Strategy Changes vs Pies.

I can totally understand why people are jumping on the Collingwood band wagon. The hype is totally warranted!

In the past 4 weeks they've beaten serious contenders in Freo, Bulldogs and Saints .. Where as on the flip side we've beaten nobodies in Bulldogs, Injury ravaged crows, Carlton and Gold Coast.

Let's be honest.. we have no chance against the world beating pies.

Never said it was an issue - just that we too have been a good 2 way running side and therefore capable of matching your runners
I think you would also be surprised with our spread of goal kickers this year.

You have pretty much ignored everything most Melbourne supporters have said thus far.

Serious question: How many Melbourne games have you watched this year? And how many in the last five weeks?

Because I've watched a bit of the Pies. The forwardline on paper seems like a wreck, but in practice the natural talent of De Goey and WHE is paying dividends. Sidey has been excellent, even above his usual standards. And the backline has been competent without being worldbeaters.

But they haven't faced a side this competitive since the Crows. They run hard, yes, but is it hard enough? They have midfield prowess, yes, but does it bat deep enough? Right now, 21 of Melbourne's 22 are locked in and have put up a percentage over 200 for the last 5 weeks. They are playing scintillating footy, which is fast, accurate and extremely high scoring. We have six genuine forward scoring options - Hogan, TMac, ANB, Melksham, Hannan and Petracca. Opposition defences are having to bat to the bottom - and for the last 5 weeks it hasn't worked. We have the best contested team in the comp by an order of magnitude. 2 weeks ago, Melbourne beat the second-best side in contested possession with a +43.

I'm not saying Collingwood can't win. I'm saying you are failing to see just how good the Dees have become. They're rightful favourites, and I anticipate a Melbourne win built off midfield dominance and our powerful forward line.

You have pretty much ignored everything most Melbourne supporters have said thus far.

Serious question: How many Melbourne games have you watched this year? And how many in the last five weeks?

Because I've watched a bit of the Pies. The forwardline on paper seems like a wreck, but in practice the natural talent of De Goey and WHE is paying dividends. Sidey has been excellent, even above his usual standards. And the backline has been competent without being worldbeaters.

But they haven't faced a side this competitive since the Crows. They run hard, yes, but is it hard enough? They have midfield prowess, yes, but does it bat deep enough? Right now, 21 of Melbourne's 22 are locked in and have put up a percentage over 200 for the last 5 weeks. They are playing scintillating footy, which is fast, accurate and extremely high scoring. We have six genuine forward scoring options - Hogan, TMac, ANB, Melksham, Hannan and Petracca. Opposition defences are having to bat to the bottom - and for the last 5 weeks it hasn't worked. We have the best contested team in the comp by an order of magnitude. 2 weeks ago, Melbourne beat the second-best side in contested possession with a +43.

I'm not saying Collingwood can't win. I'm saying you are failing to see just how good the Dees have become. They're rightful favourites, and I anticipate a Melbourne win built off midfield dominance and our powerful forward line.

At no point have I dismissed your team in this debate - never. In fact I made the point earlier with Elliot and Moore out it will be tough for us to win.
I have just suggested the gap between our teams is not as great as you think, by making specific points of comparison.

We have battled injuries all year and still been very competitive hence my view that we are a far better chance than many here believe.

If you are as good as you believe, then there is no way you let this game slip against the team that stopped you making finals last year.
AND you are virtually at full strength compared to us, so there will be no excuses if you don't win.

I am no way taking this game lightly, Collingwood are confident and in good form. Yes they have a good midfield but I see ours with just as much spread and have the advantage in contested ball.

The big advantage we have is the key position stocks particular our forwards vs their backs.

And as for thinking you win the hogan Tmac battle if you let them roam up the ground well sadly that is the best way the play themself into a game. We’ve seen a massive change in hogan this year and that’s partly due to him not being stranded in the goal square.

This is the one game out of all 22 that I want us to win. After the debacle of the final round last year, I want the players to have made this game a priority. I left embarrassed and angry last time we played this mob and it ultimately cost us a finals spot. I want some form of redemption. We're in great form, and besides Lever, we are at full strength while the Pies are still missing a couple of crucial players. No excuses Dees..

the team that stopped you making finals last year.
Personally I reckon that honour goes to West Coast...

