Opinion Changes vs Richmond

• Thread starter Thread starter deeman87

In- Couch,Martin,Fitzpatrick,Tapscott

Out-Sellar,Green(sorry mate),Bennell,Jmac

Get Garland out of the backline, he was recruited as a forward so get him in there.

It's pretty obvious Jordie's short of some match practice IMO; I'd rather him get some fitness in the VFL than the AFL.

True, and you could say the same about Grimes who wasn't flash on the weekend either.

But something, or someone, has to give. Couch has literally played his way in to our side over the last 2 weeks and we can't have another inside mid come in to the side without another one going. And Moloney is probably right to come in as well, so you would think McKenzie could be an unlucky one to miss out this week.

In
Moloney
Davey
Couch
Morton
Tapscott
Martin

Out
Bartram
Bail
J. Macdonald
Bennell
Sellar
Dunn

B Mckenzie Frawley T.Mcdonald

HB Garland Rivers Grimes

C Trengove Jones Watts

HF Green Martin Petterd

F Davey Clark Howe

R Jamar Moloney Magner

INTER Bate Morton Couch (Tapscott)

Big game for the club, a must win which is why I want Green, Davey, Moloney, Rivers and Jamar all playing. Lets see what they are made of.

Moloney, Jones, Magner and Couch makes one tough midfield, with Trengove, Davey, Green, Grimes and Morton all running through.

Jordie Mckenzie to play back, playing Bartram's role

Perhaps Davey playing down back at sometime to give us some run out of there if its needed.

We won't make 6 changes. Not saying they are bad changes but we will never, ever make that many.

Don't mind the idea of McKenzie back, although his poor foot skills almost mean you are trading like for like with Bartram.

Maybe we need to make two changes threads - ones for what we think WILL happen and what we WANT to happen.

At least play Green on a HBF to rejuvenate the guy before dropping him. He looks like he doesnt want to be out there but maybe down back or across a sweeping defensive wing role he may find some passion and excitement to play.

Play Watts as a lead up CHF please, enough of him on a wing or down back. Play him where you drafted him, you now have the help of M.Clark to take the best key defender.

Play Couch a full game in the middle, if you can add him Moloney and Sylvia you are a much better side. If green plays HBF as im saying push Grimes up onto a full time wing. Play Bate.

Dont drop Jamar, make sure him and Martin are in the same side and one is forward resting with Clark and Watts (not a bad tall forward line if you ask me). Whats that a number 1 draft pick with amazing athletic ability and 2 40 AA squad players up front? Have Petterd play as that really small dangerous forward i understand he is underdone and can only get better.

Really change it up and get the excited. Play Trengove starting HFF as the midfield rotation through the mids, he will kick a goal or two.

Get Tapscott into the team.

As poor defensively as Bennell might be tell him his job is to follow Nahas all day and stop him getting the footy.

Not having a pot shot at you guys, just think there is much more Neeld can do with the list. We have seen guys like Green struggle before up forward like Tarrant, like Croad, like R.Murphy, like Yarran, like Davis and become something useful across half back/down back. He still has a good kick doesnt he? Tell him to play on D.Martin this week when hes half forward.

Back 6: Garland, Frawley, Bennell, Green, Rivers, Tapscott
mid starting 6: Couch, Jamar, Moloney, Grimes, Sylvia, Bartram (tag)
forward starting 6: Watts, Clark, Martin, Howe, Petterd, Trengove
Bench: Jones, Bate, Dunn
Sub: Bail

KA your ideas have some merit. I like Green moving to defence, that has potential. Especially on Martin, that could work well. Bennell has done OK in Nahas in the past so that would be a good move too - plus if we're ever going to see the best of JB, it won't be through dropping him after one game and then picking him again 3 weeks later.
Couch won't play entirely in the middle, he's a first gamer... if he's even selected (should be) but yeah he'll be in there at times.
Sylvia is extremely unlikely to play... and you missed Magner so he will take his spot instead.
Tapscott, please yes.
We may see Morton in place of Dunn on the bench there.
The problem playing Watts as a lead up CHF is that he won't get the ball... it's either deep forward (Martin and Clark already there) or wing, there is barely any need for a CHF with our current bomb-it-long game plan. Plus he's having a positive impact playing in the middle so far. The continued idea that he's playing as a loose defender is farcical.

