Changes vs Port Adelaide

• Thread starter Thread starter hedgehog

If I had to pick one, I'd take Gilmore over Murphy. Neither were great on Monday but I'd say Gilmore had the better game of the two. Plus Happy's ability to play (kind of) in the ruck, through the middle, across half-back and even up forward will be invaluable given all the injuries.

Out: McPharlin (inj.) Grover (inj.) Johnson (inj.) Headland (inj.)
In: Pearce (rookie) Gilmore Bradley Ballantyne

(If Ballantyne and Hill aren't available I'd go with Walters and Hinkley to replace them)

In: Gilmore, Bradley, Pearce, Ballantyne/Hinkley

Bradley will come in as the ruck/forward, with Gilmore to play as the third tall defender. I don't think Ballantyne will play, as they probably would have said something when they announced Pearce would debut. And I doubt they will pick a third debutant in Clarke either.

I would prefer Gilmore (and Head) to not be playing, but it'll happen whether we like it or not.

OUT: McPharlin (inj) Grover (inj) Johnson (inj) Headland (inj) Dodd (shit)
In: Pearce Hinkley Clarke Murphy Ballantyne

I have a feeling it might be something like this, with 4 outs due to injury I doubt they will drop anyone, and I'm hoping Clarke debuts with Pearce.

Have we ever made this many changes before though?

Only time I can recall is Round 22 of 07 when Harvey dropped heaps of players, also against Port.

I just dont think Harv's will be keen to debut Balla's, Pearce and Clarke. (Espically an away game.)

I dont think Clarke will play, unfortunately....

I have a feeling it might be something like this, with 4 outs due to injury I doubt they will drop anyone, and I'm hoping Clarke debuts with Pearce.

Only time I can recall is Round 22 of 07 when Harvey dropped heaps of players, also against Port.

Also away from home!

Outs : Headland, Johnson, McPharlin, Grover, Hill

Ins : I would like : Ballantyne, Pearce, Clarke, Campbell, Bradley
What it will be: Pearce, Gilmour, Murphy, Bradley, Hinkley

Didn't we win that game (BOB debut game) to stuff up Port's finals chances?

Sorry about Campbell I thought he was meant to not play in the EP/WP game but apparently did. If you have to include one of Gilmore or Murphy in our line up then I would go with Gilmore who had the better game (marginally) and is more versatile around the ground. My preference though would still be:

Out: Headland, McPharlin, Grover, Johnson all injured
In: Ballantyne, Hinkley, Pearce, Clarke

Gilmore, Campbell next in line I guess, particularly if Hill or Hase fail to come up with Hinkley then into the midfield.

Didn't we win that game (BOB debut game) to stuff up Port's finals chances?

We came close but just lost, really pushed them though it was a good game. Brock Obrien starred; wish he could get his body right i think he is going to be a good player.

I don't think Bradley is available..knee soreness...din't play for West Perth last week & likely to be unavailable this week.

Murphy :eek: may have to play in defense as we have simply run out of options back there. Tarrant plays on Tredrea...but then theres Motlop, Ebert, Lade & maybe Thurstans.

I think Hill will get up & Ballantyne likely to miss.

OUT: Headland, Johnson, Grover, McPharlin
IN: Pearce, Murphy :(, Campbell, Hinkley

Walters hasn't been mentioned all week - so no chance...& Clarke being kept in cotton wool. Sandilands will have to play all game in ruck with some help from Murphy?

BTW, hasn't been reported over here, but in The Age it said Thornton had fractured cheekbone from last week?

Harvs has said only one will be picked from Monday's game.

Given we need a backup ruck, the way I see it:

Gilmore vs Clarke. Not Gilmore vs Clarke vs Murphy.

Which means Gilmore because Clarke has been talked down... which is not necessarily altogether bad. At least Gilmore can play on a semi tall. Murphy... well... can't do anything.

So ins:

Ballantyne, Gilmore, Pearce and ??? Hinkley? Keplar?