Either that or North who beat us twice.

We were finished by the time Round 23 came along but good on you for finding a positive from last year's pathetic season from Collingwood.

At no point have I dismissed your team in this debate - never. In fact I made the point earlier with Elliot and Moore out it will be tough for us to win.
I have just suggested the gap between our teams is not as great as you think, by making specific points of comparison.

We have battled injuries all year and still been very competitive hence my view that we are a far better chance than many here believe.

If you are as good as you believe, then there is no way you let this game slip against the team that stopped you making finals last year.
AND you are virtually at full strength compared to us, so there will be no excuses if you don't win.

And there it is. "Collingwood are a good chance and should take it up to Melbourne.... BUT..... if that doesn't happen then its the fault of injuries and Melbourne aren't actually that good and don't have any excuse to lose"

Straight out of the Kamry Krows BigFooty playbook.

Last time they played on QB (and because I ****ing love this video)

And there it is. "Collingwood are a good chance and should take it up to Melbourne.... BUT..... if that doesn't happen then its the fault of injuries and Melbourne aren't actually that good and don't have any excuse to lose"

Straight out of the Kamry Krows BigFooty playbook.

I think the commentators would also be making these observations which of course are factually correct.

You can't have your cake and eat it too. Either the Pies are good enough and you back them in for a win..... and if they don't you accept you were wrong an look like a goose. If they win you get to crow and we have to wear it.

OR

you say they are undermanned due to injuries, that its unlikely they will win............and if they do then it was unexpected and you quietly accept the 4 points with some humility. And if they lose you slink away quietly.

And if you can't understand that concept, see the Adelaide and/or Bulldogs boards.

The point was made that Hogan will hand off to your players running forward - I simply was suggesting that you don't have the advantage in running power to suggest we would not be able to control these runners.
Yes both Hogan and TMac will out run of backs - but this is less of a strength up the ground as I have outlined above.
Haha... you're going to get chopped up through the midfield with a transition ball.

You can't have your cake and eat it too. Either the Pies are good enough and you back them in for a win..... and if they don't you accept you were wrong an look like a goose. If they win you get to crow and we have to wear it.

OR

you say they are undermanned due to injuries, that its unlikely they will win............and if they do then it was unexpected and you quietly accept the 4 points with some humility. And if they lose you slink away quietly.

And if you can't understand that concept, see the Adelaide and/or Bulldogs boards.

I think you are misunderstanding my point - yes I am suggesting we are in with a better chance than you Guys gives us credit for.
But if you don’t win - the commentators will put Melb, not Coll under the blow torch given your strong lead up form and near best 22 line up.

I think you are misunderstanding my point - yes I am suggesting we are in with a better chance than you Guys gives us credit for.
But if you don’t win - the commentators will put Melb, not Coll under the blow torch given your strong lead up form and near best 22 line up.
Forget the commentators, you merely used them as a limp wristed justification for your own comments.

If you want to flip flop around jog on. If you'd like to stay, have some balls and pick a position. You want to rub it in afterwards? Then back your judgement and don't hide behind commentators'opinions or injuries.

Forget the commentators, you merely used them as a limp wristed justification for your own comments.

If you want to flip flop around jog on. If you'd like to stay, have some balls and pick a position. You want to rub it in afterwards? Then back your judgement and don't hide behind commentators'opinions or injuries.

I’m not hiding behind the commentators anymore than you guys have their support in believing Melb should win.

These are the facts - you may not like it but the pressure is on Melb.
Not sure how many times i need to say I think we have a far better chance than you guys AND the commentators believe.

Ps: gloating is for children and fools. If we do win I will not be back here next week rubbing your nose in it.

I’m not hiding behind the commentators anymore than you guys have their support in believing Melb should win.

Not sure how many times i need to say I think we have a far better chance than you guys AND the commentators believe.

Ps: gloating is for children and fools. If we do win I will not be back here next week rubbing your nose in it.

Dropping the word fact into a sentence doesn't magically make it true. And what I like or don't like is again irrelevant.

