Opinion Changes vs Port

• Thread starter Thread starter Vooligan

Harpers rationale was as he was the sub last week he'd have to leapfrog 3 players given our ins to get a game. But two games in a row as sub is not that big a deal.

Lyons got some clearances but did nothing with them and kicked blindly on several occasions. I was disappointed he has made a real impact as a sub before but I felt he had no impact on the game and cost us a few times actually. The Olympic runner used the ball better for Geelong.

Thought Reilly needed one more week but at least he brings experience and we suddenly look a very good kicking side especially in defence with Smith, Jaensch, Brown, Reilly all superbly skilled. Grigg and Kerridge floating around half back we can slice Port up the middle. Carlton are hopeless just look at tonights game and they were even more underdone 2 weeks ago yet Port flogs go on like they are flag favourites.

We got this, can't wait.

I wish he had an impact on the game. Too much emphasis on possessions.
4 tackles and 4 clearances when we were smashed in those areas.

Look if you just don't like him then say so - clearly the selection panel is on your side

4 tackles and 4 clearances when we were smashed in those areas.

Look if you just don't like him then say so - clearly the selection panel is on your side
I think he likes him but he also likes the change because the club does

I would have picked him, but I can see why they didn't.

Sorry for not bagging the club enough.
So you should accept the decisions because the club made them? You've said it yourself, you would have kept him but because the club didn't, you've decided to degrade his game last week by comparing him to Scott West of all people. Can't you see what's wrong with that?

See I knew you didn't get it. I wasn't comparing him to West. I used West's name to demonstrate that stats aren't everything, that's all.

I'm not a fan of dropping anyone after they've been the sub. In general I think it sucks.

Two years ago I would have never imagined myself saying this but I am so happy we've got Douggie back! He's lost the roller skates and has developed into a genuine and strong b-grade midfielder who is just so consistent. An extremely good supporting act for Danger, Sloane and Crouch:thumbsu:.
:eek: B Grader ???????????

I wish he had an impact on the game. Too much emphasis on possessions.
Yeah I guess Charlie Cameron would pull us over the line all guns blazing.

Lyons did far more than his fair share after coming on. If you're dismissing him because his team rolled over in the last 10 minutes then I dunno what to say.

I thought he was at least a little better than just a solid B-grader based on last year's form.

The hell is Laird? Is he going through the SANFL?

hindsight is a wonderful thing however it seems that for players coming back from injury with no NAB games under their belts then the club is looking at two runs in the sanfl reserves before being considered for selection. If this is the policy I am ok with that..........

however with that Sando did pull a surprise with Radar as he did say on more than one occasion that Radar was keen to put his hand up however he thought that he would need another gallop or two in the reserves

I thought he was at least a little better than just a solid B-grader based on last year's form.

Last year wasn't B grade for sure, but career wise that's where he has been.

That said, all he needs to do is back up last season and he's a grade in my book.

Mookay lined up on Wingard on the team sheets. Reckon they think they'll need his speed to match up with him?

Porps looking like a prime sub candidate too. Hopefully it's not a repeat of last year where he puts on a decent sub performance once a month which keeps him in the side for ages.

Aww Lyons a little unlucky IMO (biased as that may be) but probably the most like for like, Porps extremely lucky and would have to be sub surely?

agree

Lyons very unlucky however based on Sando's selection history you don't want the green vest especially if we lose because it means bye bye the following week

Harpers rationale was as he was the sub last week he'd have to leapfrog 3 players given our ins to get a game. But two games in a row as sub is not that big a deal.

I think it is better if the club keep Phil Harper away from the media, he doesn't come across all that well.
Surely by that logic that he used, Lyons easily leapfrogged Porps though?
Nice to see Dougy back, I hope he is ok.

Harsh to say Douglas was anything less than A- last year.
He was a very good B grade last year, he's not as good as those elite mids in the comp..
We're talking the cream, that's what A grade is..
Nothing to be sad about being just below that group.. ;)

Happy with the selections. Experience and run back in the side however id have gone Porps before Lyons. Happy also to give the guys who underperformed one more crack but thats it. Sub is interesting, Porplyzia performed very well in the role last year and would be first choice.

Laird and co wait in the wings for those who dont stand up......

:eek: B Grader ???????????

Certainly wasn't meant as a negative or a slight on Douggie, mate:thumbsu:... especially considering all the c/d grade types floating around the AFL.

I've loved his work over the past year or two. It's just that I'd consider Dangerfield/Sloane/Thommo (the younger version:() and B.Crouch (potentially) a-graders while Douglas is probably on the rung below (which is still a pretty darn good grade). If he performs at his 2013 standard again this year, I'd definitely consider him a-grade though.