Overall a good effort though from an outsider.

KA your ideas have some merit. I like Green moving to defence, that has potential. Especially on Martin, that could work well. Bennell has done OK in Nahas in the past so that would be a good move too - plus if we're ever going to see the best of JB, it won't be through dropping him after one game and then picking him again 3 weeks later.
Couch won't play entirely in the middle, he's a first gamer... if he's even selected (should be) but yeah he'll be in there at times.
Sylvia is extremely unlikely to play... and you missed Magner so he will take his spot instead.
Tapscott, please yes.
We may see Morton in place of Dunn on the bench there.
The problem playing Watts as a lead up CHF is that he won't get the ball... it's either deep forward (Martin and Clark already there) or wing, there is barely any need for a CHF with our current bomb-it-long game plan. Plus he's having a positive impact playing in the middle so far. The continued idea that he's playing as a loose defender is farcical.

Overall a good effort though from an outsider.
Have to agree with the Watts situation.
Dean Bailey copped it from everywhere when he played Jack as a loose man in defence when things were going pear shaped.
So Mark Neeld comes in & does exactly the same thing.
He was recruited as a forward & should play there also i thought that was part of the reason we recruited Mitch Clark to take some heat off Watts & Jurrah?

Have to agree with the Watts situation.
Dean Bailey copped it from everywhere when he played Jack as a loose man in defence when things were going pear shaped.
So Mark Neeld comes in & does exactly the same thing.
He was recruited as a forward & should play there also i thought that was part of the reason we recruited Mitch Clark to take some heat off Watts & Jurrah?

To be fair to all parties, when a team is getting the ball inside 50 only 30 odd times a match, and most of those times are long bombs to no one in particular, there isn't a lot Watts could do there. Right now, he needs to get his hands on the footy and get some confidence. He isn't going to get that playing at CHF for us right now. I don't mind him playing the wings until we can start winning more of the footy and evening out those F50 entries...

At least play Green on a HBF to rejuvenate the guy before dropping him. He looks like he doesnt want to be out there but maybe down back or across a sweeping defensive wing role he may find some passion and excitement to play.

Play Watts as a lead up CHF please, enough of him on a wing or down back. Play him where you drafted him, you now have the help of M.Clark to take the best key defender.

Play Couch a full game in the middle, if you can add him Moloney and Sylvia you are a much better side. If green plays HBF as im saying push Grimes up onto a full time wing. Play Bate.

Dont drop Jamar, make sure him and Martin are in the same side and one is forward resting with Clark and Watts (not a bad tall forward line if you ask me). Whats that a number 1 draft pick with amazing athletic ability and 2 40 AA squad players up front? Have Petterd play as that really small dangerous forward i understand he is underdone and can only get better.

Really change it up and get the excited. Play Trengove starting HFF as the midfield rotation through the mids, he will kick a goal or two.

Get Tapscott into the team.

As poor defensively as Bennell might be tell him his job is to follow Nahas all day and stop him getting the footy.

Not having a pot shot at you guys, just think there is much more Neeld can do with the list. We have seen guys like Green struggle before up forward like Tarrant, like Croad, like R.Murphy, like Yarran, like Davis and become something useful across half back/down back. He still has a good kick doesnt he? Tell him to play on D.Martin this week when hes half forward.

Back 6: Garland, Frawley, Bennell, Green, Rivers, Tapscott
mid starting 6: Couch, Jamar, Moloney, Grimes, Sylvia, Bartram (tag)
Bench: Jones, Bate, Dunn
Sub: Bail

I like this too! I'd make a couple of changes though. I'd piss bennell off, maybe get Bartram to tag out nahas. Obviously bring in Magner, maybe have Dunn or Bate as the Sub - dunns huge kick is a bonus for inside 50 Bombs, or shots on goal from 50 out. I'd play Watts as a roaming CHF. Basically an extra on baller. I'd also give Jamar a crack down back if things got hairy for us and bring Martin in to the ruck.