Thornton got the fracture from Mundy taking that mark. But apparently is playing...

If we play Gilmore I dont think Keps will play.
I think Hinkers will to be that in and under mid.

Gilmore, Murphy, Campbell have not done enough regardless of how many injured we have.

OUT: Headland, Johnson, Grover, McPharlin

In:Ballantyne, Pearce, Hinkley, Keplar/Pratt

Judging on the bit I saw on Fox Sports News last night, I doubt Hill will play, they said he was at best a 50-50 chance ... and really, what is the point in playing him? Looking at the incident, I'm just glad he didn't do his knee.

I think someone like Gilmore and one of Campbell/Murphy will likely come in whether we like it or not. We can't just bring in a flood of short people (Ballantyne, Hinkley, Pratt, Pearce etc) to replace the tall injured players we have.

I'd like to see: Ballantyne, Pratt, Pearce and Clarke with Hinkley and Gilmore as emergencies.

What I think will happen: Balla, Pratt, Pearce and Gilmore with Hinkley as emergency.

In Steve Malaxos's WAFL watch there is a photo of Hinkley. Underneath reading he will play on Saturday night..

Add that to the inclusion with Pearce

I've just been playing around with this magnet board

http://www.footymagnets.com/fremantle.htm

and boy is it hard to fill in the blanks after you take out
McPharlin,
Johnson,
Headland,
Hill,
Grover,
Hayden,
Crowley,
Mayne &
Palmer

Sure is hard, trying to fill the backline now. Watch for Gilmore to come into CHB this week - i dont want it but it will happen.

After reading through this thread now, I'm thinking Ballantyne might not play :( Guess we will find out soon.

On second thoughts.... http://www.fremantlefc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/7009/newsid/78202/default.aspx

COACH Mark Harvey was spruiking Hayden Ballantyne's chances of a shock AFL debut last week and a standout performance in the WAFL has only brought the livewire forward under further notice for Saturday night's clash with Port Adelaide.

Ballantyne booted five goals for Peel Thunder in his return to football, well and truly putting an extensive injury lay-off behind him.

The 21-year-old has been sidelined due to wrist surgery since he was drafted with pick No.21 in the 2008 NAB AFL Draft and needs to overcome a cork injury to make his debut this week.

Development coach Steve Malaxos says Ballantyne had been working incredibly hard on the track and will have an impact when he gets his chance.

"His return went really well and he's put his best foot forward for this week, but obviously he's got to come up from that leg injury," Malaxos said.

"He'll be good value for Fremantle."

Malaxos said he had little doubt Ballantyne would return an elite runner after months of hard running, but his touch was surprising.

"Going back quite a few months he was only able to touch the ball with one hand and do kicking, but he wasn't able to practice marking, tackling or two-handed ball handling," Malaxos said.

"So it's only been the last few weeks we've been able to do that with him.

"His kicking for goal was actually better in the game than it had been at training."

Harvey described Ballantyne mid-week as a "different kind of guy who doesn't get fazed by anything".

Malaxos agreed the sharpshooter had an air of confidence about him.

"He's a little bit older than the guys that have come out of the under-18s and been drafted," Malaxos said. "He's also played a couple of years in the WAFL and last year won the Sandover Medal.

"So he's got a lot more football experience than most of the guys that get drafted.

"Going into a game of WAFL football he'd be pretty confident that he'd be able to play well."

With a barrage of injuries hitting Fremantle in round 10 a number of this week's WAFL performers will be called on.

Clancee Pearce has already been confirmed for the AAMI Stadium trip, while Clayton Hinkley, Adam Campbell, Daniel Gilmore and Ryan Murphy will be considered.

Meanwhile, rookie Jay Van Berlo had a solid running session on Monday and is set to return to the state competition in two to three weeks.

This could be the article we have been waiting for (the sign that he will play)

Great news for Jay VB aswell....

That Footy magnets site is pretty cool.

Here is my attempt at a team this week:

teamvsportrnd11.jpg

http://www.footymagnets.com/fremantle.htm