) Most definitely an embarrassment to the recruiters and to Nicks for Ned's re-re-re-selction.
2) Nicks: "But ... but ... but he tries sooo hard!"

Sholl’s missed tackle just outside 50 for Essendon in the 4th quarter summed up his entire career. Why on earth do we ever pick him?
F'ed if I k.
If it was only the mixed tackle occasionally, I could let it go. Sometimes an angle is wrong or the tackled player has too much momentum.
Sholl is known to other Club's players as "LINT" (ie easy to brush off).

Sholl's deficiencies go even deeper, even worse than that.

I imagine that at training Sholl would look great, in space, under no pressure, spinning and dancing turns with no-one near him, a veritable NUREYEV of Footy and hitting teammates lace out with kicking that got him those Rising Star nominations (btw, it took oppo Coaches only a handful of games to work Sholl out; he's so predictable).
He's too scrawny and slightly built to play AFL.
When I see a Crow flying through the air or ejected from a contest, I think "There goes Sholl".
BUT
Here's the worst of it:
--- he is contact-averse. I saw Sholl's direct opponent sneeze, a metre away from him. Sholl was knocked over.
--- in space and with time to think, Sholl is OK, good even.
However, get an opponent close to him, breathing down his neck, and Sholl $hits the bed. He becomes panicked, fumbly and error-ridden; no composure under pressure, a useless liability to the team.

I'd trade both McHenry and Sholl in a heartbeat for just one strongly built, run-both-ways experienced mid, but I doubt there's another AFL Club dumb enough to do that deal :sadv1:.

Keane is only a few games into his career and Murray is injured. Butts and Borlase are barely backups.
No one is kicking bags of goals against us, even when we're getting towelled in the I50 count and with Murray out

There is no priority lower for us than key defender

It’s simple. Think like Nicks.
OUT Berry (inj)
IN Crouch
We’re still a mathematical chance at finals.
Regardless of the rubbish Smith McHenry and Jones churn out week in week out they are still better options apparently than Curtin and our other youth.

I think Sholl, Berry and McHenry out. Cook to the sub.

Dowling and Crouch in. Maybe Pedlar or Taylor for the third - though Pedlar seems a long way off it for fitness. Hard to see Curtin in yet.

You could maybe argue Himmelburg for Gollant, though Burg didn't do that much yesterday for mine.

Basically can print our own money here
I've never bet on a footy match, well, not officially.
Around 2005/6 when we were playing decent footy, I gave a mate odds of 4/1 that we'd beat Port. He nearly broke his wrist getting a $100 out.
It rained, Port won. Lesson learned (4 X $100 notes, with wings).

But $4.60?? Down there, especially if it's windy/rainy?
1713657299551.png

If he was recruited to eventually play as a midfielder then he should be playing around the ball, wing or half back. If we are playing him deep in defense then we have no plan.

Anyone playing except for Ned and Smith. Yep, I even prefer Murphy over Ned at this point. Even an injured Murphy.
My priority:
1) no-one. Yes, play a man short, but drop one of McHenry/ Smith/ Sholl (nett effect, zero)
2) Murphy
3) injured Murphy

daylight, massive.

4) McHenry/ Smith/ Sholl

Preview Changes vs Nth Melbourne