So my pick would be:

Back 6: Garland, Frawley, Bartram, Green, Rivers, Tapscott
mid starting 6: Couch, Jamar, Moloney, Grimes, Magner, Sylvia (Davey)
Bench: Jones, Dunn (Bate),Sellar
Sub: Bate (Dunn)

Sylvia if available - Doubtful. If unavailable - throw davey in as an outside mid - see how he goes - he's certainly got the pace and tell him that if he doesn't do something - he's spending the rest of the year in the 2s and will be delisted - so basically this game will make or break him.

Like the idea of Tapscott as a sub for the last quarter. Good way to get him up to match fitness.

I reckon starting Bate (with a view to being replaced by Tapscott) might be an idea. Surely, he's slower than just about any other player in the league, but can find it in the middle. If Tapscott if brought in to replace an injured player, move him to the forward line (yes original I know).

Seems a lot of people were disappointed with Dunn. I thought he was far from our worst, but maybe the shit seats we had contributed to my impression.

My changes:

OUT: Green, MacDonald, Sellar and Bennell

IN: Tapscott, Martin, Moloney and Couch

Wouldn't do any more than that.

No. Just sometime later in the year. I sense the majority of us would be happy to delist and move on.

Moloney won't play, but Flash might...

OUT: Bennell, Green, Bartram, Sellar
IN: Tapscott, Davey, Martin, Moloney

I would be wrapt with those changes, but Jon Ralph reporting that Beamer will be another week. He musn't have got through training yesterday.

http://www.melbournefc.com.au/video/tabid/8667/contentid/438823/default.aspx

Pencil got a mention, will play his first game for Casey since his knee reco. I want to see him get shot, seriously.

Fixed it up for you HFF! ;)

As someone said earlier Moloney is already ruled out but that will make it easier for Tom Couch to get a run this week. Sounds as though Stef Martin is more of a chance to come straight back in to the side also. Not sure about the rest although I gathered from the way Neeld spoke Morton is on the cusp also.

We should persist with Spencer, I saw some really promising development in his VFL performances last year (that I watched).

He's very athletic, aggressive (he now knows he's a big lad) and the way he attacked the center bounces was very impressive.

He keeps improving his reading of the game as well, can take a mark and play the percentages.

There's no reason why he can't be the equivalent of Jamar IMO.

Following on from the convo in the other thread.

Davey up forward or as an outside mid?

I am happy either way, as long as that flog Bennell is dropped.

How do you guys think we will line up? Actually line up, not just how we will be announced.

Line up.

B: Rivers Frawley Bartram
HB: Grimes Garland Morton
C: Watts Magner Howe
HF: Davey Petterd Green
F: Martin Clark Dunn
R: Jamar Jones Trengove
Int: Couch Bate Bennell
S: Tapscott

Line up.

C: Watts Magner Howe
HF: Davey Petterd Green
Int: Couch Bate Bennell

C: Bate Magner Howe
HF: Davey Petterd Watts
Int: Couch Green Moloney

Only minor changes for me. I want Bate in there and I want to win the clearance count in the 1st quarter, the start will make a massive difference.

I think this game really comes down to our defence, it is a lot better than their forward line, we really need to exploit that and really strangle them for goals, rebounding quickly and efficiently, not belting it out on the full.

I really do hope that Morton can show something, if he can't make good decisions and rebound effectively from HBF against Richmond, then he won't be able to do it Vs anyone!!!

Grimes will be important, he should carve it up off HBF.

Frawley to pants fantapants again.

Garland >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Vickery

Rivers to be his annoying 'loose man' self

Barts at ground level to clear it if we're under pressure.

Tiger's big chance to win this match is by dominating our midfield, no doubt their mids need to score 5+ goals combined for them to win. Really need our midfield (which has sucked this year) to fire up!!!

Neeld is a god damn midfield coach, please fix this mess.

Will Beamer be back? Has his pride healed?