Petterd shoudn't have been omitted!

PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Hey Guys,
I promise I am not trolling here, I would just like to get the thoughts of some Genuine Dees supporters on the Brad Green situation...
It seems to me what Melbourne really need at the moment is some leadership and senior people. Granted Green has had a poor star this year, but hasn't everyone?
I think it is rough on a bloke who was Captain last year, stripped of it this year and a place in the leadership group, although the club had been happily trotting him out at every press conference since the Jurrah incident...
And his thanks is a week in the twos? Maybe you guys know more as, granted, I haven't seen a lot of the dees this year, or know a lot about the club behind the scenes, but from the outside looking in, it seems a bit rough for a bloke who has given a lot for that club...
Cheers,
I'm a massive Petterd fan. But he, Bennell and Green are victims of the lack of pressure applied in our forward 50 last week. We had one tackle applied in our forward 50 and applied little to no pressure on their rebounding defenders. None of the three were able to get the footy or kick goals, so what value did they provide the side? Also, the number of times Ricky was lead to the footy last week by his immediate WCE opponent was astounding. He did not work anywhere hard enough.
Ricky has shown what he can do, both as a quality forward and in his ability to put pressure on the defense. (See thirteen tackles in one game last year.) But at this level he doesn't get to decide when he puts the effort in and when he doesn't.
Geez we dropped 2 forwards from a team that couldn't get the ball in the forward line last week. Poor decision dropping Petterd.
Drop the mids they can't get the ****ing ball to the forwards. It's not the forwards fault the ball doesn't come top them
Hi guys,
Do you reckon you have gone in too tall tall this week? On our board I noted 12 of your 22 players are over 190cm. Of those mentioned only really Watts, Dun, Bate, Martin and Jamar will be apart of the midfield rotations.
Obviously down back with we will be a bit light on with only Grimes and Rance over 190cm so you might stretch us but surely with McDonald, Garland, Frawaley, Sellar and Rivers down back you're too tall.
Do you think there may be a couple of late changes?
Hi guys,
Do you reckon you have gone in too tall tall this week? On our board I noted 12 of your 22 players are over 190cm. Of those mentioned only really Watts, Dun, Bate, Martin and Jamar will be apart of the midfield rotations.
Obviously down back with we will be a bit light on with only Grimes and Rance over 190cm so you might stretch us but surely with McDonald, Garland, Frawaley, Sellar and Rivers down back you're too tall.
Do you think there may be a couple of late changes?
Only 184cm.A few on here are surprised we went so tall. Sellar was the player we failed to see a match-up for. But with Green, Fitzpatrick and MacDonald all taller players as the emergencies, I'm not sure that there will be a change.
Only 184cm.
But given this article on the club website it sounds like he has to prove something to the coaches before he gets another gig.
Green keen to bounce back
We are actually doing okay at winning the contested footy. We only lost the clearnaces 42 to 37 last week, and actually won the centre clearances 21 to 14. Most WCE attacks actually came from their rebounding defenders and their ability to make us turn the footy over.
Drop the mids and bring in who??? Sylvia, Moloney and Gysberts are unavailable. We have so little depth in our midfield as it is that we have Howe and Watts rotating through there. Couch is stiff, but limited in ability.
Who do you want in? We brought in Morton, Tapscott and Davey who can perhaps go through the middle. I'm not sure what more they could have done.
I question the practicality of making 4 changes every week. Sure we've had a number of players who are down & might not have played to the standard required to keep their spot in the team but if that was the case there would have been 10 changes this week.
I think 1-2 is more practical to maintain some balance amongst player & give some sense of a semi stable team. For rvery change there is some subtle adjustments on field which is multiplied when you have four inclusions on the field.
Yes I know they train together day in & out & should know each others games & style but none the less it has an effect.
Thats my assumption too but as a supporter - although you know what they're doing, you still don't want to see the side perform & wholesale changes every week ensures we wont see that at least until the end of May.I think, early on, Neeld is making these changes as he doesn't know the players all that well and he wants to give plenty of them a crack. Once we get further in to the season I think we will see less and less of these changes as he realises who works hard and sticks to the game plan and who is expendable.
Doesn't really play tall and struggles below the knees.Is that all?
I was going to say he plays taller than that, but he doesn't really play like anything of late...
He'll be back eventually, won't be easy though.
I see what you did.This. Absolutely this. Those stats above show that we can win the footy but our pressure and work ethic in our forward half has not been good enough. Bennell was utter poo while Green and Petterd have been poor since day one of the NAB Cup.
In- Couch,Martin,Fitzpatrick,Tapscott
Out-Sellar,Green(sorry mate),Bennell,Jmac
Get Garland out of the backline, he was recruited as a forward so get him in there.