Strategy Changes vs Pies.

That's sort of true but not entirely. Pendlebury and Sidebottom have both done defensive tagging jobs this year. So we typically set one of our existing on ballers a defensive task depending on match ups so i'd expect that again this week. Perhaps Pendles on Oliver. Other options include Maynard who was really good on Oliver last time up. And Greenwood is an option for Brayshaw - replacing Mayne on a wing who isn't offering a lot for us.

I would say more so you guys just tell them to stand next to the opposition best mids and back them to read the ball better. Certainly both will spread as soon as it's outside the contest so I wouldn't call it 'tagging'

Plus there's nothing wrong with that. As good as Oliver is and Brayshaw is going Pendles and Sidey are fair players and both use it bloody well going forward. I reckon we will tag Sidebottom with Brayshaw actually.

I would say more so you guys just tell them to stand next to the opposition best mids and back them to read the ball better. Certainly both will spread as soon as it's outside the contest so I wouldn't call it 'tagging'

Plus there's nothing wrong with that. As good as Oliver is and Brayshaw is going Pendles and Sidey are fair players and both use it bloody well going forward. I reckon we will tag Sidebottom with Brayshaw actually.

Those jobs were a bit more than just head to head stuff but I get what you're saying.

Will Brayshaw play on ball? Because that's where Sidebottom has played most of the year. That said last week he played a bit of split between on ball and wing. Probably more wing than he's seen all year.

I would say more so you guys just tell them to stand next to the opposition best mids and back them to read the ball better.

Back in the day, we used to call that "manning up". They were dark times.

Right now the Pies only have 1 KPD, and it's Dunny.

Hogan and TMac are going to have a field day around the ground...

Dunn, Howe, Scharenberg, Langdon and Crisp aren't exactly short people.

The match ups will be interesting. I'm a huge fan of T.Mcdonald and Hogan is clearly dominating week in, week out. Dunn will take whoever stays closer to goal, Scharenberg has been in really good touch, starting to reach his potential although a touch quieter last week. Howe and Langdon will look to be the interceptors and will need to provide plenty of aerial support. Crisp has had a great season storming off half back and Maynard was at his best last week. Might even play midfield minutes, like he did successfully in Round 23 last season.

Shapes to be a cracking game, 2 sides with similar formlines. 90k plus crowd, going to be a great day.

What’s with all the Joel Smith love? Admittedly I’ve seen all of five minutes of Casey this year, but the stats and reports don’t identify him as performing particularly well...

Scharenberg has been playing as our CHB. He's taken some big scalps this year including Cameron. But he had a poor one last week. This is a big test for that defensive structure because Hogan and McDonald are in excellent form. But so has our defensive unit. As with most things I reckon it will be dictacted by what happens up field in the centre and the ability of both sides to slow the ball movement into the 50.

I'd hope the Melbourne coaching staff puts some time into shutting Phillips down, he has been in superb form this year and is a real offensive weapon off half back.

Dunn, Howe, Scharenberg, Langdon and Crisp aren't exactly short people.

The match ups will be interesting. I'm a huge fan of T.Mcdonald and Hogan is clearly dominating week in, week out. Dunn will take whoever stays closer to goal, Scharenberg has been in really good touch, starting to reach his potential although a touch quieter last week. Howe and Langdon will look to be the interceptors and will need to provide plenty of aerial support. Crisp has had a great season storming off half back and Maynard was at his best last week. Might even play midfield minutes, like he did successfully in Round 23 last season.

Shapes to be a cracking game, 2 sides with similar formlines. 90k plus crowd, going to be a great day.
Dunny won't be able to keep up with McDonald or Hogan. I suspect he'll take Melksham and then double-team TMac when he plays deep.

I was thinking the match ups could look something like this; Dunn on Smith, Howe on Tmac and Scharenburg on Hogan. Dunny can switch over with Scharenburg onto whoevers playing deepest out of Hoges/Smith and Howe goes wherever Tmac goes, wing/fwd.

I'd hope the Melbourne coaching staff puts some time into shutting Phillips down, he has been in superb form this year and is a real offensive weapon off half back.

Phillips has been playing really well off the wing. The real damage he's been doing is in front of goal. He kicked 3 last week and is usually good for a goal a game. His running ability and fitness is immense but he has been an inconsistent kick. Recently improved though. I'd be testing it under pressure because he'll be hard to stop winning the footy just because he runs so hard. And mind him when he moves into that forward half.

For me I think Hibberd can take over Levers role, then it is a case of just bringing in someone as a second tall defender.

