Changes vs Richmond

• Thread starter Thread starter RandB

Yep, a bit unfortunate as I don't think he intended to hit him in the face - Brennan definitely slipped, but it was reckless and the result deserved the three weeks.

Visited the north Melbourne board a few days ago and watched a video on The beasts development, and in particular his ruck work, At this point in time I would seriously rather have him in the side than Spencer.

Out: Spencer
In: Zac Dawson

I don't care how good a bloke he is, or how much he tries, Jordie Mckenzie simply doesn't cut it atm. Too slow, not a good tagger, not a good kick, not fast, in fact he's not really a good tackler either. Time for Neeld to make some serious changes, here's a few that I think couldn't hurt to be given a try:
Luke Tapscott to centre bounce.
Aaron Davey stints at HB, kicking is still the best at our club.
Watts a permanent forward, when he returns.

I don't care how good a bloke he is, or how much he tries, Jordie Mckenzie simply doesn't cut it atm. Too slow, not a good tagger, not a good kick, not fast, in fact he's not really a good tackler either. Time for Neeld to make some serious changes, here's a few that I think couldn't hurt to be given a try:
Save me a seat next to the band while youre shuffling the deck chairs please mate!

He's got red hair and he tries. It's a peculiar combination that some people seem to equate with being hard as a bucket full of spanners.

I've seen him play really good games, but I just don't think he's cut out for a major midfield role at the moment.
Think he needs to go back into the VFL and get his confidence up. Or we could put him on Cotchin. I actually miss Barty at times like this, was always dependable enough to tag someone if called upon. Hope he gets his knee right at some point.

Spencer out, Fitzpatrick in
Bail out, Watts in
Sylvia out, Toumpas in
Sellar out, anybody else in - Taggert/Tynan most likely.

I'd like to see Magner in, but I suspect that the reason we haven't promoted him for Clark or Grimes is that we don't have the spare cash.

Good point, I hadn't though about that, I think you're onto something if he doesnt get upgraded this week

Are people here actually serious when they post, or are they taking the piss??

On one hand we want effort, on the other we want to drop the likes of Jordie McKenzie. I agree that in the long run he wont be up to it, and we should hopefully be able to replace him soon, but he is one player who genuinely tries.

We need to stop rewarding "talent" as a club, and start rewarding effort.

And for that exact reason, as much as it pains me to say it, Joel McDonald should come in. I have my heart in my mouth every time he even looks at the ball, but he gives 100% every time he plays.

Tynan should also get a crack. Goes 100% every time I've seen him, and is hard as a cat's head.

I'm also willing to give Kent another crack. Kid looks nervous. Proved himself in the VFL, should get another week to try and adjust to AFL.

Outs: Sylvia, Sellar, Spencer (I like the effort, but he is behind Jamar, stays in if Jamar isn't fit), Byrnes, Dunn
Ins: Jamar, Watts, J MacDonald, Jetta (is he available from suspension??), Tynan. I want to give Fitzy a game, but I don't think it works for team balance.

Give Aaron Davey a full game as a small forward. Play Watts off the wing and let him link up, float back and forward as he sees fit.

Good point, I hadn't though about that, I think you're onto something if he doesnt get upgraded this week

If we didn't have the ability to upgrade a player then why would we have put Grimes on the LTI?

Jetta coming in is interesting eskimo

ThePuppetMaster - he is another who always gives everything he has got, and at the moment we need as much of that as possible. I really like the way Jetta goes about his footy. If he puts it all together for a few weeks he could be very good

Aaron Davey to HB is a great call, he is actually the only person in the team who can genuinely hit 8 or 9 out of 10 targets. I dont care that he was a gun small forward back in the day, we need some actual skill coming out of the backline!

Jamar is likely to play this week.
Jamar for Spencer is almost a certainty. Watts is fit and should also come back in and free up Jeremy Howe.

I would like to see effort from our players who are more talented than Jordie McKenzie (ie everyone aside from Sellar). It's not like effort and talent are mutually exclusive, it just seems that way because we're really, really bad.

I think Sellar should be promoted to Vice Captain and played in Key Postions forward role at the expense of dropping Dawes.

I mean, he DID kick thouse 5 goals against PA in the pre-season

I think Sellar should be promoted to Vice Captain and played in Key Postions forward role at the expense of dropping Dawes.

I mean, he DID kick thouse 5 goals against PA in the pre-season

I'd hate to reduce his effectiveness on the field. I never realised how big a job it was to be vice captain of a team until Shane Watson showed it can so drastically affect your form and concentration. Given we've got 2 or 3 co-captains here, I reckon it'd be at least five times more difficult. Couldn't blame Sellar for looking like a complete arse in that hypothetical situation.

Out. : Sylvia
The $400 k a year man Davey. Free up some dollars man and go at the end of this year...please.
Sellar
Spencer
Byrnes....what a dud this bloke is proving to be.

in. Any 5 spuds from Casey.We can't do any worse.

ThePuppetMaster - he is another who always gives everything he has got, and at the moment we need as much of that as possible. I really like the way Jetta goes about his footy. If he puts it all together for a few weeks he could be very good

I like the sentiments of your last few posts eskimo, and I agree about Jetta.

I think that we are all in a state of "what the hell do we do?" that we end up contradicting ourselves half the time. One minute we want this player, then we think about it and change our mind and so on. I think it's hard as we are really struggling to get the right players into the side.

I like the sentiments of your last few posts eskimo, and I agree about Jetta.

I think that we are all in a state of "what the hell do we do?" that we end up contradicting ourselves half the time. One minute we want this player, then we think about it and change our mind and so on. I think it's hard as we are really struggling to get the right players into the side.

I think we probably need to pick our best side, and just run with it for 3-4 games - only bringing in clear best 22 players who are injured or bringing in guys to replace those that are injured.

Give the guys some security and trust.

As ordinary as many of us think he is, I think Sellar will need to stay in this week to cover Vickery when he goes forward. Tom McDonald is still a couple of weeks away, and with Frawley to Riewoldt and Garland to McGuane (possibly) someone is gonna have to cover Vickery, most likely Sellar.

Visited the north Melbourne board a few days ago and watched a video on The beasts development, and in particular his ruck work, At this point in time I would seriously rather have him in the side than Spencer.

Out: Spencer
In: Zac Dawson

Neeld,Rawlings,Royal,Brown,Rodan,Burns,Spencer,Gillies,Pederson,Sellar OUT

Anyone but the above first 4, Magna,Couch,Martin,Rivers,Moloney,Hannath IN.