Changes Vs Port Adelaide

• Thread starter Thread starter Vooligan

Vince loves Showdowns, Port would be ringing their hands if we dropped him for this one.

As Macca pointed out, Callinan for Stiffy.

If Vince has another average one then it's Lyons or Kerridge.

As tempting it would be to play Smith, he has missed too much footy. He's only played a half of footy and that was 6 weeks ago. The tempo is going to be too full on too carry rusty players.

As for Port I read on Adelaide Now Schulz and Hartlett were injured, anyone know how bad?

Vince loves Showdowns, Port would be ringing their hands if we dropped him for this one.

As tempting it would be to play Smith, he has missed too much footy. He's only played a half of footy and that was 6 weeks ago. The tempo is going to be too full on too carry rusty players.

As for Port I read on Adelaide Now Schulz and Hartlett were injured, anyone know how bad?

Could Smith be the sub? Love to see him back if he could.

Good point about Vince and showdowns tell him he needs a big one and give him one more chance. He finished the game a lot better than he started.

Smith (if fit) > Brown
Johncock > Callinan
Johncock > HB
McKay > Midfield/Wing
Vince > Forward
Grigg > VB (if suspended)
Brown out, yet Jaensch survives? Lunacy. Brown might not be as good as Smith, but he's 2000% better than Jaensch.

Could Smith be the sub? Love to see him back if he could.

Good point about Vince and showdowns tell him he needs a big one and give him one more chance. He finished the game a lot better than he started.
Was Vince on Hanley for the whole match? I know he was for the second half and whilst Hanley was still good he was definitely quieter than the first half.

I reckon we'll have learned our lesson and give Smith a game in the Snaffle. Jaensch out for him in round 4 though.

I'll need to watch the game in full again, but the only change I can foresee is Callinan out for someone (Johncock/Lyons).

Kerridge, Grigg, Lyons all knocking on the door though. Promising.

EDIT: VB of course could miss, knowing the MRP. Kerridge in, should that eventuate. He was playing a run with role during the NAB cup IIRC

There is no way Brown gets dropped this week. No way. He closes down his man in defence and makes minimal errors in attack. What more do you want from a Back Pocket? :confused:

Nothing he was excellent, smoovy's had too many smoovys

I think you're right. Some peoples expectations are outrages. Not every player on the ground needs to have 30 touches to do their job. First and foremost, I want my defenders to defend. If they can create some attacking drive on the rebound that is great, but it's a luxury. Right now Brown is a 5 game role-player and he's playing his role well.

Brown was fantastic tonight. We might have found a long term backman which is good. Laird will join him next season I think. Laird, Brown, Talia, Shaw, Otten is a good group of young defenders. We just need one more key position backman to stand up for when Rutten retires.
Selections:
Out: Callinan, Vince
In: Johncock, Kerridge/Lyons/Grigg

Brown was our 5th highest disposal winner and I reckon he would have had one of the highest disposal efficiencies

Both should be ok for the showdown. Schulz was subbed at 3/4 time as a precaution after copping a knock (ankle). Hartlett copped a knock to the back and was basically rested for the entire last quarter as a precaution (game under control).

Hopefully no one ... but make not mistake, next week will not be an easy game as Port are now back to playing as a team with an even contribution. Think Wright needs to take Hartlett for starters.
Wingard may be worth tagging as well, seems to be causing damage.

Would be happy to see Brodie Smith defend Westhoff if fit, as he usually does a number on player of Goodes' size.

Not sure if you want to hear this or not... but this is how we've changed this year, so far:

1st) Fitness... our players now run and spread as good as any in the comp. They're also running out quarters and games strongly. This is helping mainly our all over defensive pressure, but also forward options. Opponents don't really matter here... we're simply fitter and working harder thus far.

2nd) Tackling... has improved, but will be interesting to see against a stronger/mature AFL side. Again lead the tackle count against GWS despite having 90 more disposals.

3rd) Stronger minds... might sound a bit wishy washy, but our players seem more focused on what they're doing and don't drop their heads or get sucked in too much if things go wrong. Chaplin, Jacobs and Pearce I would say had weaker minds. I think Trengove could still be sucked into the pushy stuff and Hartlett too, but most the others simply stick to their tasks. Also our 2 new defenders Heath and Stevenson are mental rocks compared to others mentioned above.

4th) Deeper midfield... no longer including Logan, Thomas, Brett Ebert and Pfieffer in the rotations. Boak, Brad Ebert, Hartlett, Broadbent, Monfries, Cornes (back to his AA form, not saying he will get AA this year), Wines, Wingard, Mitchell and occasionally Neade.