This whole thing started because I was pointing out the hedging you indulged in about 15 posts back. Still don't know why the commentators are still being cited as if they are anything but complete numpties.

The bookies.... and most of us feel we should win. Probably not by as much as the bookies seem to think, but on paper and on recent form, the dees should get up. If you disagree then thats fine, and as far as I can see this board has taken on board your reasons. But when we counter your points, don't do the whole "well you're EXPECTED to win due to our injuries" BS in some lame attempt to pre-emptively make a loss more easily written off with an excuse.

The Dees should win from my point of view. If they don't I will be livid, and I sure as hell won't accept any excuses about short breaks, interstate travel, the weather, Max Gawn's morning coffee, the umpiring or the position of Saturn in relation to Mars! We have had every oppo supporter on this board tell us why we are going to lose, then when we don't have them do just that. So if you want to join them, see previous suggestion as to joining the Kamry Krows.

Dropping the word fact into a sentence doesn't magically make it true. And what I like or don't like is again irrelevant.

This whole thing started because I was pointing out the hedging you indulged in about 15 posts back. Still don't know why the commentators are still being cited as if they are anything but complete numpties.

The bookies.... and most of us feel we should win. Probably not by as much as the bookies seem to think, but on paper and on recent form, the dees should get up. If you disagree then thats fine, and as far as I can see this board has taken on board your reasons. But when we counter your points, don't do the whole "well you're EXPECTED to win due to our injuries" BS in some lame attempt to pre-emptively make a loss more easily written off with an excuse.

The Dees should win from my point of view. If they don't I will be livid, and I sure as hell won't accept any excuses about short breaks, interstate travel, the weather, Max Gawn's morning coffee, the umpiring or the position of Saturn in relation to Mars! We have had every oppo supporter on this board tell us why we are going to lose, then when we don't have them do just that. So if you want to join them, see previous suggestion as to joining the Kamry Krows.

Fair enough - let’s hope it’s a great game

To be fair, i dont think anyone here is taking the Pies lightly. Personally i think its a real danger game for us unless we give a real 4 quarter effort.

Pies had been written off at the start of the year but have been a bit of a surprise, plenty of players playing their role in that team.

I think it will be 4 goals either way and will have 90,000 on the edge of their seats the whole time.

Will be amazing to see a huge turnout for a great cause.

No, you'll save your gloating for next year. Just like your oft and not so subtle mentions of round 23 last year. So fess up, which are you, the child or the fool?

I also don't think the majority of posters here will take this game lightly as well.

Whilst I think this is a game Melbourne expect to win, they still need to work for it though. And I think this will be a great indicator of where each club stands this year in regards to finals (Melb need to win this for top 4, and Coll need to win this for top 8).

But if Melbourne have poor periods of play like they did against the Dogs on the weekend. I think Collingwood are a good enough team to make them really pay for it.

Edited to say looking at the games left for Collingwood they really need to win this one. They have a block of tough games coming up. Bombers, Eagles, Roos, Tigers and Swans.

No, you'll save your gloating for next year. Just like your oft and not so subtle mentions of round 23 last year. So fess up, which are you, the child or the fool?

All good mate - at no point have I been rude disrespectful or dismissive of your team on this board.
So I think that speaks for itself.

So you can't lose? Even if you lose.
Time for you to sod off I think mate

I would be fine with Hogan and TMac chasing kicks up the ground - because they less of an offensive threat in those circumstances.
The obvious question for you and far more pertinent - is how will you manage Grundy and Cox up forward which you could not do in RD 23 last year.

Hogan and TMac are at most 4cm taller than our shortest defender of talls - COX is at least 10cm taller than yours.
Cox is way taller than every defender, I think only Harris Andrews is a KPF over 2m tall. You can't really beat Cox from that POV, you rely on covering his leading patterns and hoping that he drops the kicks directed at him. I'd be surprised if we even played OMac on him as a full time role, because Cox is pretty well out the game when the ball hits the ground.

What people don't appreciate about Hogan and TMac playing up the ground is that Melksham and Petracca go 1v1 in the forwardline, and they're very hard to stop.