Frost might excel at a more defensive role as he can have issues of when to take on the game. That said some of the posters here have been seeing other players in the vfa that might have earned a shot.

Either way, I like the Richmond setup of Astbury and Grimes just getting it done and Rance being the floater/reader/interceptor type role. So, for me, it would not be a bad thing to mimic that.

Additionally, I am not sure what the end goal for Hunt is in this team. Do they want him to take on a role like Isaac Smith ? He seems to have all the tools except the kicking efficiency though...

For me I think Hibberd can take over Levers role, then it is a case of just bringing in someone as a second tall defender.

Frost might excel at a more defensive role as he can have issues of when to take on the game. That said some of the posters here have been seeing other players in the vfa that might have earned a shot.

Either way, I like the Richmond setup of Astbury and Grimes just getting it done and Rance being the floater/reader/interceptor type role. So, for me, it would not be a bad thing to mimic that.

Additionally, I am not sure what the end goal for Hunt is in this team. Do they want him to take on a role like Isaac Smith ? He seems to have all the tools except the kicking efficiency though...

And the fitness, Hunt always fades in second halves while Smith is one of the best runners in the competition. Hunt needs to get alot more fit if he's to make it at AFL level.

I was thinking the match ups could look something like this; Dunn on Smith, Howe on Tmac and Scharenburg on Hogan. Dunny can switch over with Scharenburg onto whoevers playing deepest out of Hoges/Smith and Howe goes wherever Tmac goes, wing/fwd.

I think our ability to cover the running power of Hogan and McDonald will be challenging. The Adelaide game might give an idea how we go about it where we sent Crisp to Lynch and he did really well. Not sure if we'll do that again but it's an option. Howe also has the running capacity to go with those guys up field but would be vulnerable deeper. So we might do some swapping around depending on who is deep and who is up field. I also think we'll want Howe on Petracca so that's another challenge. Between Hogan, McDonald and Petracca it's difficult to find suitable match ups for all while maintaining some intercept freedom. Those three stretch any defence but I think we have a good group to do it even if it seems on paper they lack height - that 194cm+ type defender.

Yeah I think this is what will happen ... I mean, that is exactly what did happen when Lever went down, both Hibberd and #ChurchofNev step up their intercept game. So then it just comes down to who will step in as the 2nd defender, just pick whoever has been doing the job for Casey and see how they go at this level ... it'd be nice to have the individual performance appraisals from the VFL again, rather than this "wrap up" type thing instead.

Right now the Pies only have 1 KPD, and it's Dunny.

Hogan and TMac are going to have a field day around the ground...

I would be fine with Hogan and TMac chasing kicks up the ground - because they less of an offensive threat in those circumstances.
The obvious question for you and far more pertinent - is how will you manage Grundy and Cox up forward which you could not do in RD 23 last year.

Hogan and TMac are at most 4cm taller than our shortest defender of talls - COX is at least 10cm taller than yours.

I would be fine with Hogan and TMac chasing kicks up the ground - because they less of an offensive threat in those circumstances.
The obvious question for you and far more pertinent - is how will you manage Grundy and Cox up forward which you could not do in RD 23 last year.

Hogan and TMac are at most 4cm taller than our shortest defender of talls - COX is at least 10cm taller than yours.

Gawn won’t play like a div 4 reserves ruck this time, so that should help.

No Elliot helps us so much, he was one of the few players who beat Jetta last year.

Still its 22 vs 22. Just play the game and team on merit and on the day. Collingwood is gonna be tough no matter who they pick

Now we know who stole Dean's moniker.

Cox is 10cm taller than defenders each week, Its a pity we dont have Lever but Omac is way more solid than last season. If youre winning it in the midfield doesnt matter who you have or dont have down back.

Gawn won’t play like a div 4 reserves ruck this time, so that should help.

Taking nothing away from Grundy but Gawn was cooked at the end of last year, struggled to regain full fitness after the hamstring surgery and just as he was starting to find some form he hurt his ankle against port.

Grundy and Cox may be taller than Hogan and Tmac, but a height advantage doesn't mean it translates into a more dangerous forward line.

Dunn will take the deepest forward and then when Hogan and Tmac are up the ground different players will roll on and off them.

They don't kick chase, they provide an outnumber on the wing to help connect the defence with attack and then out work there defenders back into the 50. Leave them alone and we will move the ball towards the 50 with ease and put your undersized defence under pressure. Cox is a very average footballer. If he is a threat then Hogan and McDonald are nuclear war. Not to mention Gawn...