We still have a way to go and still have lingering weaknesses:
- rucks still developing.
- winning clearances.
- occasional overuse of the ball out of defence.
- defence is vulnerable when the ball spills from a marking pack.
- can be hurt on the counter attack by fast players/teams (GWS did this a few times).
- probably another key forward short... but so far we're finding ways to kick goals... and our forward pressure has been brilliant so far.

So for the Showdown, I'm worried about Adelaide's Ruck/Clearance dominance, fast counter attacks and Walker's ability to kick goals from anywhere within 60m.

Interesting week coming up.

Brown out, yet Jaensch survives? Lunacy. Brown might not be as good as Smith, but he's 2000% better than Jaensch.
I don`t disagree with that. I don`t have them that far apart, I just thought it was more or less Smiths role Brown was playing.

kaysee how do Port go about guarding the big forwards? Can't see Carlile, Heath and Trengove really being capable of guarding the big fellas and Hombsch doesn't seem to have been given a run as of yet.

Conversely your small defenders (Hartlett, Pittard, Stevenson) seem to provide a lot of run which Reilly and Mackay can't match based on this year's form.

Neade looks like a little ripper. Not saying he's a game changer, but not sure if we've got a proper match-up for him. Could be a good test for Brown.

In: Smith (sub), Lyons
Out: Callinan, Vince

Showdown or no Showdown, Vince is just in terrible form. He appears deflated.

Some very good problems to have for the selectors coming off a win... Thoughts on borderline best 22 (in my opinion below):

Callinan - had zero impact apart from the goal assist to Walker in the first quarter. Question is did he get enough of a run for the selectors to write off his first game back and assume he will be better for the run? I think the selectors should give him one more go against Port before sending him back to the SANFL.

Johncock - Kicked 7 in the SANFL and this is what worries me. Form in the SANFL should mean squat for guys like Callinan and Stiffy. They are far far too good for this level and should be dominating.

To be honest - I really hope that the club makes a hard decision on both of these guys by rd 5-6. Either they are best 22 or not. The type of players that they are mean that they will have very good games and games where they have no influence. The worst thing we could do is have them coming in and out of the side.

Petrenko - Not a worry in the world. Easily best 22. Proved it again tonight. His chasing and tackling are fantastic. So many of his pressure acts and 1% are not captured on the stat sheet. His tap on to Callinan in a 50/50 contest to set up Walkers first goal was excellent. 2 goals and 1 goal assist were a great effort from him tonight. Love the way he agitates as well...

Jaensch - 2nd nothing game from him in a row. Poor defensively - especially when he went to Zorko. Just really struggling to see what he brings to the side. He is supposed to provide some creativity and run out of the backline, but all he does is get cheap possessions in the back half a la Joel Bowden. Does not bring anything to our side. Obviously a sitting duck until Smith comes back, but I would love to see Tambling given a spot here.

Which leads me to changes for rd 3:

Out - Jaensch
In - Tambling

Porps may have been on the outer to be named as sub today.

Strange how things work out though. His 11 disposals in the last quarter played a crucial role in our win.

Played him back into form IMO.

Callinan was very disappointing today. Apart from 1 nice goal assist, he did very little in conditions which were tailor made for the small forward.

IMO he shouldn't have been chosen in the first place, and should be dropped back to the SANFL and not chosen again until his form demands that he is.

That's the only change that I would make, given no injuries, and would bring Porps back into the side, with Johncock as the sub, which gives us cover both forward and back.

IMO Callinan showed us why he shouldn't have been chosen, and Johncock showed in the SANFL why he shouldn't have been dropped.
I've seen the "Porps in trouble" stuff on here since yesterday. I reckon it's just all rubbish. Easy answer to me for him being sub is they wanted to give Callinan 3 quarters to get some match fitness (hence why he wasn't made the sub), and rushed him back because he showed he can handle the Brisbane conditions, rather than give him a week playing for Centrals (which they should have done IMO). They figured there was a good chance it'd be even wetter by the end of the game, so they wanted to make sure that a player they brought on would be able to handle that type of game (No point having a sub who's going to he useless for you), so for that 1 game, Porps is made the sub because it accomplished the two goals they had set themselves

Now if Porps is dropped next week, maybe they'll be onto something, but for now I reckon Porps is fine.

Porps was almost the difference between the two sides in that last quarter (not discounting the obvious input from Thommo, Rory etc..) , and a major reason why we won the game. He gave us some much needed class when it counted, and popped up everywhere at the crucial moments.

One of the best contributions and impact from a sub I've seen in in a long while. I reckon he'll take alot of confidence out of that cameo.

IF we pick on form, Vince and Callinan out for Stiffy and Lyons. Vb may get rubbed out, and if so, Grigg in. Reality will be much different. Port are up and firing which is great for the game. Bring it on.

Jaesnch has to go.
Sucks defensivley. And isnt winning a stack of Footy either, his right foot is the only reason he is on an AFL list. If he aint getting kicks there is no reason for him to be there.